We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Sunday lunch I've had in a long while.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shoulder at Hardstoft
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardstoft
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were traveling back to London and rather than the usual service stations we decided to try a pub near Hardwick Hall, our mid-way point. We stumbled upon The Shoulder and being a Sunday asked for their roast. The staff were incredibly friendly and the service fast, but not pushy. We probably didn't need the complimentary bread and oil, but appreciated the gesture. The main meals were of exceptional quality. The beef was beautiful, perfectly cooked, and a good portion. Yorkshire was well risen and that good mix of a moist yet crispy. An array of perfectly cooked vegetables and delicious gravy finished it off. When you think of a perfect pub Sunday lunch it's often so difficult to find - now we have, I've every intention of becoming a regular.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LonRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very clean and well kept,fine choice of beers,evening meal was excellent with a good menu ( i can personally recommend the pork belly,very very nice ).Our room was neat and well laid out, very clean,compact but every thing you need for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Excellent choice of ales, very good evening meal and breakfast, clean rooms. The bathroom could have been a bit better (cracking paint and only an electric shower) and curtains on the windows would have helps (overlooking car park and main road) but otherwise faultless. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LU_11584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Six of us just spent a w/end at The Shoulder and had an extremely pleasant stay. Our room was large, clean and comfortable, the atmosphere in the bar was very 'puby' saturday afternoon, whilst watching the cup final, but more 'restauranty' in the evening.
Both dinner and b'fast were excellent but the thing that really stood out was the service which, from arrival to departure was first rate. The young staff were friendly, funny and efficient; they could certainly teach lots of places how it should be done.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed on a Monday evening the place was fairly quiet but the food and ale was great.
Started with Scallops in a chilli and lime butter and went for the belly pork for main,great presentation and tasted lovely washed down with a nice pint of Crazy horse.
The room was nice, spotlessly clean and in character with the pub nice view of the ewes in oppisite field with their young lambs,the only drawback was the traffic noise from the week day commuters,
Breakfast was good and the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pontycarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Having read the varied reviews for The Shoulder, some negative but most positive, I thought the only way to find out what it is really like is to go. Pleasantly surprised, the service was excellent and the food was very good. It was the Sunday set menu from which you could have a two or three course meal. Beef, lamb, pork or a salmon dish were on the main course. There is a varied starter menu and if you can manage the third course, an excellent selection of desserts.

The chicken liver pate and the smoked salmon & prawn cocktail starters were fabulous. We chose beef and lamb for our main courses, the beef came with roast potatoes and a Yorkshire Pudding and the Lamb with mashed sweet potato, the dishes were well cooked and delicious. They were accompanied by brocolli, mange tout, French beans, red cabbage, roast parsnips and swede, again all cooked perfectly. The only criticism is the plates could have been warmed as the food soon became cold.

The Shoulder is beautifully decorated and comfortably furnished, it was a cold day and snowing but the log fire in the main lounge and the log burning stove in the dining area were keeping the place lovely and warm. I can't speak for the hotel side of the establishment but I would certainly recommend the restaurant and will definitely go again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian_elaine_bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I went to the shoulder recently with friends, having had a bad experience before, I just had a drink, whilst they tucked into lunch.
I still cant believe how poor this place can be, it must be run on the flip of a coin - today we will serve good food and good service, or not...............I must go on the NOT days......
The food served was apparently dry and luke warm...........I could see the service was poor.

Interestingly the Environmental Health recently scored this place as poor, not good food safety practices and little confidence in management - worth a look on their site before you eat anywhere...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marktNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hardstoft
2.8 mi away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
243 reviews
7 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,487 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#9 of 15 in Chesterfield
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
248 reviews
6.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
867 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoulder at Hardstoft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoulder at Hardstoft

Address: Deep Lane, Hardstoft, Chesterfield S45 8AE, England (Formerly The Famous Shoulder)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Hardstoft
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardstoft
Price Range: £64 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Shoulder at Hardstoft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Famous Shoulder Hotel Hardstoft
The Shoulder At Hardstoft Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing