We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in excellent downtown Banff location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We arrived in Banff without a booking and were sent here by the Tourist Office. The B&B was in an excellent location, just a few short blocks from the centre of town and hosts Edwina and Kevan were very friendly and helpful. We had a small comfortable queen room with ensuite bathroom and the use of a common sitting room with kitchenette and computer. Breakfast was a help yourself arrangement with coffee, tea, cereal, yoghurt, fruit and toast in the kitchenette. It was a great value option for us in Banff!

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina H, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thanks so much for the lovely comments Suzy - so glad you enjoyed your stay, it was lovely to meet you! Safe travels, Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights. Edwina, the hostess, was very helpful and accommodating. The B & B was very clean and neat and the continental breakfast was a treat considering the price of meals as well as groceries in Banff. The location is also great. We would definitely stay at again and try and book well enough ahead to get the en suite room.

Thank you, Edwina!

Peggy and Cliff

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Time2Tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina H, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Hi Peggy and Cliff - so nice of you to write such a lovely review - appreciate it and hopefully I can welcome you back to the rockies sometimes soon.
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Banff MOUNTAIN VIEW B&B during the 1st week of September 2013. The room was small but clean with a Queen bed, sink and shared bathroom. We decided to stay for 4 days as the house had a nice patio and garden. It also was convenient located close to the centre of town. The “continental breakfast” wasn’t as we expected. It consisted of coffee, tea, bread, butter, choices of 2 cereals and many jams. Fruit basked wasn’t filled daily and on our last day only 3 apples in the fruit basked!! (Maybe it was expected to share those with the other 2 couples?) No trace of cheese, yoghurt, eggs or any other type of bread beside brown. Apparently owner and hostess Edwina also never served any juices during her 11 years of operating. Since friendliness is not the biggest asset of Edwina, it’s no wonder of the absence of a guest book. Receipt for our stay was to be by cash only and no receipt was given.
We definitely would not recommend staying at Banff Mountain View B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwina H, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
I am so pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay in September, it's our most beautiful month in the rockies. I do apologize if the fruit basket was not stocked. I stock it daily but guests help themselves so I will make sure to check it more often in future. With regard to the breakfast offerings - in North America cheeses are not generally offered at breakfast. Eggs are offered in a full breakfast, I offer a continental breakfast which is explained at the time of booking. This is also reflected in my rates as I am one of the most reasonable in Banff. I would have also happily provided a receipt if I was asked. Thanks for your feedback and I wish you all the best in your future travels. Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The location of this place is very good and is only a short stroll to the nearby town centre.

The rooms are clean and we had a decent private bathroom as well. The walls are extremely thin however and the noise from the owners above was very loud which made us worry about whether we would get a good nights sleep. Fortunately this wasnt an issue as it was quiet by the time we went to bed.

The commnual area is quite small and so unlike other B&Bs we pretty much stuck to our room whilst we were there.

The breakfast was very disappointing. Bread provided but no butter, a fruit bowl but only one apple left between two!

During our stay we only saw the owner once which was on our second attempt at check in and so ended up just having to leave the money for our stay in the room. It wasn't like the other B&Bs we stayed at and little local information or guidance on check in were not provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jubbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The place was tidy, but it felt more like a hostel than a welcoming B&B.

The sign stuck on the wall in the kitchen telling everyone to clean up after themselves "because other people have to use these facilities as well" made us feel like we were in a student dorm and the walls were thin, so we could hear conversations from other guests, as well as the host family speaking to each other and stomping around upstairs.

The internet dropping in and out was annoying.

The rooms are small and dark but they were clean.

Breakfast choices are limited, eg there is bread but no butter.

During our vacation we also stayed at another B&B in Banff which was terrific value and very welcoming, so we felt this one was average.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anomaly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This b&b is a nice tidy place that felt homey with a very nice hostess. Although the stay was fine with no particular problems we thought it to be no more than average - breakfast was poor (no yogurts cheeses or egs just bread fruits and cereals - although we have to admit that we don't know what's customery in Canada, having traveled to many other countries we expected something more) and although everything else was very cleen our bed was full of hairs that weren't ours. Compared fo other places in banff it wasn't as expensive so its ok that this was a bit basic cause the overall look was nice, but the hairs made it much less comfortable than expected. Reading other reviews it seems we are the only ones so maybe it was a bit tough luck and not always relevant.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank syvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at Mountain View B&B in august for 3 nights. The bedroom was small but clean, comfortable and quiet. The communal living/kitchen area was great as it gave you space to spread out and relax the use of the free internet was very nice as well. Sharing a bathroom was no problem and taking care of your own breakfast was ok , there where lots of things provides in the kitchen. The location is unbeatable. It is located just a few blocks from the center of downtown Banff, so no need to take the car for trips to town. Very good value for the money and nice hosts

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lindaenpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 34 in Banff
811 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
A Banff Boutique Inn - Pension Tannenhof
0.2 mi away
Blue Mountain Lodge
Blue Mountain Lodge
#18 of 28 in Banff
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocky Mountain B&B
Rocky Mountain B&B
#6 of 28 in Banff
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 347 Grizzly Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range: £60 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a great location close to downtown. Two outdoor sitting areas with views. Books on hiking/touring the area available in the common area, wi-fi as well as a computer and parking. Independent style B&B with private entrance and help yourself breakfast that is provided in the common area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing