We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small traditional pub with good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Packhorse Inn

Packhorse Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Small traditional pub with good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A nice traditional pub. There are only 3 rooms so you need to book if you want to eat, and the tables are quite h close together, but that adds to the atmosphere. We had some good food - we would particularly recommend the beef cheek and the venison. Not everything was perfect, though, the Yorkshire pudding was overdone. Set in a very picturesque village with good walks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at Packhorse Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi Helen

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to The Packhorse. Apologies for the overdone Yorkshire Pudding.
Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    103
    25
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An honest pub with great locals .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Packhorse is a real "gem" and is just what a village pub should be . It is dusty , gloomy and shabby, not quite " spit and sawdust " but I think you get the idea . There are open fires and mis-matched furniture all providing for a great atmosphere. Food is all local produce as are many of the ales which come from a few miles away ,Thornbridge Brewery , in Bakewell. The menu is chalked up on the wall and does not even pay lip service to the present need for political correctness . What you see is what you get . The staff are friendly and the young chef Ben pops out of the kitchen to see all is well.
Muddy boots not a problem and your dog if not too wet and smelly will be made welcome .
To go to the Pachorse is like turning the clock back wish there were more places like this .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rstanier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at Packhorse Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi There

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Packhorse. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are very fortunate to have such a fantastic group locals and Ben certainly adds to the atmosphere when he pops his head out the kitchen.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards


David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great country inn with walking options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We walked up the Monsall Trail from Bakewell, just off the walk at Little Longstone is this gem of a pub. Lovely warm atmosphere, open fires and a truly natural decor. We ordered from the blackboard, no menu or specials, simply great food. I ordered the belly pork and my wife ordered the buffalo burger. Both came as hearty portions well prepared and not too long a wait. There is also a really good selection of beers and wines. We whiled away an easy couple of hours and then back on the trail. A firm favourite for the future!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puntersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at Packhorse Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi There

Thank you for taking the time to review The Packhorse so brilliantly. It's great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your visit.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“good pub but deeply dirty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The Pack Horse is a lovely unspoilt pub; the beers are great and well kept and the food is good. Recently had the venison which was as good as any I have ever had! BUT it is let down by being very very dirty. Tradition and originality does not need to be compromised by cleaning which this pub appears not to have had for a very long time. Come on Landlord!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dylan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at Packhorse Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi there

Many thanks for reviewing The Packhorse. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit.

We are a very popular walkers pub. We have muddy boots and dogs, especially in bad weather, coming into the pub on a daily basis. We try our very best to keep on top of it but at times it just isn't possible. I do, however, take on board any criticism and I apologise if you felt the pub was dirty on your visit.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Evening Meal with Friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We visited this small Inn recently during a weekend staying in Ashford. We arrived by taxi and because we couldn't get a lift home one of the chefs offered to take us back in his Land Rover, what service. My steak was excellent and the dessert was wonderful, however two people in our party were not impressed with their meals one had duck and one had risotto that was rather tasteless. However we enjoyed ourselves and I rate it very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at Packhorse Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi There.

Thanks for reviewing The Packhorse. I'm glad you enjoyed your evening with us. We always try to go out of our way to help and please customers and Ben often offers his services for a lift home.
I do take note that of any criticism and I do apologise to the two people in your group who weren't impressed with their meals. Hopefully we can tempt them back to try us again.

I hope to see you again soon.

Regards


Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Packhorse Inn also viewed

Great Longstone, Derbyshire
Great Longstone, Derbyshire
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 
Hurdlow, Peak District National Park
Monyash, Derbyshire
 

Been to Packhorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing