We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 40th Birthday to remember fondly forever”
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Sway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A 40th Birthday to remember fondly forever”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I mum. gramps and I all had the pate to start - was sooo yummy - the relish was scrummy. As it was my birthday we shared a bottle of Prosecco (mum wouldn't let me choose the £40 brut champagne ) I had a chiken breast with mushroom and bacon in white wine sauce which was delicious - My mum had the haddock on bubble and squeak dad had fish ansd chips hubby had steak and chips and gramps had roast beef - all meals cooked to perfection and served at the right time considering it was quite busy (always a good sign) We then all attempted a desert and dad was most impressd with his bread and butter pudding (he ate the lot) hubby had chocolate fudge cake - gramps and mum had mulled wine sorbet I attempted some ice cream. Just as our puddings were being cleaned away out came my cake. Gramps had got it especialy made in the shape of a Grand Marnier bottle - we were all stuffed so only managed a small piece each all satisfied thoroughly with our meals. Overall Good Food,Good service and good atmosphere. Would definately go back again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kellynstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    153
    50
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The Hare and Hounds is a great traditional pub in the New Forest, the food is hearty and plentiful and very good quality, the portions are man size so make sure you are hungry before you go, would defiantly eat here again, the menu is also quite extensive and caters well for vegetarians

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The food is very good and reasonable value for money. Beer is well kept.
Atmosphere is very good. Special events are put on throughout the year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HordleCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Really Good Pub”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The Hare & Hounds is a great place to meet before a long walk on the Forest, or afterwards to refresh yourselves. Although primarily an eatery, they keep a wide selection of beers and wines exceptionally well. The annual Beer Festival is always good value, though usually very busy. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 543jrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Tasty and good portions”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Popped in after morning on the coast. Had lamb and mint suet pudding and chicken & asparagus pie with new potatoes, carrots, cabbage & broccoli. Gravy with the pudding was delicious and silky , suet pastry perfect and veg were spot on. Chicken/Asparagus pie came with puff pastry and creamy sauce. Again spot on and portions very good. Both of us were replete after the meal. Also good selection of well kept beers. No complaints at all. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodfan023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing