We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountainview”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Tel-Aviv
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mountainview”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This b&b is a nice tidy place that felt homey with a very nice hostess. Although the stay was fine with no particular problems we thought it to be no more than average - breakfast was poor (no yogurts cheeses or egs just bread fruits and cereals - although we have to admit that we don't know what's customery in Canada, having traveled to many other countries we expected something more) and although everything else was very cleen our bed was full of hairs that weren't ours. Compared fo other places in banff it wasn't as expensive so its ok that this was a bit basic cause the overall look was nice, but the hairs made it much less comfortable than expected. Reading other reviews it seems we are the only ones so maybe it was a bit tough luck and not always relevant.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank syvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boutersem, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at Mountain View B&B in august for 3 nights. The bedroom was small but clean, comfortable and quiet. The communal living/kitchen area was great as it gave you space to spread out and relax the use of the free internet was very nice as well. Sharing a bathroom was no problem and taking care of your own breakfast was ok , there where lots of things provides in the kitchen. The location is unbeatable. It is located just a few blocks from the center of downtown Banff, so no need to take the car for trips to town. Very good value for the money and nice hosts

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaenpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were recently in Banff for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay at the Mountain View B&B. The location is unbeatable. It is located just a few blocks from the center of downtown Banff, so no need to take the car for trips to town. Very good value for the money. If we had stayed at a regular hotel, the cheapest available option would have cost at least 2-3 times what I paid.

Edwina was very accommodating with lots of useful information about the surrounding areas. The room we stayed in was small and clean, and we shared a bathroom with guests in another room. There is a third room with its own private bathroom; if available, I would opt for that one.

Some advice if you plan on staying here or anywhere in this area: bring bug spray. Mosquitoes are everywhere and they are ferocious.

Room Tip: Get the room with the private bathroom if possible.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eyeguy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brsibane,Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at Mountain View B&B in early September for 2 nights. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and quiet. The communal living/kitchen area was great as it gave you space to spread out and read the interesting books on the area, as well as use the free internet and make free local phone calls. Sharing a bathroom was no problem as we hardly saw anyone else when staying there. The breakfast was simple (help yourself cereal, toast and jam), but we had specifically chosen this, as we had planned to hit the road early to get on the road before the rush to see more animals. Edwina and Kevan were friendly and helpful. The B& B has parking in front, and it is a couple of blocks walking distance to the centre of town. If you like Mex-Tex food and pub atmosphere, we really recommend The Magpie & Stump for a meal. All in all, staying here was a good relaxing spot for us in Banff.

Room Tip: We stayed in a back room and a front room when we were there, both were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeknfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and myself stayed there on Sept 22/23/24 2011 and we really loved this place. It was spotless and sharing the bathroom was no problem at all. The communal room was lovely with computer access and continental breakfast which was fine. Kevan greeted us and gave us lots of info and Edwina was very friendly and helpful. The outside deck was lovely to sit and relax with a beer after a long day sightseeing.I would definitely recommend this b/b to anyone for the friendliness of the owners and easy walk to town for restaurants and pubs etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerieSlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We travelled as a group of three couples and stayed at Mountain View B&B for a week and it was perfect for us. While the rooms aren't very big, we had everything we needed and the price was very reasonable. The location is great, easy walk to the town centre and to walking trails like Tunnel Mountain. Edwina and Kevan are excellent hosts and were very helpful in providing ideas for sites to visit around Banff. We would love to come back again one day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The Mountain View isn't a luxury B&B but is in a perfect location within 5 mins walk of Banff centre. The rooms are basic but have everything you need, two of them sharing a bathroom and the other with en-suite. We shared the bathroom and it was absolutely no problem and actually had a great shower (maximum 4 people sharing it so no queues!). And all the above comes at great value for Banff, it seemed like one of the best value places in town.

Also a quick thanks to Kevan who recommended an excellent restaurant (Earls) and also gave us loads of tips for our onward journey through the Rockies. The free internet and lounge area for guest use is also a great feature.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandmo109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,431 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,049 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Park Lodge Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 347 Grizzly Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a great location close to downtown. Two outdoor sitting areas with views. Books on hiking/touring the area available in the common area, wi-fi as well as a computer and parking. Independent style B&B with private entrance and help yourself breakfast that is provided in the common area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing