We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location for an Activity Holiday”
Review of Rosemary Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosemary Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Newchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal Location for an Activity Holiday”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Just returned from a fabulous week at a brilliant B&B located within easy reach of all parts of the island. Emma & David create the perfect atmosphere for a relaxing break whilst providing excellent accommodation, food and advice on things to do. Soon to be enhanced by creation of a cycling cafe on the premises where you can hire your cycles and which is ideally situated aside route 23 which is perfect for cycling or walking on a safe vehicle free track being situated 2 miles from Sandown and 6 miles from Newport. The well appointed rooms were both comfortable and practical with en suite and TV provided. All in all, an excellent experience which we hope to repeat very soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
122
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the cottage for 2 nights earlier this month. It is set in a beautiful Island village with lovely gardens and outstanding accommodation! The rooms are en suite with showers, the bedrooms are large ,modern, extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. We were provided with a door key and told to come and go as we pleased, just like home!
At breakfast Dave provides an a la carte menu with all the choices you could imagine, it is then freshly prepared and served in the breakfast room that doubles up as a comfortable lounge with TV and log burner. The Cottage is very well maintained and spotlessly clean.
The village of Newchurch is delightful, close to attractions and a stones throw away from an excellent pub, the Pointer Inn, that serves a superb dinner and has a wonderful atmosphere where the staff and locals are very friendly and helpful
We had a lovely stay with Dave and Emma, Rosemary Cottage, they were the perfect hosts the Cottage exceeded our expectations and gave EXCELLENT value for money.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms for our stay, one at the back and one at the front, both were quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimW1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay last weekend. We were very well looked after. It was a beautiful room and great location for walks. The breakfasts were top quality and plenty of choice. It is also dog friendly which is most important for us. No doubt we will go back.
Thank you !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monia-221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just got back from this delightful B&B and what a great stay we had! Both Emma and David are perfect hosts and the B&B is in a perfect location, just a stone's throw from the national cycling route 23. We can't recommend it enough - the room was very nice and spotless, the breakfast was delicious (with lots of choice), we loved the dogs and puppies being around too.

Our weekend break was all about cycling and the location of this B&B couldn't be better. We arrived in Ryde from London on Saturday morning and cycled to Rosemary Cottage along the coastal path and some quiet roads until we hit route 23. We couldn't believe our luck that this amazing B&B was literally yards away from the route 23.

If the weather is not great or you want to get to B&B with your bikes as soon as you can rather than cycle from Ryde you have the option of taking a train from Ryde Pier Head to Sandown. Route 23 goes straight past the railway station and it's approximately 2 miles cycle on route 23 from the station to the B&B.

The following day we decided to cycle to Newport and Cowes and it couldn't have been easier to cycle to both of them. We visited Carisbrooke Castle on our way (a steep uphill climb but worth it) and then on to West and East Cowes where we visited Osborne House. It was an amazing day trip on our bikes. The vast majority of the cycling path is very flat, well signposted and takes you through some breathtaking scenery of Isle of Wight.

If you are worried that you will be staying in a small village with nowhere to go or eat, stop worrying now. There is an outstanding pub near the B&B, The Pointer Inn where we had two beautiful meals in an exceptionally friendly atmosphere. It doesn't happen very often that we ask to book a table for the following night straight after finishing a dessert but that's exactly what happened. We thoroughly recommend it!

I know that David and Emma have some exciting plans to build a cycling cafe with a bike maintenance station soon and we can't wait to see it next time we visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beata27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

stopped here on a cycling holiday round the island - this place is great, food is excellent, owners are friendly and accommodating, dave is a legend. its the perfect placed for cyclists wanting to explore the island, can't wait for the cafe to open. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasten h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at Rosemary Cottage for 4 nights. Nothing was to much trouble for David and Emma. The best place we have stayed in. Very nice room and superb breakfasts with plenty of choice. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley20141847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I broke down yesterday and found the cottage from the local garage,I must say David&Emma,were very accommodating and friendly,the rooms were fantastic and the breakfast was great,I would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spudders121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newchurch
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Isle of Wight Sandown (Merrie Gardens)
2.7 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
2.7 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemary Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemary Cottage

Property: Rosemary Cottage
Address: Rosemary Cottage Langbridge, Newchurch, Sandown PO36 0NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown > Newchurch
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning purpose built Bed and Breakfast in a semi rural location. Only a 10 minute drive to Sandown bay and most major attractions. We are surrounded by many footpaths and cycle ways with wildlife in abundance. Evening meals can be taken at the Pointer Inn just 5 minutes from us. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rosemary Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemary Cottage Isle Of Wight/Newchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing