We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities - but noisy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banff Beaver Cabins
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed in Bear Cabin for three nights, and our only gripe was the noise from passing freight trains. It wasn't enough to wake my partner up, but I'm a light sleeper and it did bother me. The cabin itself was good though - a double and a single bed, a little well-equipped kitchenette with microwave (no oven) (if you're a light sleeper the noise of the fridge turning on and off might also bother you, but it's no worse than other fridges!), and a perfectly good bathroom with shower. The owner is lovely - really friendly and helpful with advice on walks and activities, and she provides free home-baked cookies and iced tea every afternoon, and home-made granola, fruit and rolls in the mornings. The cabins are arranged round central off-road parking (REALLY useful in this crowded town!), so it's quite nice and friendly. There are BBQ facilities which guests are welcome to use.

The location is also great - really central in Banff, and an easy walk to the tourist info, restaurants, shops, bars, etc. There are also some nice walks you can do from the site, and others which are an easy drive. Banff is small enough that you're out on the highway quickly enough.

We'd recommend Melissa's for brunchy type food. There's a Safeway supermarket about five minutes' walk away, and a good food court in one of the shopping centres.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scootyscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2010

This was our first stop on a road trip from Calgary to Sicamous, spending a couple of nights in Banff. We were booked into the smallest cabin....and this is REALLY small....but we loved it. A massive comfy bed and a warm room with basic facilities - TV, kettle, dishes - everything you need, just on a smaller scale. The place is so charming and the hosts were very welcoming - you really can't beat coming home from a long walk to a fresh batch of cookies on your garden table! The hostess (ashamed that we now can't remember her name) was very accommodating ensuring that we had milk and granola in the cabin for breakfast and gave good advice on where to go and what to see - she was a gem. Cabin size-wise (although we didn't see inside the larger cabins) this is not the sort of place you would cook yourselves a meal, but Safeway is close to make yourself a pack-up and why would you need to cook with an amazing array of restaurants and pubs on your doorstep?!! We found - as we found elsewhere in Canada - that its not that much more expensive to dine out than buy everything yourself. Walking distance to the sights in the Banff area. I would go back to this place tomorrow.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We stayed here for couple days and were satisfied. Cabins are not located at the centre of town so it´s very quiet there. We had 1 doublebed room in the basement of the cabin, because it was kind of "last minute arrangement", but we really didin´t heard anything from upstairs room. Our room wasn´t very big but was reasonably comfortable and there was also little kitchen with a microwave and a fridge - that was fine, u can store your breakfast stuff there and don´t need to waste your time having breakfast in restaurants. Our bed was comfortable and bathroom clean. I would definitely recommend it to anybody who doesn ´t need a 5 star hotel...

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here. The place was immaculate and very quiet. The owners were very pleasant and helpful and obviously took great care of the cabins and grounds.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewJerseyTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We have used B&Bs throughout Canada, but these "cabins" weren't for us. Although the location was very central, these cabins did not have the same appeal (no living room, no real kitchen facilities etc) as B&Bs. For the price we paid, we didn't think it was great value either.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PamT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurahollihan, Owner at Banff Beaver Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2010

Each of our cabins very in sizes and have microwave kitchenette with single burners. The Lynx cabin is our smallest cabin with a queen size bed and small kitchenette with a washroom all in a room that is 15 feet by 10 feet. Pricing is average to the season and per year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

What a treat The Canadian Rockies are and what a superb delight that we booked the Banff Beaver Cabins. The location, complete with a place to squirrel your hire car, is just a stones thrown from all the shops, restaurants and bars in the town centre. As we intended to spend four days in there and do some hiking, it was great that many of the trails were in easy distance of the cabins. We never got the car out once - although it was a fair stride to the Gondola.

The Bear cabin we stayed in was very clean, charmingly furnished and the kitchen stocked with fruit, milk and the most delicious homemade granola. Every day, we were able to provided with freshly baked sweet rolls and a plate of home made cookies. Our landlady was always very friendly and helpful.

We left Banff heading for Jasper and I would highly recommend that you check out the Beaver cabins if you are passing this way in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrB008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We stayed in Banff in August of 2008, we stayed in one of the bigger cabins, and it was really lovely, spotlessly clean, and very quaint. The owners are really lovely helpful people, they are very welcoming, and kind.

There is off street parking, and its really quiet at night, but the main street of Banff is only 2 minutes walk away.

Its absolutely perfect for a short stay, we loved the cabins, and hope to return again some day, to Banff , and indeed Canada.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shennin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 34 in Banff
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,511 reviews
16.4 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Beaver Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Beaver Cabins

Address: 220 Beaver Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range: £97 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Beaver Cabins a Class B Heritage Site. Six fully furnished cabins and suites with 1 or 2 bedrooms, washrooms, microwave kitchenettes, some with living rooms. One block away from main street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Banff Beaver Cabins Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing