We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dronfield
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We arrived and had a pleasant welcome, we stayed in the Lauren suite which was lovely and full of character and very clean. I must admit it was over the bar and noisy but that is to be expected as it is also a popular pub anyone expecting peace and quiet should consider this . I thought it was a nice lively place nice people and the staff were very helpful reserving us a table and also saving us a steak which we ask for earlier on . This hotel Probably does rely on locals but we were treat as. well if not better than them. The breakfast girls you couldn't fault very friendly and pleasant. All in all I would stay again if not just for the fruit platter at breakfast ha. Thankyou

Room Tip: Rooms the other side of the bar may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 396jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and you felt welcomed.

We hope you return soon.

Many thanks and kind regards

Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    65
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
86
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel on our wedding night as it was the close to our venue and we were very happy. We arrived very late (approx 1am) and were greeted warmly and efficiently by man running both the reception and bar and directed to the room.

The room was very nicely decorated and well appointed, however it would be worth mentioning the ceiling height was the lowest I've seen. We could literally touch it from laying in bed.... cosy! All part of a characterful building, but we were taken by surprise.

The only complaint I have is that the room we stayed in was at the top of a set of stairs which had a door toward the top, from around 7:30 onwards we heard several random loud bangs which we assume came from this door slamming behind guests. As we had arrived late this wasn't a very peaceful wake up. But otherwise a very restful stay, the bed was comfortable and large, the bathroom very modern.

The breakfast was very nice and well presented.

I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest

Congratulations! Glad you had a lovely stay with you.

We hope to welcome you back on your wedding anniversary if not before.

Thank you for your kind comments.

Kind regards

Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in the hepburn suite which is decorated very tastefully and, in my opinion, worth the extra money. I agree with other comments...it was quite noisy into the early hours. Having said that im a very light sleeper and i had the best nights sleep ive had in a while - just put the tv on until 2ish and when I turned it off it was really quiet! Lovely staff and the breakfast was delicious with good quality ingredients. Id stay again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Jackie

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards

Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Why such a small bed in quite a large room? Is it even a double? And why such a small shower in a large bathroom. Both annoying given that the rooms are spacious and really quite nice. Enjoyed our dinners and the breakfasts were excellent but we would not stay again for the simple reason that it is way too noisy to get a decent night's sleep if you are in the Loren suite. Music and noise from the bar until midnight at the earliest and then traffic noise from the main road from 6 am.

Room Tip: Maybe higher floors to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEWPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to review, we do take all comments on board.

We are sorry that it was a little lively for you, I would like to assure you that the bed in your suite is a double bed.

If you was to try us again please ask for the Hepburn suite or one of our doubles on the top floor.

Thank you and kind regards

Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Plenty of character with themed rooms. I stayed in a single room which was fine for me but a 'larger Person' may struggle with the mini bathroom.
Having stayed on a number of occasions, the room was always very clean; nice touch is the personal welcome letter on the bed when you arrive. Bar is very popular so be aware the noise can travel up to first floor on Friday and Saturday nights. Food is excellent and if breakfast is included with your room I could not fault the quality or quantity.
Of special note has to be the manageress who will ensure that your stay is great and will always go the extra mile to sort any issues out.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GUSFITGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoy your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

many thanks and kind regards

Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night, upon our arrival we was met by very welcoming and friendly staff. The room gave off a long-established feel but had a modern touch, I found this very refreshing as I feel many hotels are going for the same look at the moment but this room stood out. After settling down we went to the restaurant where we opted for the Tapas Menu as the prices were more than reasonable. This proved to be a fantastic decision as the service was impeccable, the portion sizes more than filled the both of us and the quality of the food was faultless! We have been on many breaks away, and I have stayed many places through business, but this was the best experience we have had and will definitely be going back. Fantastic job to the Manor House and we thank you all for making our stay so pleasurable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Mel

Thank you for your kind review and comments. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Many thanks and kind regards

Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Short 2 night stay at this boutique style hotel on the edge of the Peak District with my wife. Lovely steak dinner in the hotel restaurant and really good value drinks. Both hotel and restaurant staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay again in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PorkyPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle H, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Paddy

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Many thanks and kind regards

Danielle Hodge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dronfield
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
2.3 mi away
Sandpiper Hotel
Sandpiper Hotel
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
4.5 mi away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#13 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel

Property: The Manor House Hotel
Address: Manor House 10-14 High Street, Dronfield S18 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Dronfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dronfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are based in a market town of Dronfield, which is 10-15 mins drive to either Sheffield or Chesterfield. The Manor House offers rooms of exceptional grace and comfort. There are 2 suites, 5 double bedrooms and 4 single bedrooms. Each room has been individually styled by a local designer to offer "an experience" rather than just a stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Dronfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing