We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing place”

Review of Thornbridge Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Great Longstone, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jessicale...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely amazing place”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Spent a weekend here with friends, the place is absolutely amazing, the location is so beautiful and the owner Chris was fantastic! All our friends thoroughly enjoyed their selves and said how lovely everything was. We would definetly not hesitate to book to stay here again. Thank you for such an enjoyable stay :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Many thanks for such a lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming back to Thornbridge Lodge or any of our other properties in the near future. Kind regards, the Peak Venues Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kvictoria...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Property in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Thornbridge Lodge for a hen weekend which consisted of nine ladies of varying ages. The property was absolutely perfect for what we wanted and i'm happy to say we found it exactly as advertised on the Peak Venues website. The lodge was beautifully decorated; it felt clean, modern and fresh and suited our party very well.

We spent the majority of our time in the large living room and kitchen areas. The kitchen, although not huge, was more than adequate for what we needed (and it was well used as we had dinner, lunch and breakfast there). The kitchen is equipt with an oven, fridge, freezer and a dishwasher (very useful for a party of nine). The living room was huge! Great size for our games and activities, with the added bonus of french doors which opened the room up to the private courtyard area outside.

The outside area really was lovely too. It consisted of a grassy area and a sort of walled courtyard, with a medium sized drive/car park area. We often had to cross the courtyard to get to the attached cottage from the main lodge (as there is no adjoining door) but we didn't mind - especially as we were lucky enough to have dry and warm weather.

The bedrooms were decorated in a fresh and modern style, uncluttered and welcoming. There was also plenty of storage space within them and the bathrooms (some en suite) were clean and bright with power showers.

The only thing you might want to bear in mind is that in the attached cottage the bedroom and bathroom are only accessable via a fairly steep spiral staircase. For us it was fine, my sister and I could manage the staircase with no problem, and the layout was very clear to us before we decided to book. The ladies on the sofa beds downstairs chose to cross the courtyard and use the main houses' family bathroom instead of braving the staircase in the middle of the night to use the one upstairs.

The property is right ontop of the Monsal Trail which we didn't take advantage of this time. Despite it's location, we really didn't notice many people around at all, the property feels private and secluded. It isn't really though, there's plenty to see and do nearby with the village of Great Longstone round the corner and Bakewell only a ten minute drive away. We went for lunch in the Pointing Dog & Duck in Bakewell which does great food and a small selection of cocktails.

I would definitely book to stay at Thornbridge Lodge again and wouldn't hesitate in booking any property through Peak Venues. Peak Venues have been extremely professional and easy to deal with - I managed to arrange it all via email which, for me, was great.

The owners of the lodge have also been great - Chris came to meet us when we arrived and took the time to show us around the property and gave us information about what was nearby. They were really easygoing and accomodating (obviously within reason and providing we took care of the Lodge) and allow you to book activities to have at the property etc.

If you're wondering whether to go for this property then you really can't go wrong, we had a great weekend and found the property extremely comfortable - and we aren't a particularly easy bunch to please.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern stylish decor
Liked least: Beds could have been more comfortable but nothing that affected our stay
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemwatson
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little Jewel in the Peak District”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Superb accommodation, a beautifully presented stone lodge within the picturesque village of Great Longstone. Claire the owner went out of her way to ensure we were so warmly welcomed, her recommendations for the local area were spot on. The Packhorse inn just down the road for a fabulous meal and Sally B's village shop for all our kitchen essentials meant we had everything we could possibly wish for. Special thanks also to Zoe and team at Peak Venues. I would recommend this 5 star holiday accommodation to anyone from families, friends, to corporate as its big enough to host ten with ease and plenty of socialising areas. We also managed to park 5 big vehicles too :). We'll most certainly be back. Thank you Claire, Zoe & team.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thanks Gem for your amazing review and glad you enjoyed your stay at Thornbridge Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve_Auk...
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet spot”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a three night long Bank Holiday weekend. Thornbridge Lodge is a three bedroom property with an annexed one bedroom and additional living area, accessed by an external courtyard. While the Lodge is in a beautiful Peak District location, with stunning scenery and great walking and cycling opportunities, the interior we felt was a little disappointing - with a sterile feel (white walls and cheap pictures on walls) and lacking character. The property would have benefitted from some having local photos, ornaments and books of local interest.

The property had been cleaned to a high standard, however there were certain maintenance duties which appeared to have been neglected - e.g. quite a few light bulbs were not working, and one of the bathroom shelves was not fixed properly to the wall. In addition, our party was 8 adults however the kitchen stocked only 7 dinners plates so one of our party had to use a small plate. It would be easy to over-stock the kitchen so issues like this do not arise. Likewise we felt that the paucity of toilet rolls and dishwasher tablets supplied (one tablet per day) was a little mean considering the luxury marketing of the property and the price we paid. The kitchen itself was very well fitted out and a joy to cook in. The bathrooms were very nice.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay but the Lodge could be greatly improved with a little more care and finishing touches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfy beds, Peak Venues agents
Liked least: Maintenance issues, lack of character and amenities e.g. local books
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thank you for your comments - we will definitely look into your recommendations so we can improve. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
love_holi...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant indoor and outdoor space”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights in August 2015. We were a group of 6 adults and 3 children. Excellent accommodation inside and out. Really tastefully decorated with excellent space for a large group (we could all sit in the lounge and around the dining table). Has all the facilities you would expect - dishwasher, reliable wifi and full kitchen. Only thing missing for us was a washing line. All food stuffs are cleared out of the kitchen so if you are planning to cook you need to take everything.

The courtyard and grassed area is safe for children to play and nice to sit out in the evening sunshine. We had a BBQ and it felt safe sitting outside with the children asleep inside. We also got a take away from Buxton, which wasn't too much of a drive.

It is right on the Monsal trail which is a lovely walk / bike ride to Bakewell. We also recommend the local pub in Great Longstone for food/drinks (only a 10 minute walk).

We all agreed that we would definitely return.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing