We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant family friendly cottage in a lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

84mele
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant family friendly cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed in Foxglove cottage for 3 nights over the Easter weekend with our 2 children. Sue the owner was really welcoming, the cottage was really clean & warm (heating was on before we arrived as it was a bit of a chilly day), & equipped with everything we needed, plus a few extras such as toiletries & a few chocolates which was lovely. There was a parking space right outside the cottage which was great, & also a little garden with seating - although the weather wasn't good enough for us to use unfortunately. It was a great location for getting to places in the Peak District, Bakewell & Chatsworth House were only a short drive away. We will definitely stay again the next time we are visiting the area.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English_L...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked both cottages and it worked very well for a large group. Sue was welcoming and very organised a pleasure to deal with. The cottages were both really well equipped and had nice touches like the welcome tray, milk in the fridge & the fire ready laid for a cosy winters evening.

Date of stay: October 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakotah
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“180 degree views.”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was clean, very warm and cosy. There are great views from the windows and plenty of space for a couple traveling with two labs. Walks for the dogs straight from the door with wonderful sunrises if you are an early bird. A welcome tea tray awaits you in the kitchen with chocolates to nibble in the lounge. Upstairs the double bed was very comfortable with quality duvet and bedding and soft towels. The bathroom has an electric shower so plenty of hot water and enough complimentary toiletries to last the week if you wish. The all important Wifi is free.There is also a very large cellar which is a usable space for drying clothes and has a larger freezer. We would have liked a little more kitchen work surface to prep food, There seemed to be alot of kitchen gadgets taking up space. The people in the small hamlet were very, very friendly and gave us some good driving tips for short cuts. We would definetly stay again if we were in the area.
Cottage is very central to some wonderful days out and walks. Chatsworth house, Dovedale, Beely Moor and Monsal trail are but a few,

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed and bedding
Liked least: Not enough kitchen work surface to prep food.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine6...
1 review
“cosy and welcoming home-from-home”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We've stayed here 4 times now and love it more each time. It's a lean, well-appointed comfortable cottage with stunning views across the valley and a friendly, welcoming host. We've never had any complaints about the cottage, except that no one wanted to go home!
It is a good, central base for exploring the Peak district with some lovely local walks. I would highly recommend it. We will certainly be going again!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: the bath is a bit narrow!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williams...
1 review
“Great location and a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely cottage in a great location for local walks or short distance to places of interest for ourselves.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamth0mas
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellat cottage and surroundings”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed our stay very much. Beautiful views outside the cottage. Good Dog walking area. Plenty of places to visit in the area. Close to Clay Cross for shopping. Nice Butcher's and coffee shop not too far away. Steep hill down to Ashover, but a relaxing place when arrived there. Weather was very kind to us.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not having to take the car to walk the dog
Liked least: Some of the and locals drive very fast
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWebste...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful, homely and fantastic location”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This place is a gem, extremely comfortable and welcoming. Susan was so friendly, the welcome tray was a really lovely gesture. We were central to all locations and the walk into ashover was a nice steady walk which we did several times when visiting the pubs. Couldn't fault anything. Saw what we wanted to see during our week but would definitely return in future. Have already recommended the cottage to friends.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.