We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Evening Hike”
Review of Johnston Canyon

Johnston Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.10*
and up
Johnston Canyon Icewalk
More Info
US$125.59*
and up
Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff
More Info
US$40.68*
and up
Hop-On and Hop-Off Banff Bus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic wooded canyon with trails for hiking and biking.
Banff, Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great Evening Hike”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Simply one of the best hikes and best short hikes the national park has to offer and it doesn't matter if it's winter or summer.

Lower fall is stunning and if you happen to take a bus tour this as far as you go but you miss the upper falls from two different veiw points above the fall and below the falls. This hike never gets boring as the Canyon is always changing due to the amount of water flowing through.

Add a longer hike to the ink pots as you simple continue another hour past the upper falls.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Banff_Bear31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    392
    75
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Exceptionally beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hike to the lower and upper falls at Johnston Canyon was the highlight of our trip to Banff. We wanted an early start to beat the crowds, so we were at the exit to Hwy 1A at 7:55, not knowing that there's a gate to the 1A that doesn't open until 8:00am. I highly recommend doing this (purposefully, unlike we did), as it ended up being perfect, because it meant we were the very first ones to the parking area at the trail head. We had the whole forest to ourselves for the better part of the hike to the lower falls, and few people made the trek to the upper falls, so we were alone for most of that stretch as well. By the time we started back down, some groups, tours, and families had made their way to the trails, so there were quite a few more people on the trail on our way back down, especially after we passed the lower falls on the way back. In winter, be sure to check the ice conditions...we were one of the only ones who realized in April that we still needed ice cleats (which we rented for $15 in town), and we had a FAR easier time on the ice than most others on the trail.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Dovie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A very scenic canyon with wonderful walkways around it. Has a cool cave at the end with water falls. Visit during warm afternoon hours to enjoy this cool place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Holygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice!!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I came late in the day amd had to really hurry to beat the setting sun. Things were slippery as ice was everywhere amd it was a challenge with my camera gear on each shoulder but the falls were beautiful. Will be moreso when snow has melted and water is moving :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just been to the canyon. Beautiful. Largely still frozen but flowing water underneath too. Really stunning. A must do.
The trails were icy and compact. My wife had yaktrax and had no problem. I had good hiking boots on and it was a tricky and slippy. The lower falls took about 20 minutes to reach and then another 20 for the upper. Well worth going to the upper, very impressive.
About half the people I saw were in trainers or boots with no spikes and half had bought or rented spikes so it is up to you. I wish i'd had spikes!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnston Canyon also viewed

Lake Louise, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Johnston Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing