We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Crossing Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crossing Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crossing Resort
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Crossing Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was my second stay at The Crossing. It is all about the location and scenery! The room rate is somewhat high, but again you cannot beat the view! All food and fuel at The Crossing is very, very expensive. I only buy what I must have at the resort. Most of the food and fuel I purchase come from Banff or Jasper. The Icefields Parkway will always be one of my top motorcycle rides and well worth spending the money to make it happen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    65
    90
    52
    53
See reviews for
67
141
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, . B.C.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Booked this as it was around where we thought we would drive to that day. There was 4 of us, and we asked for a family room. Gave us key to wrong room, finally got correct room. Very small. By the time we opened the hide a bed, there was barely enough room for us and our luggage. Mattress pad on hide a bed did not look clean, so we covered it with the 2 clean sheets, and used our sleeping bag .The double bed and the single bed were fine. Good linen, duvet, very clean and comfortable. Was not impressed that they added $15 each for 2 of us. This brought the charge with tax over $200.00. Way too much! We did not buy anything in the restaurant or store. Prices are way too high. I think this resort would do much better if they brought their prices down. We should of stayed in Jasper!

Room Tip: Stay in Jasper, but if you have to stay here, don't book online as they put it through your cred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ria3896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Rooms - so-so and quite dated.
Scenery - great
Prices - stupidly expensive for what you get. Stay somewhere else.

Whatever you do, don't buy ANYTHING here. Gas will be 50% more than anywhere else in the province ($1.79 per litre at The Crossing, vs $1.10 per litre everywhere else as of last weekend) and everything else is jacked up by the same amount.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank petey1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff National Park hotels

Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My second visit to the crossing. It's all about the location here as it sits roughly halfway between Banff and Jasper on the Icefields Parkway. The rooms are okay. Our bedroom was clean, if a little old fashioned, but I don't mind that. The bathroom is certainly in need of tlc. The tiling is old and cracked, and the constant dripping from some of the fittings has stained the tub with rusty water.
It bills itself as a resort, which I think is a bit ambitious. However it is one of the few places to overnight on the Icefields Parkway, and there is a pub, gas station, and store with cafe attached. It's not the lap of luxury but it's a good location for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rolaaand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Our group of 6 stayed here one night because it was the second leg of a bike trip. We ate lunch at the "Pub" , the watering hole next to the motel. The pub was kinda cool...if you wanted a burger, they had the grill fired up and you cooked it yourself. It has a deck with good mountain view ( ignore the parking lot between you and the mountains) Our server was a really nice college aged kid.
The motel itself looked like one of those places where our parents would have taken us in the early 60's. it was sort of retro, flat architecture, nice planted areas, and a few small cabins scattered around, I'm assuming for the staff, since it's in the middle of a national park. The grounds and planted areas are very neatly kept. The office staff was very nice. (Side note- one our group was in the office and overheard the employee on the phone dealing with a customer who was trying to cancel their reservations at the end minute, inside the cancelation policy window. Our friend said the employee was extremely polite and calm and handled the obviously irate caller very well). The room were just okay, which was fine. I didn't expect anything fancy just based on the outside style. But the painted wooden surfaces outside are peeling. One of our friends' room had the heat on and they couldn't turn it off, and their toilet wasn't working. The maintenance man fixed the heater but I'm not sure the toilet issue was solved. I realize their tourist season is short and they might be tight on funds but they really should take whatever money they can to spruce up the outside just a bit. Paint or stain would help quite a bit. There appear to be several good places to hike close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Booking a room during off season was a bit of a hassle since the office was only open part-time and I had to leave several messages. However, once I was able to get in touch with somebody they were very helpful with the reservation.

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and very well prepared for the busy evening prior to the race. They won me over when they let us have a late check-out so that I could shower after running my portion of the relay.

Just a couple warnings: (1) there is no internet (but all electricity is generated onsite which is cool!), (2) gasoline and food are priced at a premium due to the remote location of the hotel and (3) there is no cell service onsite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aliciae54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great location with local walks and wildlife, apart from some traffic noise. Site well maintained - nice flowers. Rooms well appointed - clean but basic - no m/wave/fridge/kettle. Pub food reasonable & value. Friendly staff.




Room Tip: Bring ear plugs! Ask for a kettle if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff National Park
6.9 mi away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
23.7 mi away
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
#6 of 10 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#28 of 33 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
75.7 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
76.4 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crossing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossing Resort

Property: The Crossing Resort
Address: Icefields Pkwy 93, Banff National Park, Alberta TOL 1EO, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Banff National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crossing Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossing Resort is family owned resort and located midway on the Icefields Parkway within 30 minutes of most major Attractions. Full services on site such as 3 dining venues a Pub, Gas Station, General store and Gift,Guest Center and Fitness Center. Check our website for our great Hike & Attraction packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Crossing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crossing Hotel Lake Louise
Crossing Resort Lake Louise
Crossing Hotel Lake Louise
The Crossing Resort Banff National Park, Canada - Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing