We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had a great time”
other travellers have booked this property
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Foxglove Cottage's Dining Kitchen Relax in Foxglove Cottage's peaceful garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Foxglove Cottage's Dining Kitchen
Relax in Foxglove Cottage's peaceful garden.
Double Bedroom
View from the Kitchen Window
Sitting Room with log fire
Another view of Foxglove Cottage's Garden
View from Outside Foxglove Cottage
Twin Bedroom
Another view of the Double Bedroom
View from footpath along the lane from the cottage
Dining Kitchen, newly fitted in December 2013, now includes a dishwasher
Bench outside Foxglove's front door
Foxgloves in the garden
Bathroom
Ashover Village
View from the lane just outside Foxglove Cottage
Heather Moorland within 2 miles of cottage
Bluebell Walk in the Spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ivan K
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Sue was welcoming and helpful. We stayed with two of our young kids who appreciated farm animals in surrounding areas. People were very friendly and the area is beautiful. It worked out well for us because the weather was so nice and sunny but the last day was just pouring down with rain like there was no tomorrow. But you can not plan the weather.Great stay, lovely cottage Sue was great and we highly recommend this cottage to others with or without children.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerW660
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, comfortable, well equippd, rural cottage.”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage makes the perfect base to explore the scenic and historic surroundings. A car and confident driver is, however, essential. We spent several enjoyable days visiting historic stately homes and old mills where the industrial revolution really started.We also explored miles and miles of single track roads as we visited the combination of beautiful small villages and towns which abound in the Peak District. A comfortable cottage in an area abounding in historic beauty is hard yo beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Comfort and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Immaculate, quiet and a little gem”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely location, well equipped, attention to detail and a very sweet little cottage. Lots of information from the owner about the area and walks - and a lovely place for peace and quiet. great for kids too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nice touches
Liked least: nothing it was all great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
insomniac...
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful break”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Foxglove cottage for a week. Really enjoyed the area. Some great pubs in Ashover, which is within walking distance by footpath which takes in Ashover rock. The cottage was clean and comfortable and had everything you could need while on holiday. There is ample parking and the garden was a useful addition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: there was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plkuj
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage is very well kitted out and impeccably clean. Thoughtful guides / walks to the local area have ben provided and overall the cottage has a lovely feel. The bed was amazing - very comfortable. We also have a dog and she loved all the fields around the cottage and we loved the dog towels to clean her up afterwards! Highly recommend this place. I also think it is incredibly good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how well kitted out the cottage is
Liked least: the rain!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah D
1 review
“Everything you need for a week away with baby.”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Visiting Derbyshire with our baby to introduce him to the northern contingent of my husbands family. Found this gem of a cottage on Tripadvisor. Highchair and nice clean travel cot provided on request.
Lovely welcome package including a pint of milk - so thoughtful. Small supply of washing tablets came in useful so I could travel home in clean jeans!! Even a handblender had I needed to knock up a purée.
Would definitely stay again.
Sarah

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn s
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We took our 2 young granddaughters for a part of a week holiday as we weren't sure how they would cope away from home. We found this cottage within a price range that was fitting to what we had budgeted for (a caravan can cost as much!)
The cottage was just wonderful. At first we were concerned about the garden not being completely attached to the house. DO NOT be put off by this. Up the very private, none vehicle path, up the 'pixie' steps and into the sweet secret gardens beyond, our 4 and 6 year old girls toddled to then find a buttercup meadow with horses beyond that! (I sat early morn with them to drink coffee at the garden table).
Parking was absolutely fine.
Peace and quiet - totally.
Our welcome was pleasant and easy, without being in your face. Lovely, lovely cottage, fully equipped with all we needed and some more!
Our only regret? - Not having booked for longer, because we could happily have stayed for a couple of weeks at least. A bargain, and our grand daughters will never forget this lovely first holiday with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy in such a tightly built cottage.
Liked least: We enjoyed every thing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing