We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tan - Y - Bryn B&B

Tan - Y - Bryn B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tan - Y - Bryn B&B
Ranked #18 of 28 Banff B&B and Inns
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

If your not looking for much but a place to stay and lay your head down then this is it. Great value compared to everything else in Banff. The room was cozy and comfortable but a little crowded with the table and chairs where you eat a nice breakfast. The restrooms/showers being down the hall was never a problem. The location is great with a quick walk to the main street. The owner was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Octoberfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I spent some days in Canada and I love their b&b, but this one was absolutely the worst because of the very snob owner and the condition of house. I didn't sleep all night because of noisy of the old fridge and air system that worked all night. The room was little and datated, but clean. There wasn't a breakfast room so I must had it in room! Allover the b&b was clean and cheap but I found better b&b at the same cost and in similar location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew85tuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

While other B&B's have been more luxurious, this was was fairly decent for the price. The rooms were clean, the host was nice, and the breakfast was okay (croissant, tea, jam). Whiles the bathrooms are shared, they were clean. The location is very good (few minutes from the main street). Definitely worth staying at if looking for good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

The B&B is located quite close to the main town area - about 5 mins walk. The room is fairly small but sufficient for the budget conscious traveller - smallish queen bed, no TV or microwave, just a fridge. Breakfast is satisfactory and the hostess is very warm. The shared toilets are not such a big issue as there are two of them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelExotica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Tan y bryn is an awesome value option in expensive Banff. We stayed for three nights and our total bill was less than the nightly rate for most hotels. It is well located off the main street, close enough to walk, but far enough away to be nice and quiet. Mrs Cowan, the proprietor has been running the b and b for decades. As a result, the service is good, although the decor in the rooms could really do with an update. The biggest turn off for most would be the shared bathroom, but for the price you can't complain. In addition all rooms were very clean, there was easy car parking and the breakfast was good

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodger1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed for three nights at the end of July 2011. This was a terrific value. We paid 83.39 CAD a night for room 6 with two full beds. We shared two bathrooms with another room on the same floor. It was only the two of us but the the only other room available had two twin beds. The wood paneling was dated and the bed was honestly not as comfortable as a nice hotel bed, but the savings were definitely worth it. Each morning Mrs. Cowan served us our choice juice along with tea or coffee as well as a croissant and buttered toast with preserves. My wife was a big fan of the toast. It is necessary to make a reservation via email and send a deposit for the first night but these are minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaseyGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed in Banff for 3 days (too short!). The owner of Tan-Y-Bryn, Mrs Cowan, is lovely, talkative and open. I stayed in the double bed with my own bathroom. It was cosy, comfortable and best of all, conveniently located a few blocks from the main st, Banff Avenue. It was quite good value, considering the ridiculous prices of Banff.
The breakfasts are quite yum and Mrs Cowan goes out of her way to make sure it is according to your liking.
I hope to go back to Banff in the future, and I would definitely stay with Tan-Y-Bryn again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkymoochoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#9 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan - Y - Bryn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan - Y - Bryn B&B

Property: Tan - Y - Bryn B&B
Address: 118 Otter St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing