We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Buttercup is perfect in all respects”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Buttercup Cottage

Buttercup Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Buttercup Cottage
The Living Room The Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Buttercup Cottage
The Living Room
The Living Room
Kitchen/diner
Kitchen area
Dining are
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom2
Main Bathroom
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Longstone, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clare P
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Buttercup is perfect in all respects”
Reviewed 1 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Staying at Buttercup Cottage was a dream from the time we opened the front door. The decor furnishings and all homely comforts are top class.
The location in the village of Gt Longstone is perfect for visiting main places e.g. Buxton and Bakewell and Chatsworth were nearby. With more time we would have planned our walks further afield but our 3 days soon whizzed by. Village pubs for evening meals within walking distance from the cottage.
Thoroughly recommend Buttercup Cottage - we will return for longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2018
Thanks for a lovely review,we’re really pleased you had a good time and liked our holiday home.We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ineedtoch...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 29 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Cottage very comfortable, clean and has everything you could wish for.
Left the car behind most days and walked into Bakewell, Ashford in the Water, up to Monsal Head and Longstone Edge and down into Monsal Dale. For easy walks it is only 10 mins to the Monsal Trail. However also close to Chatsworth and other attractions.
Enjoyed meals in both pubs in the village and at Little Longstone. Bought milk, yoghurt and eggs from the farm.
Very much looking forward to staying here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2018
Thanks for a really nice review of the cottage and the local area.Nice to know you enjoyed your visits to all the local pubs and also bought milk ,eggs etc. direct from the farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D1121OTag
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 19 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We've just had a lovely stay in his great cottage. Beautifully turned out and in a fab little village. Easy to drive or walk to some of the most stunning laces in the peaks.
Would highly recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil C
Muscat, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect country cottage”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We loved our stay at Buttercup cottage and found it to be spotlessly clean, modern inside and fully equipped with everything you need for a self catering holiday. In the heart of the village of Great Longstone, it is just a short walk to two great pubs that serve decent food and local ales. Just behind the cottage is the village park, which was great for our kids who never seem to run out of energy. Walks from the village lead to other villages and the Monsal Trail. We hired bikes from Hassop and had a great day out. There is a small village store that stocks the basics and Bakewell is a short drive away for supermarkets etc. We'll definitiely be staying again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thanks for your lovely review, we’re really pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay in Great Longstone.We hope to welcome you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian A
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in superb location”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We found Buttercup Cottage to be extremely clean and comfortable with all mod cons. The decor was completed to a very high standard and we knew we were going to enjoy our stay as soon as we walked through the door. The village of Great Longstone was very nice and we visited both of the local hostelries and were impressed with the food in both. It is in easy reach of Chatsworth, Bakewell and Matlock and we hope to return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Thanks for your super review of our holiday home ,we’re really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warppower
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Superb cottage in a lovely location. Cottage was warm, comfortable and very welcoming. Everything you need is there in a quality clean showroom condition. Just perfect. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing