We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
41
21
9
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
21
9
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm shop the cottages dog walk single track hare and hounds hook ups guy ropes shower facilities new forest train line quiet campsite rail station perfect base self catering isle of wight sized pitches passing places
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights while exploring new forest and surrounding area and this was perfect base to do that. Facilities were clean and campsite well cared for with friendly welcome from wardens. Will come back again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank sandraandmark2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn C, Owner at Rushcroft Farm Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thank you for your review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed exploring the beautiful New Forest. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

2 families plus grandparents in 2 tents plus a caravan. Tent pitches quite sloped but well mown. Very strict regarding spacing of tents. Lots of extra charges, which are mentioned on the website, but not immediately obvious eg. Gazebos - 10 pounds extra per night - gosh! Apparently this is to prevent the site from looking crowded - we have camped in a number of other lovely sites without ever being charged for 1 gazebo between the 3 pitches. Showers - 20p for 3 mins - not extortionate but unnecessarily bureaucratic and not conducive for a relaxing shower (a tiny luxury joy usually provided for free at most sites). Train - last on is at midnight, first one 5.30am. You do get somewhat used to them but earplugs needed at night. Noise - curfew of 10.30pm variably enforced - first night very little sleep. Better after complaining subsequent nights. Nice stream for kids to play around. Ball games fine.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank elizabethwoodroffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn G, Owner at Rushcroft Farm Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Elizabeth thank you for your review and the points you mentioned are going to assist other campers in deciding whether or not to visit our lovely home and campsite. We have chosen to maintain the old fashioned good sized pitches that, from the feedback we receive from our campers, are very much preferred to the smaller sized pitches, they have to pay more for on other sites. Gazebo's do need to be booked for in advance as you note was stated on the website. We are not a huge site and do try to place our campers on a pitch which is suitable for the size of tent and any additional items (gazebo's) intended to be used. If other sites choose not to charge for these we are sure that will be stated on their web site as well. We hope that you were advised of the free showers available on site, apologies if this was omitted from the personal introduction/guidance provided when you arrived with us, these free showers are listed in the sheet of helpful information provided to all campers when they arrive to holiday with us. We do find campers put 2 x 20p into the coin boxes to extend the length of their shower. The team do try to be consistent with enforcement of 10.30 curfew and if you encountered a problem we would much prefer to be told at the time so that timely action can be taken, the next morning is a little late for us to sort things out for you. The noisy campers did apologise wholeheartedly the next day once we were made aware of the problem and I'm sure would have quite readily deceased any noise if we had been alerted to the problem on the night concerned. The team, including our wonderful wardens Pete and Pauline, work tirelessly to make everyones stay as enjoyable as we can, but if we are not made aware of problems we can't do anything about them, so we do urge our visitors to let us know straight away of any issues so we can have the chance to take timely corrective action. Many thanks for coming to stay with us in the beautiful New Forest and we hope to see you all again. Lynn, Mark, Pauline and Pete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We recently booked into Rushcroft Farm with our motor home for what we were led to believe was to be 7 nights ‘peaceful’ rest as stated on the website – “We are a small quiet family farm site set in a beautiful natural environment”. “We ask that all light and noise pollution be kept to an absolute minimum”.
What wasn’t declared on the website particulars was that a train mainline ran approx 50 metres alongside the main hard standing pitches and even in the motor home we were still woken at the unearthly hour of 5.30am every morning; with that being the first of many trains daily. The last train of the day was midnight! We lasted four nights and had to move due to lack of sleep.
The toilet/shower facilities were a lot to be desired and of bare minimum standard, particularly when the campsite was busy , which it was on the bank holiday weekend. The facilities for which you are required to pay are in our opinion in much need of updating

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn G, Owner at Rushcroft Farm Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Mandy. Thank you for visiting our campsite and for your review which we are sure will assist other campers to avoid staying with us if they don't think the site is for them ,which is very helpful. As you have noted we do provide shower and toilet facilities and whilst these are not comparable in modernity to much bigger sites, we are not under an obligation to provide any of these due to the smallness of our site, but have done so to try to provide a more enjoyable stay to our many hundreds of visitors over the years. Our dedicated and friendly team work endlessly to ensure the facilities are kept as clean as humanly possible. In spite of the best efforts of a handful campers ,with horrendously filthy habits, we are regularly complimented on the cleanliness of our site facilities. It would make your hair curl if we told you of the sorts of mess we are faced with having to deal with, not for the feint hearted I assure you. Our team deserve medals for the high standards of cleanliness they constantly achieve. We and our brilliant wardens work tirelessly to provide our visitors with as comfortable a stay as we can by putting in hundreds of hours work and unstinting effort. We are a small site and have to work within the confines of the small turnover the site generates. Larger campsites spend many thousands of pounds on their facilities, sums which are completely beyond a small business such as ours. We don't cram in loads of people but do provide old fashioned good sized pitches unlike many bigger campsites which can then therefore spend more money on facilities, so it is a balance and we opt to give people space to breath in the fresh New Forest country air rather than living on top of one another.
Yes we are alongside a train line as any map you care to look at would show. There is nothing we can do about the train schedule but we are strict ensuring campers are courteous to others by limiting noise and not accepting large groups, which would earn us more money, but prove detrimental to the enjoyment of our other campers. For some people such as yourselves we obviously understand our campsite is therefore not the place for you to visit, but we have many, many repeat customers who love their stay with us and for whom the train noise is obviously not an issue.
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us which is a great disappointment to us all here. Hopefully you have your own favourite campsite you can continue to enjoy your holidays with and discover more suitable sites for yourselves in the future - happy future camping - Lynn, Mark, Pauline and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend this place for horsey holiday! The cottage was clean, stylish and done up to a high standard. The staff were friendly and accommodating. And the facilities for the horses were fantastic. The location was also perfect for riding. We will be visiting again very soon!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn G, Owner at Rushcroft Farm Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and riding in the New Forest.
Best wishes
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Very nice, quiet site. Friendly staff. Some hard standing pitches on a slope. One down side is the single track lance leading into the site - has no passing places! Nice deli shop nearby for breakfasts and snacks. V close to train station if you fancy a day out in Bournemouth, Poole or Brockenhurst. Excellent pub in Brockenhurst (Forresters).

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn G, Owner at Rushcroft Farm Caravan & Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for reviewing our site. The short access road does have space for passing cars and our staggered arrival and departure times mean that caravans should never meet on the road.
Pleased you enjoyed the facilities in the village.
Best wishes
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews