We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David K
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was a wonderful place to stay. We only stayed 2 nights but could have stayed much longer. We were introduced to the 2 week old piglets and we're made very welcome. The breakfast choice was varied and very tasty. Lots of walks around and places to eat nearby.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian D
2 reviews
“Beautiful country B&B with warm and accommodating hosts”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I spend 4 nights at Oaks Lane Farm B&B during the half term holiday with my 5 year old son. The room and en-suite were spacious, cosy and very clean. We also had exclusive use of an adjoining conservatory where we ate breakfast every morning. Jo and Veronica, the hosts, were both welcoming, friendly and very thoughtful, including giving a birthday card to my son one morning after I mentioned he was turning 6 in a few days. The information provided in the room was useful too, including directions for some local 30 minute walks which we enjoyed doing. Jo and Veronica also took my son to see their farm animals, including some adorable 1 week old pigs! Breakfasts were delicious with good variety and come with homemade marmalade, honey from their apiary, sausages from their pigs and eggs from their hens.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorlandl...
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“way beyond expectations”
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We booked a 2 night stay from the internet site & the B & B looked very nice....but when we arrived it was way beyond our expectations. The room was very spacious with high quality furnishings and a luxurious and large bathroom with bath & large seperate shower., masses of hot water.. and luxurious properly sized bath towels [something missing in many B & Bs!!] The room itself was attached to a lovely conservatory overlooking the pretty cottage gardens where there was room to relax on quality settee & chair. Everywhere was immaculate & everything the modern guest could need was provided. Delicious breakfasts were served in the conservatory with a garden view & the magnificent hills beyond. Our hostesses were warm & welcoming and the whole experience was most enjoyable & very relaxing. There are lots of pubs & restaurants within easy reach & our hostess was kind enough to telephone to book a table for us on our arrival....service indeed! I feel that I want to keep it a secret because now everyone will want to go...!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: every aspect of the property
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly fab”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stopped here whilst my wife completed the 25 walk for life. We got there late on Friday and they kept the place open for us. After providing us with an extremely early breakfast (that they didn't have to), we left for the walk and it was upon our return in the daylight that we saw how lovely the room, conservatory and grounds were. Extremely idyllic.
After the huge walk we got up late the next day and they still catered for us! The hosts were extremely nice and we would love to call again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Having stayed at Easter we wanted to return to Derbyshire and just felt drawn back to Oak Lane, we usually like variety and rarely return but the first visit had been so good we had to go back. Every last thing was just as good as the first time . I would highly recommend this guest house to everyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A lovely B&B in a delightful setting, close to Chatsworth. We received a lovely welcome from the warm and friendly owners. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, with a nice, big bathroom and a conservatory for our exclusive use. Breakfast was served in the conservatory and was exceptional, with local produce and honey from the owners' own bees - real treat. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating and they have a truly lovely home in an idyllic setting. We hope to make a return visit very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pieterjan...
The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wish we could have stayed longer...”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent 2 nights at oak lane farm and were very pleasantly surprised: the area is beautiful, the room, bathroom and conservatory were ideal. Jo and Veronica were very friendly and most helpful. There are lots of things to do in the neighbourhood, things to see, walks to go on,... It was very sweet of Jo to show us the pigs and the donkeys, Barney and Pumpkin and to explain about life in this area. We would surely love to come back.
Thank you Jo and Veronica for making our stay so wonderful (and even finding us a UK-adaptor!)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing