We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food & great service!”
Review of Silver Hind

Silver Hind
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Sway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$44
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Silver Hind is a friendly Restaurant and Village Inn set in the centre of the New Forest Village of Sway. We welcome all the family including dogs and horses! Our Chefs are passionate about sourcing seasonal produce from the New Forest area including local fish, seafood and game. We are proud that everything is made by our Chefs including our complimentary bread which is freshly baked every day. We have daily specials and lunchtime light bites and our Sunday Lunch changes every week but always features locally sourced aged Sirloin of Beef and Rack of Pork with Crispy Crackling. We carry a range of real ales and have a carefully chosen wine list which is sensibly priced with a good selection of wines by the glass. We are open for Lunch and Dinner Monday to Saturday and Lunch on Sundays. Our bar is open every day from 11 am to 11 pm
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent food & great service!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We hadn't booked a table and arrived on a busy Saturday evening. The restaurant was very busy and we were told we may not be able to get a table, So we decided to have a drink as the place was lovely and very welcoming. After just 15 minutes we were shown to our table and couldn't ask for friendlier staff. They were so attentive and made us feel very special. As it was my husband's birthday we couldn't have asked for a lovelier evening. The food was fantastic very tasty and plenty of it. We will definitely be visiting again soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    106
    33
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only postive comments about this place!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We ate here while staying in the New Forest, we were so glad that we had found this little gem through trip advisor! The food and service were both excellent. The staff were attentive and friendly. My partner had the tasting board to start and was amazed that they had even managed to make asparagus soup amazingly tasty! The portions were of a good size and well very well presented. We had three courses and there was nothing that either of us didn't like. The meal was good value for money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma2588730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing roast.....fantastic service”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived to a very friendly greeting/welcome. We were with our toddler and the staff were very helpful..offering colouring/high chair, and then a cushion for the seat when our toddler insisted in sitting in a big girls chair even though she was a little low down to be able to eat! The food was lovely, amazing roast beef and tasty local fish. We were planning a walk after our lunch and we're given some great tips on where to go and what to see. This place certainly has the personal touch and great service that you don't get often anymore.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S_PBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bracknell
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ChrissyC. Fabulous ! ! !”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I met two friends at the Silver Hind for lunch last Saturday. None of us had been there before. We chose to sit outside as it was a lovely day.
Two of us ordered the Wild Boar Burgers which were delicious, we both said we preferred them to beef burgers, they were so tasty. the third one of us had the battered fish with chips which she said was superb.
The other two had desserts, which I'm told were delicious. I had a coffee and even that was a really nice coffee blend.
The service was faultless.
The interior design was fab and outside looked beautiful with planted up flowers. Even the ladies room.
was super. Everything was spotless !
I can't wait to go again !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and very dog friendly!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Called in here completely at random whilst on holiday. What a stroke of luck! The food was exceptional, and the service could not be faulted. They even made our dogs welcome with biscuits! Very highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RPBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Hind also viewed

 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 

Been to Silver Hind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing