We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fighting Cocks

The Fighting Cocks
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Arreton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Another super time at the fighting cocks. My only negative would be, it can take a while to get served at the bar during busy times. Weather was great and the food was spot on. Children love the play area, so us parents can enjoy some piece.
Well done.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BAMBAM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    148
    50
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Happy With The Service And The Food Was Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I went to the Fighting Cocks after being let down by the Merrie Garden in Lake. I arrive at 9pm and was they still accommodated me and provide me with delicious food and great service. The pub is only a small country pub/restaurant but the service I received was that of a 5* restaurant and the prices were very good for the quality of the food. I would definitely come back to this pub again and I will will be recommending this to many of my friends and family on the island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrostyBallz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great...but they double book the tables so be warned!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

After a fab first visit with the family, me and my partner decided to treat ourselves to a child free evening! We were served our drinks at the bar and seated promptly and politely.
I ordered the hunters chicken which was amazing. Best on I've ever had! Can out sizzling, yummy! My partner ordered a chicken madras off the specials board. Disappointed when it came out. Didn't look like a curry at all, more like a Spanish/Mediterranean dish with huge chunks of peppers. Tasted ok, but not really what he was expecting. Wouldn't order a curry there again, but it hasn't put us off another visit because we know how good the other food is!
I have to put a negative point though and it is the way they take their bookings. If you book a table earlier than 7pm, you will be given 2 hours max to eat and leave, regardless of the size of your party, as the table will have another booking for a later time. Which is fine for some people but if you are planning to make an evening of it and don't like to be rushed through your meal I would either book later or speak to them about it when you make you booking. I saw a couple of groups being asked to hurry as people where waiting for their tables.
But all in all a very pleasant evening. Made to feel welcome and the service is really great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrswhy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Service from manageress deflated the evening.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I regularly visit this beautiful place with both family and friends. I even recommend it to lots of people.
However, this evening when I was served by the manageress/ owner, she first got my two drinks wrong, which I kept quiet about, then continued to serve me in an off manner, bit huffy, and very rude.
When I was joined by my dad, her whole attitude towards him was joyous and friendly, and then totally off when
back to me :-(
Not once did she initiate conversation during payment.
I feel so upset, cos I love this establishment.
Must say the food was delicious, and those staff attentive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food VERY child friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

food to please 3 generations..mum,children and grandchildren...my chilli was lovely....difficult to please son still talking about the flavour of his ham and cheese pannini..daughter still moaning that they wouldn't give us the recipe for the dipping sauce that was with her calamari...must have been good as she wouldn't share...2 yr old grand daughter finished her plate of pasta and cheese (genius for putting that on the menu) in her words 'delicious..my favourite' only plate of food she cleared all week would return here often if I lived on IOW

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goodmealout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fighting Cocks also viewed

Rookley, Isle of Wight
Arreton, Isle of Wight
 
Newchurch, Sandown
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Godshill, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Fighting Cocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing