We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub”
Review of Hare and Hounds

Hare and Hounds
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Sway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lovely pub grub. Always eat here when I'm in the neighbourhood. Great staff and reasonably priced food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    151
    49
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A wide selection of good value food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Ate here on arrival at the village. The pub was very busy but they were able to find us a table. Service was good and food was varied, well presented and tasty. It's nice to see a pub that does more than burgers and chips but without being too far at the "gastro" end of the scale. The Peri Peri chicken was large and fast the chilli was hot spicy and filling. On a second visit the specials has changed and the food was just as good. Portion size was good filling after a long day walking or biking. The beer was good and the garden area is also well kept with a children's play area. Overall highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor Food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Went here for early dinner and my wife had chilli con carne, it was not good and I am sure it cam out of a can, the only reason she chose it was the 2 things on the special board she wanted they had none. We were there at 5pm on a Friday so not sure why they were out of food before the main dinner times? Would not be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Better than average pub food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Ate here one lunchtime whilst on holiday.

The menu is extensive, we found it hard to choose as everything looked really nice. I had the chicken pie and my fiancé had the lamb and mint pudding.

The food was OK, I think for the price it was reasonable although (sorry if I'm wrong) I used to work in catering and the sauces tasted like the catering sauces we used to get out of packets.

Also the chips were not fresh which was a shame.

However, for the price, the overall meal experience was good, the portion sizes were big - veg comes in big side dishes and was nicely cooked and not messed with.

Service was very friendly and prompt even though it was quite busy.

Nice, inexpensive pub for a rainy day

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wolfboy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have eaten here several times when visiting the area over the last 3 years but have to say that this time, we were quite disappointed and wondered if it had changed hands. The service wasn't as good as before and the drinks' prices had increased significantly too. On previous visits we commented on how large the portions were and appreciated the extra niceties ie salad garnish with such meals as the scampi, peas and chips but on our 2 recent visits this year, it was just basic scampi, peas and chips! Maybe they were off days: time will tell when we return later this year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melita2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hare and Hounds also viewed

 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 

Been to Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing