We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long hike”

Ink Pots Hiking Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Estevan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Long hike”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Ok first I will start by saying it is a very long steep hike, it took us just over 2 hrs and we are in good shape! Once you get there we felt they weren't anything special but the views there awesome and so peaceful! If you are up for the journey an have a day to kill, then why not do it but beware it is exhausting!

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
227 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Amazing views, still pretty touristy...”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was hoping that the extra 3-4km of effort after Johnston Canyon would mean less of a crowd. While the group did thin considerably, there were still a lot of people on the trail. The views at the top are amazing and the bubbling ink pots are really unique. I was disappointed to see people in the ink pots despite the clearly marked signs communicating the sensitive nature of the area and explaining that it is a protected site. Please do your part to preserve this natural wonder.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TheVeggieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice hike”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a nice hike, though it was a bit longer than what I had read it would be. The falls were nice. The further you get up the trail, the more scenic it becomes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jmg912x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bring your bag”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a 3.5km trail from the end of Johnston Canyon to Ink Pots. The trail is not difficult but there is no scenic view from the trail. You'll arrive at Ink Pots and notice the 3-4 hole with different water colours in it.

Bring your bag with some water and something to drink. Don't think about doing this trail in flip-flop!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WesleyWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hike ending in a remarkable vista”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Ink Pots are the destination of the final leg of the Johnston Canyon hiking trail. We originally intended to hike only to the Upper Falls, but decided to continue up to the Ink Pots. It was a bit of an effort, but well worth it. The trail itself is well travelled & maintained.

The trail drops you in a valley with sweeping views. The ink pots themselves are interesting, but I was more taken by the gorgeous views. I would recommend packing a lunch and enjoying it around the Ink Pots.

My wife and I go hiking fairly regularly, so didn't find the trail especially strenuous. We heard from others staying at the hotel that they didn't enjoy the hike due to its difficulty ("sore for days"). It seemed pretty doable for everyone (there were kids on the trail), but it's worth noting if you're not a regular hiker.

Another bonus was seeing a Grizzly and her cubs on the drive to the trailhead.

Note: Due to the recent floods, there is significant mosquito activity at the moment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank plusbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ink Pots Hiking Trail also viewed

Banff National Park, Canadian Rockies
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Lake Louise, Banff National Park
 

Been to Ink Pots Hiking Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing