We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Joya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Velad(Velez Blanco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sercotel Riscal(Puerto Lumbreras)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Parilla(Albox)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
54
5
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
5
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront of housebeautiful settingalmond blossomsunday lunchoff the beaten trackquality of foodthree coursesvenisonthank you so muchout of the waybed and breakfasta real treatwonderful foodthe main roadwell worth the tripwarm welcomeevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent sunday lunch, menu had a great choice of lovely food. Presentation on plates has been given a great deal of thought also the products that have been used. The grounds are fabulous for relaxing in after the meal.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Yet again, a fabulous night at Casa Joya. It was so good to see Mary and James back doing what they do best, welcoming visitors to their fabulous home / business, sourcing a wide variety of foods (James, here, in the middle of nowhere where do you find all your ingredients?) all cooked to perfection. The almond blossom was just coming out, stunning drive up into the mountain was wonderful, then down into your valley. The room, with it's quirky style, the fabulous comfortable bed, the warm welcome and the fabulous food - I agree with previous comments - if you're looking for beige and clinical Casa Joya may not be for you, but friendly, comfortable, unique, stylish in character with a wide menu of superb food all cooked from scratch, presented beautifully. Lovely restaurant with fabulous accommodation, good house wine, with the warmest welcome in the world, Casa Joya, lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeraSpainMoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

James is an absolute gem of culinary expertise in a desert of class restaurants. He went that extra mile without hesitation to satisfy my finicky grandchildren's modern tastes. I would without hesitation recommend Casa Joya to other family groups

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaJoya1, Owner at Casa Joya, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that your family enjoyed your stay and our food. We look forward to seeing you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Why do I love Casa Joya so much ? If you are looking for a 5 star, clinical, cold, business style hotel, then Casa Joya is not for you. It is a haven of peace. The silence so dense you can hear the ants chattering. The perfume of the roses transports you back to your grandmothers garden. The wonderful eclectic decorations and furnishing make every room a treaure hunt. Mary's huge smile and welcome makes your heart sing, and Jame's devotion to sourcing and preparing the most exquisite food makes you salivate just thinking about it. My "Happy Place"

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley4urfuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I used Casa Joya as my base when house hunting around Velez Rubio. As I was driving there I cursed myself for booking somewhere out in the country, but my first mouthful of food made all my concerns vanish!
If you like food you will like this place. The only problem I had was making a choice from the menu, the Chef (and he has genuinely earned that epithet!) clearly loves cooking and the food is alive with flavour. He can do subtle too!
The room and decor generally was a little idiosyncratic and if you like everything white, crips and subtle shades of beige and grey then perhaps this is not for you. But it was clean, comfortable and roomy and there even was wi-fi by satellite.
It proved a great place to visit from and I will be going back.

Room Tip: I stayed in the old part of the house, the room was hippy Marrakech themed with its own little sitting area and library. No view but the terrace has all. He view you need.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewportGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaJoya1, Owner at Casa Joya, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Thank you for your review and taking time to do it. We are delighted.to read that you enjoyed what Casa Joya is all about food and idiosyncratic decor. We hope to see you again and good luck with the house hunting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews