We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$483
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$395
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$721
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$419
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tunnel Mountain Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$442
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$422
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
US$606
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$555
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$487
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$300
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$370/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$1,048
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$998
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
23
87
125
68
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
87
125
68
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsremote locationstayed nightsbed was comfortablecolumbia icefieldcanadian rockieswi fisteakpeyto lakebuffet breakfastlittle priceybanff jasperfit the billevery directiongrocery storeoffice staffgreat spothighway
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Saskatchewan River Crossing is where the Icefields Parkway (Hwy, 93) crosses the Saskatchewan River. The Crossing is a dated looking resort motel (in fairness, it has to withstand harsh winter weather). It has a captive audience for its offerings to through travelers, because there are few places to stop along the Icefields Parkway. It offers basic services like gas, coffee, restrooms, cheap souvenirs and mediocre food.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank mrsagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, General Manager at The Crossing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for your comments and we will continue to work towards a high standard of offering throughout the resort.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Imagine waking up to snow capped peaks 2800 meters and higher! Sunrise and sunsets like no other. The family run business does their best in the confines of a National Park! They have many upgrades as of 2016 and are pushing for more. You will not be disappointed to have this as your home base and National Parks staff only a 3 minute drive away with maps and detailed details of hikes(we gwt out and about to provide the best info for all types of travellers) ,animal sightings, best photo opportunities and secret spots for water falls and such. Mothers Day and Thanksgiving are special times for rates, food,slow season traffic.Too many special features in this area to mention. But this is a great "base camp". And seriously! ANYWHERE in the world...in tourist areas, prices are higher! I hope you see the value of the experience!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Della L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, General Manager at The Crossing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Della: Thank you for your comments. We appreciate it when people notice the challenges of the location and constraints of operations in such an area as ours. I hope you continue to use The Crossing as a base for your enjoyment of the area and if there is anything we can help with please ask. From your comments I feel that you are also a subscriber to our newsletter. It is full of information on the resort and local are and we welcome any feedback any time. It is what assists us in our decisions moving forward.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

With not many places to stop in this area, we opted to try this place as a last resort. A try in the pub with a proper menu, they were not yet serving food at 4:00 pm, so we settled for the self serve restaurant. Two pulled pork sandwiches and a coffee each came to a bill of close to $50. And when we got the food to our table, we would have valued it worth less than $5.00. Left most of the sandwich, and not being a French fry fan, this was the choice to get at least some food in my system. Dreadful at a horrible price. The owners should be ashamed

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, General Manager at The Crossing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

It is unfortunate that you had a negative experience. I was not made aware of this incident. To whom did you speak with that day regarding your complaint? We typically would do whatever we could to make it right. I wont apologize for pricing however I will always apologize for poor service or quality. Should you ever be by our way again please ask for me and I would be happy to meet with you, or should you wish please call and speak directly to me anytime if you wish.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

After reading mixed reviews we were wondering what to expect for our overnight stay, which we chose because of its position between Banff and Jasper.

Firstly it's location is absolutely stunning, we managed to enjoy the amazing views on our arrival. Unfortunately snow the following morning meant we saw nothing and couldn't do the walk we had planned.

Secondly our rooms were perfectly ok. Yes they were dated and a little dark but they were clean, comfortable and lovely and warm when it was below freezing outside.

Thirdly we chose to eat in the pub and found it quite bizarre that we were expected to cook part of the meal ourselves on the grill! The girl was very friendly in the bar so that made up for it.

Fourthly was the price of drinks and food which we found as other reviewers have to be on the expensive side, which is why I have rated the Crossing average.

Would I stay there again and recommended others to do so, yes absolutely. It was in an ideal position to break the journey up so we could take our time enjoying the road from Jasper to Banff. We had a comfortable stay, we just objected to paying over the odds for self cooked food and drinks!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank simply-peregrinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike F, General Manager at The Crossing Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

I thank you for your comments and we will continue to work on both service and quality of product as we are always concerned about providing value.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The Crossing Resort offers a one or two night stay over Thanksgiving weekend that includes accommodation and their amazing Thanksgiving dinner buffet. The resort is pet friendly at reasonable rates if you book far enough in advance - which was a real bonus for us and our two little dogs.
The room was nice and tucked away in a quiet corner - a bonus of having dogs. The beds were great with lots of pillows. Bar fridge and coffee and tea making facilities along with a full size tub made for nice ammenities. Parking is close by.

The Thanksgiving meal was outstanding with great service and amazing food. The two buffet breakfasts we had at the resort were also wonderful and good value - the continental buffet included waffles you made yourself - fresh and yummy.

Overall a great experience and the Icefields are about half an hour up the highway. The Icefields Parkway never ceases to impress regardless of season - we had a lovely 20 cm of fresh powder overnight Saturday - first snow of the season and beautiful.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank WaynesWorld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews