We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphire place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Ralenti du Lierre
Ranked #1 of 2 Beaumettes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

On March 2012 we have stayed for 5 nights at this lovely place.
A bit remote but not really if you come by car. The owner and host Mr Tierri told us that this house is very hold and he slowly (and gracefully) renovated it. the rooms are very big and you can feel the touch of the owner - we loved it .. Breakfast is being served within the house , and its made by the owner, and you sit along with other people from other countries to have a nice chat where one should visit today. Tierri also recommended on restaurants near by , (all were good ) and overall we had great time at his place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oded0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is a truly wonderful place to stay and ideally placed to explore the region. Serge and in particular Thierry are charming and attentive hosts who do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The house dates back to the 18th century and is beautifully and stylishly furnished in keeping with a house of this age . It was an absolute pleasure and privilege to stay in a house like this. In addition to the pool there is also a kitchen area where guests can store and prepare food should you wish to eat there instead of going to a restaurant. This is ideal after perhaps having lunch out whilst sightseeing and you just want some bread, cheese and wine in the evening. The village is quite small but there is a restaurant opposite and a bar/bistro next door. The food was a bit disappointing in both of these places so perhaps eating during the day and buying food to prepare later is a better option. And now to the breakfast! Every morning Thierry served fresh coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice and the most delicious home-made bread, jam and chocolate brownies. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

A great, stylish BNB. Very comfortable and accessible in the middle of Luberon. The decour was a mix of old stye with very cool "motorcycle fuel tanks, dressed up as fish"... As newly weds we drove through France and spent two nights and loved the comfort and convenience. Thierry and Serge were wonderful hosts and have great English. Thierry could talk about cars all day! Breakfast was homemade chocolate cake and bread, fruit and jams. Simple and fresh, a perfect start to the day. Our room was so comfy and had a beautiful view of the local village and surrounding mountains. If you'd like to stay outside of the larger cities, you can easily explore local treats from Les Baux De Provence and Roussillon to larger towns like Aix En Provence or Avigon, all under an hour drive away.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in July 2012 and it was everything we could have wished for and more. The hotel is very stylish, in a quirky and eclectic way, yet extremely comfortable. The village of Les Beaumettes, where the hotel is situated, is small but there is a great bar/bistrot next door to the hotel and a very reasonable restaurant directly across the road. We cycled around the Luberon during our stay and another advantage was that Les Beaumettes is located in the middle of a dedicated cycle route that stretches from Fourcalquier in the east to Cavaillon in the west.

Room Tip: We had a room with a bath and paid an extra 14 Euros a night for the privilege. If the shower only r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tangerinedreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My partner and I stayed here in the pool-side room recently and I cannot praise our hosts, location, facilities and breakfast enough. We had a lovely outdoor space perfect for breakfast and our own picnics and aperitifs. The place had a real individual character and was full of charm. The air-conditioning was very welcome as it was starting to get quite hot in Provence.

It is a perfect base for day trips to the Luberon villages, Avignon etc and only about an hour away from Marseille airport. Breakfast was superb with the freshest fruit i've tasted in a while and delicious home made bread etc- we promised to return asap

Room Tip: try and get the poolside-room with your own outdoor space (the Piscine room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nenaghboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We just returned from a month in France, and our stay with Thierry was by far the highlight of the trip. We stay exclusively in small inns or boutique hotels, and this was about as good as it gets. The facility itself is amazing, with spiral stairs and quaint rooms, a library full of beautiful old books and art on every wall. Each room is unique and tastefully done. Our room was quite large, with a small sitting area adjacent to the sleeping chamber, a fireplace, and a large bathroom with tub and shower. The bed was the super-comfortable, and we had down pillows! This was also the only place we stayed with air conditioning. Breakfast is served outside around the pool, weather permitting, or inside a beautiful dining room - we felt like we were having breakfast in an ancient castle. An added benefit is a small kitchen which can be used by the guests. There are plates and silverware, a refrigerator, table and chairs, counter and sink - we ate dinner here one evening, and it was a delightful break from eating out in restaurants. We kept cold drinks in the refrigerator for sipping around the pool, and wine for early evening before going out to dinner. Thierry is the quintessential host - very professional, warm and friendly with out being intrusive. He puts a lot of energy into being a good host, without seeming to do so. Every morning we had warm, freshly baked bread and some other wonderful pastry, along with fresh fruit, jams, juices, and tea or coffee. He made dinner reservations for us, stopped to chat with us as we sat around the pool, and joined in evening conversations, making us feel so welcome and at home. Be sure to try the restaurant across the street - La Remisa. It is owned by a local couple- he is the chef, and she is the waitress. Both have wonderful personalities, the food is excellent, and the prices are amazing.
This is our third trip to the Provence, and if we come again, we will stay with Thierry.

Room Tip: Try for the room by the pool. It's smaller than the others, but has a wonderful private patio w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavisSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed 4 nights in mid-June 2012, our first time in Provence ever. It has been two weeks but not one day goes by without us missing the quiet quirkiness of Au Ralenti, Thierry and 'les chats bizarres', Tartine and Zan Zan (Is this how we spell his name, Thierry?? Hehe.) We loved the guesthouse, it was easy to locate it, and there's ample free parking nearby. Les Beaumettes, a tiny strip of a village in itself, lies off the D900 road that runs through the Luberon. Despite this, it was not noisy at all. One may hear the distant occasional hum of cars passing by at night if one's room faces the outer part of the house, like ours, but it never intruded in the serenity of the Provencal evenings. In any case, the view of the Luberon, and the stars in the sky at night by the pool deck or just out of your window certainly trumped it all. Our room on the third level of the house was large and airy, with interesting furniture, a separate seating area and a cave-like bathroom with modern fittings and a bathtub to soak in at the end of each perfect day. We especially loved the lavender scent that greets us as we lay our heads on the pillows on our bed - every relaxing second reminded us that we were in Provence, the land of lavender fields. Thierry was a wonderful host, making sure his guests were taken care of. He was gracious in showing us what we can partake of in his home, even a guests' kitchen, with an in-house mini-bar, fridge to store bought items, cups, utensils, crockery were made available to us, if we want to prepare light meals by the pool or have picnic lunches out. Thierry's knowledge and advice was invaluable when it comes to planning our time there. Breakfast is something to look forward to - homemade bread and jams, a warm piece of brownie (it's a regular fixture every morning!), fresh juice, tea/coffee, fresh fruit coulis...Thierry wakes up early everyday to make almost everything himself. We really love his fig jam; it stands as one of the things we missed most from our trip. We found breakfast perfect for our stay but just in case: perhaps for longer-staying guests (those staying 3 nights and more), a little variety in the breakfast offerings (eggs, cereals or yoghurt?) would be welcome. :)

In terms of location, it was perfect for our exploration of Provence - from the guesthouse's central location, you can access L'isle sur la Sorgue, Fontaine de Vaucluse, the villages of Gordes, Roussillon, in the North as well as Oppede, Menerbes, Lacoste, Bonnieux in the South. From there, you can drive through the Luberon hills to Lourmarin very easily, all within 10 - 35 mins drive. We even went to St. Remy-de-Provence and Avignon, they were each within 30-35 mins drive of the guesthouse.

Overall, a wonderful time at Au Ralenti du Lierre, thank you Thierry for the room, food and conversations...we wish to be back again soon! :) ~ Nora & Aidan

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuppagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumettes
1.6 mi away
Hotellerie Notre Dame de Lumieres
5.7 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
3.7 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#10 of 24 in Gordes
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 5 in Roussillon
285 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
274 reviews
15.5 mi away
Un Patio en Luberon
Un Patio en Luberon
#1 of 7 in Ansouis
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Ralenti du Lierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Ralenti du Lierre

Address: Chemin des Vieilles Beaumettes, 84220 Beaumettes, Gordes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Beaumettes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Beaumettes
Price Range: £87 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Au Ralenti du Lierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Ralenti Du Lierre Hotel Gordes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing