We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place to stay, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dronfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I recently spent two nights here in one of the single rooms. Nicely decorated, modern and comfortable but seriously lacking in space. A few minor annoyances though - absolutely no hooks to hang anything on, bathroom was very small, water pressure in the shower was terrible and the walls were also worryingly thin as I could hear my neighbour snoring quite happily.

I imagine many of these concerns would not be so much of an issue in a double room.

However, the location was ideal, good value for a B&B and an excellent breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful which always makes staying at a B&B a lot more welcoming than a local chain hotel.

Room Tip: Single rooms only fractionally cheaper than a double so avoid if you're claustrophobic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimvild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniellethorpe, Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

From the moment of checkin, to the moment we left we were made to feel special by the staff. The suite we had was really spacious and comfortable. The food was fantastic and was served by friendly staff who were only to willing to help. We feel that the hotel was real value for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

What can I say perfect? we had our wedding breakfast and evening reception at the manor house hotel, the sit down meal was excellent and the evening buffet was delicious it was a great venue with a lovely atmosphere. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble, the staff are all friendly and went out of their way. We stayed the night in the Sophia Lauren suite, the bedroom was beautifully decorated with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was very clean well equipped with a shower and lovely soft towels a perfect end to a perfect day will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I regularly work in Dronfield and The Manor is my favourite place to stay in the area, mainly because the staff are so good. They are friendly, helpful and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, but The Manor is a 17th Century building which has advantages and drawbacks. It has loads of character but the rooms are small, the floors are creaky and you need to climb stairs to get to the rooms - no elevators here!

The restaurant is very good, offering a traditional breakfast, light lunches and Derbyshire-style tapas (!) at dinner time.

The town centre location means the street outside can be a little noisy, but the positives are good shops, restaurants and bars within walking distance, buses and trains nearby, and a 13th century church within a few hundred metres.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pittsburgh_cyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Felt like the Rolling Stones in that we took over an entire floor of the hotel - well the only two suites on the firs floor. Excellent value and staff very attentive...providing excellent service. In our suite - Audrey Hepburn - had a king size bed..well equipped. Liked having big mugs with saucers for plentiful teas / coffee.
Only criticism was lack of any bed side cabinets to put drinks on and the fact that the shower never did really heat up properly.
Be aware that on a hot night you need bedroom window open and it is right on road which can at times be noisy with traffic. Also the main bar seating / dining area does not have any opening windows and at the party we attended it became very hot with lack of ventilation...also again over breakfast found it a tad stifling although breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutson110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

we stayed at the manor house hotel for three nights over the August bank holiday and have to say that we loved every minute of it. The room was small but decorated lovely> The staff were extremely helpful and couldnt do enough for you. The breakfast and the tapas were cooked to perfection. Enjoyed meeting some of the locals, found them all really friendly. Found this a great place to stay and a good base for exploring the peak district. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We found this Hotel as we were going to a Wedding within the area and have to say the staff were very helpful, the ambience was beautiful. Very modern Contemporary Rooms with good facilities. Great Tapas Bar and food was just spot on ..... as I travel around Europe a lot the Tapas was of a good standard. I also like the fact that you could drink as Resident until 3/4am if you wanted to............ The only hotel that I have been to in the UK where you can have breakfast as late as 12 midday on a Sunday instead of that little 2 hour slot ........

Room Tip: 11 Individual rooms set with Film Star Names i.e. Garbo Suite, Newman, Bacall, Crawford etc etc.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickypedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dronfield
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
4.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,501 reviews
5 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#7 of 53 in Sheffield
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
404 reviews
4.5 mi away
Abbeydale Hotel
Abbeydale Hotel
#11 of 15 in Chesterfield
227 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Address: 10-14 High Street, Dronfield S18 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Dronfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dronfield
Price Range: £48 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are based in a market town of Dronfield, which is 10-15 mins drive to either Sheffield or Chesterfield. The Manor House offers rooms of exceptional grace and comfort. There are 2 suites, 5 double bedrooms and 4 single bedrooms. Each room has been individually styled by a local designer to offer "an experience" rather than just a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Dronfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing