We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Splendid cottage in stunning location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ejmk_2013
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Splendid cottage in stunning location”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Booking with the very friendly and helpful owner - Sue - was easy and the directions to the accommodation were perfect as was all the information in the welcome pack - the attention to detail was outstanding.
There is a parking space a few yards away - one car for each cottage - which is set back from a hardly used lane, with space for 3 more cars a further down the lane - we had family visiting us one day and they were all able to park comfortably in the space provided.

The cottage itself is absolutely charming - it's attached to the smaller two bedroomed Foxglove cottage, with the owner's cottage to the rear, so they are on hand when you arrive and are very helpful, especially when asking for directions to Chesterfield's football ground!
The cottage is surrounded by fields with views all round, with a couple of horses grazing in the paddock behind the back garden. We never tired of going to bed and just gazing out of the window at the shimmering lights of the villages and roads of Derbyshire.
The bed is very comfy (although anyone over 6 feet tall may find the ornate foot end restrictive when stretching out), cosy and welcoming and so you are guaranteed a good night sleep.
The remaining rooms were very clean, tidy and well equipped with everything you could possibly need - from Tupperware tubs for picnics, a bbq, ride on toy and paddling pool in the shed to books, games, dvds in the lounge and a pint of milk in the fridge on arrival(plus a well stocked welcome tray). There were also some kids' toys, tumble drier, ironing board and a heater in the spooky cellar.
In the nearby village of Clay Cross (approx. 5 minute drive from the cottage), there is a large Tesco extra, a Dominos pizza place that does deliver and a small high street.

We highly recommend this cottage, and if in the area again, we would stay again.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, attendtion to detail, comfy beds
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda H
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent- everything we needed in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent facilities. We were there for a family wedding nearby and had a couple, brother and 3 teen/twenties nephews staying in the cottage. It was ideal for us and a great place to relax after the wedding. It was easily large enough for the 6 of us, although a separate toilet would have been useful when everyone was getting ready for the wedding! Lovely comfortable beds and linen. Really nice toiletries in the bathroom too.
The surrounding area is beautiful and ideal for walks. We had Sunday lunch at The Black Swan in Ashover, really lovely food and service- we would recommend it.
Sue was helpful and friendly when we arrived and there was a large welcome tray. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent size and facilities
Liked least: Separate toilet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rog S
Ravenshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Gorgeous quaint cottage with everything you could wish for and more.
We stayed over the weekend whilst attending a family wedding at The Peak Edge Hotel and Red Lion venue which is only 2/3 miles away and cost £8 in a local taxi. The cottage owner Susan was really helpful and on the cottage has lots of info on places to go/visit, local pubs/eating and great walks straight out the door.
My wife loved the toiletries in the bathroom and my daughter (poor student) helped herself to the complimentary chocolates as well as teas/coffee's etc.
Lovely furnishings and quality fittings. Wonderful views. Perfect. Many thanks.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home, relaxing
Liked least: One toilet in the bathroom for 5 people
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keithedwa...
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class cottage”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Home from home, plenty of space in all areas and a separate bath and shower cubicle with power shower. Cosy lounge with open fire and decent size TV.
Excellent rural location and stunning views but close enough to local pubs and shopping etc.
We didn't have the opportunity to make use of the garden but it is private with great views over open countryside. Owner was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Hoping to go back again and have a longer break

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happytaf
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“outstanding”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely relaxing holiday/it was an area we had never been before but would certainly visit again.The attention to detail was superb and we would highly recommend to all.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: attention to detail
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
393Jacque...
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday accommodation and location making a lovely holiday”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Colombine cottage is a lovely cottage so comfortable and so well equipped. All the little extras went towards making a great holiday it felt so homely. Sue is to be praised for all the hard work she puts into all the small details. We would definately come and stay there again. The scenery in Derbyshire is lovely and all the places of interest were so close to where we were staying. There is so much to see and do in the area we will be back. The people were friendly and the weather was ok. We sampled all 3 pubs in the village and the food and atmoshere were good in all 3 but the Black Horse was our favourite .Morrisons was about a 10 minute ride away which was great for supplies. In all we had a lovely holiday.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and location of the cottage.
Liked least: We are used to a gas hob but we managed ok as all the instructions were clear.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA00001
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful, cosy retreat perfect for adventurous groups or secluded chill time”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Booked Columbine Cottage quite late in the day and was very chuffed Sue had availability over the Easter weekend. The booking process was a total breeze and compared to local B&Bs and hotels, a two-nighter here was incredibly reasonable price wise, particularly when split between two couples.

Alton is a gorgeous weeny village with breath-taking views over the surrounding farmland. We had such a laugh fumbling our way up the stone stepped hillside to the Fabrick Rock and down the country lanes at midnight, after the pubs closed in Ashover. Take a torch if your night vision's lousy! Dinner and the atmosphere in The Crispin Inn was brilliantly cosy and 'local' on the Saturday night and we got stuck into curry night at The Old Poet on the Sunday (although I think I would've preferred traditional pub grub as was seriously average) - all 3 pubs on that strip, including Black Swan, had great beer, cider & ale selections and the service was friendly. Nearest decent shop for supplies (tesco) was a 5-10 min drive away in Chesterfield.

Columbine Cottage was immaculate, very spacious and with an amazing coal fire that smelt delicious as it heated up. The kitchen is very well equipped and roomy with a large table for dining - if we'd have been staying longer we'd definitely have cooked a roast. The pretty little garden looks out over a paddock with horses. The bathroom was massive with double sinks and lovely shower with a specially installed switch to make it kick a bit harder. And the beds, duvet and pillows were so dreamy - best night's sleep I've had in yonks! Super quiet too, which was heavenly coming from noisy London.

Thanks Sue! Highly recommended to families, couples or groups of friends either eager for chill time or keen to be adventurous and get out exploring.

Date of stay: April 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.