We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing property”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tracy L
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing property”
Reviewed 22 February 2018 for a stay in November 2017

This is an amazing property I have visited 3 times and I am looking to see when I can go again. Beautiful house, lovely location, friendly little village. Owner welcoming and approachable, after my last visit told her she may have a problem with squatters as I didn’t want to leave. Have to recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this for my husband's surprise 50th Birthday - Friday to Monday. We were joined by our family and had a fantastic time. The cottage is spacious, comfortable and decorated & furnished to a high standard.

We have stayed in many cottages but this is the best one we have been to and will certainly be returning. The owners are lovely and extremely helpful.

Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndene
Cheshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed for a long weekend, a birthday treat for my wife from her sons and their partners. Tremendous conversion of the old stables and furnished to the highest taste. The owner, Lesley, made us most welcome and she told how she and her husband converted the main hall and the outbuildings. Matlock golf course five minutes drive away and the local pubs were a just a walk away. Terrific place to stay. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
We couldn't be happier that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at The Old Stables, it sounds like her sons made a great choice of gift! It is wonderful to hear you had everything you needed there, and all to the highest standard to boot! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owners and hope you return soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi10
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great accomodation in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This property is a new renovation in an old stone stable. It is very tastefully finished with great facilities, plenty of kitchen equipment for entertaining too. We stayed for a 60th birthday celebration with our extended family and it was perfect. The bathrooms have great water pressure and plenty of hot water for a group of 7. There are some really nice walks and Peak District villages/towns in easy reach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of accommodation and location
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Beautiful house and great location”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here in September 2015 and found the location to be really lovely with great gardens and a lovely farm shop/cafe just a short walk away. The house is beautiful, with everything you'd need and finished to a really high spec. The owner, Lesley, was really welcoming and helpful. Would definitely stay here again if back in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing