We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very well equipped once we found it”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Take a nice walk through fields to the wood and river and the bottom of the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dudley G
Alnwick, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very well equipped once we found it”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Unfortunately our sat nav failed on the way to this country retreat -which is deep in the Derbyshire Dales. Fortunately a very nice barman at a local holiday village put us right or we could have ended up lost forever. Suggest some directions with the confirmation letter.

Anyway, is a very nice, very new wooden building with lots of heating (needed it unfortunately this Easter) and every appliance and requirement for the stay. Our grandchildren loved walking out in the rain to feed the ponies (grandad was less keen). It is easy to get to Matlock , Buxton and lots of other places too, if you know the way or have a satnav!

PS Grandma managed to get up the 3 wooden stairs with her stick but is not suitable for anyone with a wheelchair or Rollator

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2018
Hi Emily, I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay at Thorntree Lodge, thanks for the heads up regarding the directions I wasn’t aware that these weren’t automatically sent with your booking confirmation, thanks again Anna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaR1
nottingham, england
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lodge”
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My family and I have just returned from a week-end at Thorntree Lodge. The lodge is very new and very spacious.
The lodge was dog friendly, as was the surrounding cafes and pubs. .
Could not fault anything, and hopefully we will return in the not too distant future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CazMax
Cheshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Lodge!”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay! A very comfortable, clean and welcoming new lodge with good size rooms. We would love to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anon1911
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to stay ”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We were a party of 4 adults plus a dog. The lodge was perfectly equipped for everything we required. It was very clean and comfortable and we felt right at home. We found it a little difficult to find in the dark but Anna and Jim were on the other end of the phone to help and we got there fine in the end. The lodge is peaceful and quiet and is surrounded by fields and woods which provide a lovely walk. It wasn't too far from lovely tourist attractions such as Chatsworth House.

The lodge itself is laid out superbly and allows everyone in the party to feel as though they have plenty on space as well as all being able to hang out comfortably in the living space together. My partner and I shared the double bed room which has an en suite. This was great for us as even though we were on a family holiday we felt we also had space from the rest of the group - so got the perfect mix.

The showers are fantastic! And bathrooms are complete with towel rail which is a great feature. The radiators in the lodge heat it up very quickly. There is ample storage space for clothes,bags, shoes, etc. The garden was great for the dog as it was enclosed.

The only improvements we would make are:

1. The TV could be a wee bit temperamental at points

2. A lamp would be nice in the living area for nighttime

3. A hair dryer might be nice to have

Overall this lodge was at an extremely high standard. We absolutely loved it and can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing