We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value”
Review of Odenthal B&B

Odenthal B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Odenthal B&B
Ranked #18 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing Value”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Odenthals' B&B is chalet-like from the outside and has treasures like spinning wheels and an array of paintings in the interior. We had the room with two beds, which was immaculately clean, spacious, and comfortable. The beds were suitably firm and there were extra blankets and pillows. Unlike many places in Canada, this home has screens, so we were able to sleep with an open window. The shared bath (There are only two rooms rented at a time.) is also immaculately clean with white, fluffy towels, a good shower and two sinks. I liked the fact that there were drawers in the bathroom to put your toiletries in. The location is perfect: a little over two blocks from the town center on a quiet, well-lit street. Nearly everything is within walking distance. Breakfasts were outstanding and daily included just about anything one might want, for example,yogurt, fruit, eggs, breads, cereals, cheese, ham, juice, tarts, muffins or sweet breakfast breads, juice, tea, and coffee. All of these good qualities would in themselves deserve a five-star rating. However, the main attraction is Mrs Odenthal. Freda is a quiet, but sparkling woman who has developed the skill of walking that fine line between being warm, helpful,and friendly, but not intrusive. If we return to Banff, there is no doubt that we would stay with her again. We have already recommended Odenthals' to our family and friends. That the price is right just elevates the experience to a wonder!.

Room Tip: Either the queen bed or the two beds. Both are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

a wonderful clean place to stay in, with a homely feel and yummilicious breakfast that gets you going for the day. Freda is a lovely host, and the twin room we stayed in was wonderful. the bathroom is shared with 2 other rooms, which might be a problem for those who run by clockwork. however, if you're easygoing & considerate (ie. don't hog the bathroom), it's no issue at all. an easy 5-10min leisure walk to reach downtown area, near to some trails, wifi connection, that warm fuzzy feeling you count yourself lucky to get when you end up staying at a place like Odenthal. thank you, Freda! xx

Room Tip: The twin room is very spacious and big. For couples, the bedrooms with double beds would work better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ling H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Odenthal is a traditional style house in a quiet area of Banff. The twin bedroom is very spacious with lovely comfy beds. I think it is a Canadian thing, but you can’t run lots of things off the plugs eg a kettle and a heater off the same plug will short the electrics. There were signs about it in our previous B&B. The WiFi is great. The breakfast is lovely, especially the fruit salad and homemade cakes. Odenthal is a good base to visit Lake Louise, Lake Minnewanka and the Lake Louise gondola. The town is full of shops and tour operators. I would recommend ‘Banff Adventures’, they were very helpful. But avoid ‘Explore Rockies’, the male member of staff we talked to had a really bad attitude and we left feeling unwelcome and disheartened. Freda is a fantastic host and she made my birthday very special- Thank you.

Room Tip: All looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JodyPilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I would highly recommend Odenthal B&B, if you want clean, comfy , and economical accommodations with great hospitality. The breakfast was fantastic and the location could not have been better, you can walk to everything easily. Freda made our visit wonderful. Thanks

Room Tip: Great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheree h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was our first visit to Banff and Odenthal B&B and we were booked for 6 nights. Cleanliness, quiet and a good night sleep are our primary requirements for the accommodations we expect to receive when staying anywhere in the world. We would like to say that we would return to Odenthal B&B in the future with a great pleasure. The location is excellent, the house is lovely and quiet and the breakfast is out of this world-AMAZING. Our hostess Freda treated us as a family and if you are in Banff you must try her breakfast - it is something that you will never forget.
Our room was large and spotless. The shared bathroom is not a problem at all.
It will be to your advantage to have family Odenthal as your host.
Thank you so very much Heinz and Freda for this amazing and memorable stay in Banff!
Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carina000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This B&B is located within walking distance of the heart of Banff town: ideally for your evening strolls through town, but also a perfect starting point for your day trips.

Our room was spacious and clean.

While the bathroom is shared with the other rooms this doesn't bother at all: the bathroom is clean and because there are only two guest rooms chances are low that the bathroom is occupied.

Breakfast is in one word delicious: cereal, different kinds of bread, different cheeses, ham, jelly, yoghurt, fresh fruit and berries, a hardboiled egg, orange juice and last but not least two delicious different fresh homemade pastries.

While cheaper than most other accomodations in Banff I am sure it can easily compete in cleanliness and spaciousness and you will be hard pressed to find a breakfast better than this. The shared bathroom is a non-issue.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

No trip to Banff would be complete without a stay at Odenthal's B&B.

Freda is the most amazing host - kind of like having a substitute mum - who takes care to prepare wonderful and nutritious breakfasts to see you through any hiking or skiing activities you have planned.

The house is original, so please don't expect anything modern, but it is very clean and comfortable, right in the heart of town by the Bow River and literally around the corner from Banff Avenue.

There are three rooms, two with double beds and one with two single beds. Guests have their own small lounge, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, balcony and a large bathroom to share.

We stayed in the middle of a very hot summer (29c every day) and were coll as cucumbers.

I have stayed at Odenthals five times now and wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Banff national Park.

Thanks Freda.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
1.6 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odenthal B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odenthal B&B

Property: Odenthal B&B
Address: 510 Buffalo Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing