We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only postive comments about this place!”
Review of Silver Hind

Silver Hind
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Sway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$44
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Silver Hind is a friendly Restaurant and Village Inn set in the centre of the New Forest Village of Sway. We welcome all the family including dogs and horses! Our Chefs are passionate about sourcing seasonal produce from the New Forest area including local fish, seafood and game. We are proud that everything is made by our Chefs including our complimentary bread which is freshly baked every day. We have daily specials and lunchtime light bites and our Sunday Lunch changes every week but always features locally sourced aged Sirloin of Beef and Rack of Pork with Crispy Crackling. We carry a range of real ales and have a carefully chosen wine list which is sensibly priced with a good selection of wines by the glass. We are open for Lunch and Dinner Monday to Saturday and Lunch on Sundays. Our bar is open every day from 11 am to 11 pm
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only postive comments about this place!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We ate here while staying in the New Forest, we were so glad that we had found this little gem through trip advisor! The food and service were both excellent. The staff were attentive and friendly. My partner had the tasting board to start and was amazed that they had even managed to make asparagus soup amazingly tasty! The portions were of a good size and well very well presented. We had three courses and there was nothing that either of us didn't like. The meal was good value for money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma2588730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    109
    36
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing roast.....fantastic service”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived to a very friendly greeting/welcome. We were with our toddler and the staff were very helpful..offering colouring/high chair, and then a cushion for the seat when our toddler insisted in sitting in a big girls chair even though she was a little low down to be able to eat! The food was lovely, amazing roast beef and tasty local fish. We were planning a walk after our lunch and we're given some great tips on where to go and what to see. This place certainly has the personal touch and great service that you don't get often anymore.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S_PBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bracknell
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ChrissyC. Fabulous ! ! !”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I met two friends at the Silver Hind for lunch last Saturday. None of us had been there before. We chose to sit outside as it was a lovely day.
Two of us ordered the Wild Boar Burgers which were delicious, we both said we preferred them to beef burgers, they were so tasty. the third one of us had the battered fish with chips which she said was superb.
The other two had desserts, which I'm told were delicious. I had a coffee and even that was a really nice coffee blend.
The service was faultless.
The interior design was fab and outside looked beautiful with planted up flowers. Even the ladies room.
was super. Everything was spotless !
I can't wait to go again !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and very dog friendly!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Called in here completely at random whilst on holiday. What a stroke of luck! The food was exceptional, and the service could not be faulted. They even made our dogs welcome with biscuits! Very highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RPBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Book in advance and go!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

When we arrived they were so booked up they weren't even taking walk-ins however they sat us at the lovely bar and after we had had a swift half they magically were able to accommodate us which was super kind. The staff were fabulous, left us alone, but were very attentive at the right times. We had the taster menu starter which was fab, all food locally sourced and cooked from fresh in house. We both had delicious mains, lamb and chicken stuffed with crab which were offered up as fine dining but at pub amounts! Delish. Too full for pud, but were left to enjoy coffee rather than rushed out. Loved the mix of locals at the bar, with diners all around them. Great atmosphere, not too precious, easy to talk (we were having a mum and daughters night out) but not full of too much drunken loudness. Defo will be going again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CSallis-Galvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Hind also viewed

Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 

Been to Silver Hind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing