We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Manor House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandpiper Hotel(Chesterfield)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Hotel(Chesterfield)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Briary(Sheffield)
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckingham's Hotel(Chesterfield)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
94
77
29
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
77
29
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeak districtlively barcentury buildingone nightsingle roomthemed roomsrooms are smallaudrey hepburnthe staff were extremely helpfulcooked to perfectionwould stay againcouple of nightsloren suitelight sleeperan evening mealhot drinkswedding party
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Booked 2 of the lovely suites for a friends reunion. Really nice rooms, and lovely comfortable beds. Ate in the hotel restaurant as we didn't want to travel - lovely food and great service. Greta lively atmosphere, and very friendly and helpful staff. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: The 2 suites are lovely
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Paul

Thank you for your kind review, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to meet you again.

Kind regards and many thanks

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Five members of my family plus my wife and I were in Dronfield to attend a family funeral. We were all travelling considerable distances, and as the funeral was quite late in the afternoon and post funeral reception was also being held at the hotel, we all decided to stay the night. The food and service for the wake was very good, and our evening meals and breakfast's were excellent. The standard of service and attention that we received from every member of staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main road and there was commuter traffic noise in the early morning. But overall not too bad during he night.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BletchleyGricer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to meet you again in the future.

Kind regards and many thanks

Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Accommodation and staff very satisfactory and staff friendly and helpful until Sunday morning breakfast when it took over 45minutes to serve our four cooked breakfasts from a simple regular menu.
Two other guests could not wait and left having had coffee & tea only.
Receptionist who was helping as waitress in breakfast room said they were busy - ?busy with only ten other guests?
Very poor service on the Sunday morning at 09.00 spoilt an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iapowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, I would like to pass on my apology for how long you had to wait for your breakfast, this is not a normal Sunday morning I can assure you.

With all comments we take them on board and ensure that the same thing will not happen again, I have spoken to the Head Chef and he also sends his apology.

We would like to confirm that all our food is cooked to order.

Thank you
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed for one night whist attending a 25th wedding party. Lost my car keys between the hotel and the party. The staff could not have been more helpful checking taxi firms and even made an offer of a free night accommadation whilst we made arrangements , not required but was most appreciated.Good pub type hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your kind review, we was happy to help and glad that you got home (eventually).

We do hope to meet you again in the future.

Take care and kind regards

Danielle Hodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend with friends. While we usually like older properties with character this hotel is not one we would want to return to. The website suggests that the hotel has been well modernised and decorated; unfortunately this can't be said for our room. While an attempt had been made to make it so, the standard of decorating was appalling, the furniture barely fitted in the room (only one bedside light), and what furniture was there was filthy with spillages from previous occupants. Our room was on the back of the hotel, which avoided any road noise but overlooked the car-park and the outside drinking space. So on the warm Saturday night when the hotel bar was packed the noise levels were excessive which meant we had to shut our windows to get to sleep, only to wake later when the room became too hot to sleep in. Perhaps if someone stayed mid-week the noise would be less as it certainly seemed quieter the second night of our stay. The bathroom was compact, but basic, and there was very little water pressure for the shower.

The rest of the hotel was fine and the reception we had as we arrived was friendly and helpful and this was repeated on the last morning of our stay during breakfast. We ate in the hotel on the Saturday night and the meal, while pricey, was very nice, although the selection was limited for someone who doesn't like very rare lamb or tuna. What we weren't told was that the hotel didn't serve food on a Sunday evening. This wasn't a problem for us as we wanted to eat elsewhere, but could have been if we'd arrived back late and wanted to eat there. The breakfasts were generous.

Overall the hotel is well located to access the sights and attractions of the Peak District, but it was really a pub with rooms or an inn rather than a hotel and if our room was anything to go by (Caron) it needs updating and thoroughly cleaned. I should also point out that either the bed or the mattress in our room does slope downwards, which makes for an interesting sleeping position.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors may be quieter
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaS578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Guest

We are sorry that you have experienced an unfortunate stay with us.

We take all comments on board and always ensure that we correct things that are wrong to make sure that are put right.

We are at the moment going through all our rooms to freshen them up throughout summer and autumn, this room in particular we are making progress to ensure that it does get done immediately. I would just like to note that the furniture in the room is vintage and that is why it looks off colour with regards to the stains.

We are glad that you enjoyed your food with us and do hope that you return to see our rooms have been refreshed and some refurbished.

Kind regards and many thanks
Danielle Hodge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews