We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super location, owner, price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banff Beaver Cabins
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pa.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super location, owner, price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed for three days in the Gopher Suite while hiking in the Canadian Rockies. Very spacious area with kitchen, dining area and two beds (full and twin). Lots of storage space at top of stairs and throughout suite. Owner made delightful rolls and bread + had fresh fruit daily. Shower in suite is small -- anyone over 6'6" could not fit. Decor was a bit dated and lighting was harsh in many rooms. But those are very small points in an otherwise excellent stay. One block walk to Banff Ave. and commercial district. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeyondScrapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    29
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed in the Elk cabin, which was excellent for a couple, (maybe a liitle small for two couples, changing the queen bed to two singles would be ideal for children).
There was enough facilities for us to make something to eat instead of going out every evening, (fridge, microwave, hotplate, toaster, kettle etc).
The cabin was very clean, plenty of blankets, pillows, towels, bathroom and kitchen sundries and plenty of storage space for clothing.
Having the parking space at the rear made it easy to carry things from the car to the cabin, and provided a reliable parking area especially when Banff was very busy.
Walking about 60 metres out of the front gate and through the facing car park brought you onto Banff Ave. There are two supermarkets one in Bear street and another in Elk street.
A coin operated laundry can be found in Wolf street (4$ for 25min wash and 25 cents for 3mins tumble dry).
After a day's walking try the upper springs for a relaxing soak in the hot baths, costumes and towels can be hired, too busy when schools are out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The location can't be beat. Everything within the town center is close enough to walk. Breakfast was wonderful. Miss the fresh buns, and bread. The owner was very helpful, and was a big help with a local issue even allowing us to use her phone. Felt like home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D24684K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

The location is great..half a block from the main drag. Lauren was very friendly and helpful and we loved the cookies in the afternoon, the homemade buns in the morning and home-made granola provided. The Beaver cottage was cozy and comfortable and we loved having a kitchenette. It was nice to have parking right outside our door since we always carry too much stuff to haul in and out. Considering how expensive Banff is, this is a good value. Highly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sswksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Banff Beaver Cabins are just a block off Banff Ave, and everything was in easy walking distance. It was nice to have a place to park our car and then just walk around beautiful Banff. I appreciate the history behind the cabins as one of the earliest tourist accommodations in the area. We made our reservations just 3 months in advance, so the only cabin left was the Gopher. This was the basement apartment of one of the buildings. It was very clean and comfortable, but I would have preferred one of the upstairs lodgings. WIFI down there was very touch and go, and I had to sit outside (with the hungry mosquitos) if I wanted to use my phone. The beds were a double and single, so the Gopher would work best for people who didn't want to share the same bed. Laura, our host, was very helpful, and seemed to be always available. We would most definitely stay at Banff Beaver Cabins again, but I would prefer to be in another unit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieM505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was great value for money for Banff. The owner was very welcoming, and provided some nice touches such as freshly cooked buns and cookies, home made granola and a fruit bowl. It had a separate kitchen with fridge and microwave, a comfortable bed, TV and wifi. And there were BBQs available for the guests and plenty of outside seating. The location was great for access to "downtown" Banff.
We were in the Gopher cabin, essentially the basement of another cabin. It was great in that it was cool (Banff was very warm at the time) but had the disadvantage in that there was a loud noise every time the toilet was flushed upstairs. We really enjoyed this property and would probably have rated it 5 balls if we had been in another cabin.

Room Tip: Would not recommend the Gopher if you sleep lightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GentlemanAuditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurahollihan, Owner at Banff Beaver Cabins, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
If there is a problem with somthing in any cabin. We will fix it right away. We have changed the valve on the toilet. There is no noise now.
Thanks Lloyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oeselgem
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have stayed three nights in the fox cabin which was smaal but just big enough for our family of 5 .
Welcoming by laura was warm and adequate.
Breakfast is limited but we appreciated the fresh homemade bread ( best we had in canada for over 3 weeks) the jams and the fruit every morning and the juice in the afternoon.
Location is perfect next to the main street of banff but quiet and far away of the crowds.
Barbecue available .
Comparing prices in banff affordable accomodation .
Banff national park is stunning.
Would recommand the cabins without hesitation

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariodekeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Beaver Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Beaver Cabins

Property: Banff Beaver Cabins
Address: 220 Beaver Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Beaver Cabins a Class B Heritage Site. Seven fully furnished cabins and suites with 1 or 2 bedrooms, washrooms, microwave kitchenettes, some with living rooms. One block away from main street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banff Beaver Cabins Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing