We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great! Gorgeous food, great atmosphere, lovely room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dronfield
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Absolutely Great! Gorgeous food, great atmosphere, lovely room.”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed here on a Saturday night in the Loren suite. My fiancé booked this as a birthday treat for me and it really was a lovely evening. We went down to the wine bar first for drinks and the atmosphere was lovely. The decor is lovely and the architecture of the building has created an intimate drinking and dining experience. We were taken through to the restaurant which was equally as inviting as the bar. The menu was really interesting, a mixture of British French style cuisine and tapas. I ordered from the tapas section and had 3 dishes. Monkfish, scallops and the fillet steak. Wow, the quality and standard of food is so high for such a small establishment. Would highly recommend this restaurant and hotel! And make sure you have the full English breakfast if you stay. It was included in our room rate and was delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stara0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience and your stay with us.
We hope to see you again in the future
Kind regards and many thanks
Danielle Hodge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    67
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
22
90
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed in this charming 17th century hotel for a long weekend while visiting my daughter. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the "Audrey Hepburn" suite which was a lovely surprise. The room was attractively decorated with several ornaments & pictures matching the theme. The bed was very comfy and the room lovely & warm. The decor throughout the hotel was very tasteful and the ambience in the restaurant & bar was lovely. A full English breakfast was included in the price and this was delicious. We ate out the rest of the time but we understand from friends who live nearby that the restaurant has a good reputation, especially the steak nights which are very good value. The location of the hotel is near to Sheffield as well as being only 10 minutes from the Peak District. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mackie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Sirs,
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards and many thanks
Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

A lovely, quirky hotel set in Dronfield - a quaint town with some good pubs and restaurants. We stayed in the Garland room which was really nice. Service, staff and breakfast were lovely. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was really good and it had a great atmosphere! A great and very welcoming stay and will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandAliOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards and many thanks

Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I'm always happy to add a few minutes to a long journey to stay in private hotels and avoid the chains, and in this respect, the Manor was a gem. Clean, comfortable and an excellent breakfast, it met all my needs and I'll certainly return. Efficient and friendly service at all times. Dronfield itself has an interesting centre and is well worth exploring, but it's probably best to eat at the Manor, which has an interesting and extensive menu. Only area for improvement is the bar, which has limited seating - not clear to me why, since it has enough space to accommodate more.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments.

Danielle Hodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed en route for a business meeting in Chesterfield, on a Wednesday night. Very welcoming staff at reception, clean and well presented rooms, excellent service in the restaurant with smiles all round. Could not have been better for what I needed and to cap it all very reasonable rates both for rom and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Guest

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind review,

Kind regards
Danielle Hodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed for one night at The Manor House Hotel. Very pleasant staff, Lovely clean room. We had the tapas in the early evening which was good. Lovely breakfast freshly cooked and well presented. As we were going to a friends party we didn't sample the main menu, but looking at the list it looked very enticing. All in all a very pleasant short stay and would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms were themed on actors/actresses. We stayed in the Garbo room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NealeandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed for one night, as we were visiting relatives. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room, although billed as 'small' was quite adequate. One side of the bed was against the wall but apart from that there was plenty of room to move around. Tea and coffee making facilities were good. There was just a shower, no bath, but that's all we needed. Breakfast was excellent. Lovely hot food, waitress served, so much better than the usual lukewarm buffet. The only thing to beware is that there are a lot of steps up to the rooms, some of them outside. It would not be suitable for people with limited mobility.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notpastityet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dronfield
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
4.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,372 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
10.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: 10-14 High Street, Dronfield S18 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Dronfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dronfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are based in a market town of Dronfield, which is 10-15 mins drive to either Sheffield or Chesterfield. The Manor House offers rooms of exceptional grace and comfort. There are 2 suites, 5 double bedrooms and 4 single bedrooms. Each room has been individually styled by a local designer to offer "an experience" rather than just a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Dronfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing