We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising little gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banff Beaver Cabins
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed two nights in the Elk Cabin and we only wished we stayed longer. We were hesitant about staying right in the town of Banff, but besides a bit of traffic noise, the cottages were great. Laura has done a wonderful job at making the cottages, clean and cosy. She is a wonderful host always willing to help and to the supply the little extras that make your stay perfect.
We would definitely use these accommodations again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IWC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great location - 1 street away from the shopping and restaurant street. It is a home away from home and the family that runs these groups of cabins are incredible. Fresh breakfast daily, ice tea and ice water and COOKIES all late afternoon. I cannot say enough about Laura and the location.

The five of us stayed in the Cougar Suite. The rooms are so well kept and updated that you would never know the age of the space.

Please stay as you will never get the same experience or reasonable price for a family in a hotel in the Rockies.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Arrived on a very wet afternoon. Laura was very friendly and offered us fresh juices and home-made cookies as we checked in. She pointed out where breakfast would be the following morning and also told us we could use the bbq. She gave us a container of home-made granola and took us to our cabin (Lynx). We fell in love with it straight away, it was delightful, small, cozy and had everything you needed all tucked away (pots, pans, crockery, coffe maker, toaster, microwave and even a 2 ring burner). Laura had even put milk in the fridge. Breakfast consisted of home-made jams, rolls, fresh fruit. Location cannot be beaten, right behind tourist information centre. Very close to trails. Unfortunately we had to leave after 2 nights (should have been 4) because of the floods they had in the area. We will definately be back when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayne-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely place for a week during our trip through the national parks.

Our cabin was petite but absolutely fine for 2-4 people. Perfectly located for access to the town and far enough away to be away from the noise.

The fresh bread, cookies and fruit daily was an added extra that was really appreciated. Our host was knowledgeable friendly and ever ready to help with local information.

I throughly enjoyed my time in Banff and would book again if I ever return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Very clean rooms, excellent location (doesn't get better in banff), freshly made cookies every morning, access to a bbq/gazeebo/picnic table, and extremely welcoming and accommodating owner. This place is ideal for any type of group. My three friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kilibaridi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

What a great location! These quirkily decorated comfortable cabins are kept beautifully clean and are just what you need if you want the authentic Banff experience, not some generic hotel room. The wonderfully hospitable Laura looked after us in The downstairs Cougar Suite which is perfect for 2 couples and we were greeted with freshly baked cookies and juice in the afternoons and fresh rolls, fruits and cereals were all included in the price.
Laura was kind enough to show me over all the cabins and each is different to suit different needs.
Location is central. Highly recommended for authenticity and a homely feel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank meercat05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I have been meaning to write this review for quite some time. My boyfriend and I lived in the Bear Cabin for about 3.5 months between February and May 2012 before having to say goodbye to Banff. Calling Laura and Llyod after seeing their availability ad in the newspaper was the best decision we made during our time in Canada. The perfect location, right near Banff Avenue. We both found great jobs that we could walk to within 5 minutes (great for when there was lots of snow!!!) and we were even closer to where the ski slope buses collected people from. Laura really looked after us and even provided us with use of a vehicle when my parents visited. It was the perfect space for us and it was great to have a warm, cosy cabin to come home to every day. Our trip would not have been nearly as wonderful without the hospitality of Banff Beaver Cabins and I am so grateful for the wonderful memories I have of Banff. Thank you Laura and Llyod. Hopefully we can visit you again one day! Genna and Adam.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Genna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 34 in Banff
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,511 reviews
16.4 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Beaver Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Beaver Cabins

Address: 220 Beaver Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range: £97 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Beaver Cabins a Class B Heritage Site. Six fully furnished cabins and suites with 1 or 2 bedrooms, washrooms, microwave kitchenettes, some with living rooms. One block away from main street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banff Beaver Cabins Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing