We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buffalo Mountain Lodge - great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Buffalo Mountain Lodge - great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for 3 nights. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable with a lovely log fire which was set for us every day.
We had breakfast each morning. On the days there was a buffet there was a wide choice of food and eggs were cooked specially for us. The scenery was fabulous and a deer came wandering outside the dining room window one morning while we were eating. Altogether a super experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    425
    225
    110
    61
See reviews for
304
721
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The setting of the hotel is fantastic with great views out to the mountains. Also benefited from being out of town so was really peaceful. But was still easy to get into town as the bus stop was just on the main road across from the hotel so eating in town in the evenings was really easy and avoided the steep walk uphill! Staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, especially in the restaurant. We had dinner one night at the hotel which was excellent and the breakfasts were also fantastic but be warned - the portions are huge! Rooms were spacious with real log fires but just a bit on the dark side inside. Benefited from being able to park your car just outside your room as well. Overall a lovely place in a great setting with great staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestMidlandsSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your entire experience with us including the overnight accommodations. All of our guest rooms on site do have fireplaces which contribute to the rocky mountain lodging experience we offer at the lodge. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottm
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights.
The first room we stayed in was on the first floor next to the boiler room. After a night of disturbed sleep we asked to change room to somewhere quieter.
This was completed without fuss and we enjoyed our last two nights stay.
The hot tub was the hottest we've ever been in.
The restaurant was slightly pricey but the food was of a high standard.
The breakfast buffet was fair value and again high standard.
The hotel location is too far to walk into town for evening dining - so we used our car. However the out of centre location means that it is very peaceful at night.
The hotel also has a free computer for guest use which I was able to use to back up my photos.
Would we stay here again - yes -without question

Room Tip: Avoid room next to boiler room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davrob_nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Englan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed the experience. Our room was on the ground floor so I was a bit disappointed not to have a balcony but we could sit out and look to the mountains so it didn't really matter. We saw deer in the woods opposite. Room had a real fire, which we didn't light but could imagine it would be very cosy on a cold evening. The bathroom was huge with lovely bath and seperate shower. Unlike most rooms we had on our canadian trip there wasn't a fridge/kitchenette but I saw that as a bonus. Can't understand why people want fridges (noise) and cooking facilties (smell) in their bedroom. Our room was in the furthest section from the restaurant/reception but it was a short walk - although it was down some steps which may be a problem to some people. Breakfast in the hotel was very good quality and it was nice to sit looking out to the mountains while planning your day. We liked the location but it would be a 20 min walk down a reasonably steep hill to get to central Banff. We drove into Banff in the evenings but there was a bus that stopped right outside the hotel and quite a few other guests used taxis. We were there over a weekend and parking was limited, there wasn't a spot for each room, we had to park on the road when we got back from a night out in Banff. Again we didn't see that as a problem but I can see that some people would find that annoying.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitst0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We spent a very enjoyable week at BML so that we could explore the Banff area. On arrival we inspected the allocated room and decided to request an upgrade to a bigger room with a balcony. This proved to be a great idea as we were allocated a room which looked out to the woods in one direction and over the other rooms to the mountains in the other. The king size bed was very comfortable, the room a little dark but very warm (a bit too warm at times even though I turned the heating down), and the bathroom was very spacious with a separate claw foot bath. There was a sitting area with TV for those few times we were not out of the room.
The wifi connection was OK and free. The room lacked a fridge and facilities for preparing food, which was a consideration when staying for a week in one place. The Lodge is a fair walk from the town of Banff up a hill. It is probably better if you are either very fit, accustomed to altitude or have a car. We found it much more enjoyable on the days we hired a car.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayjay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

My partner and I stayed in The Buffalo Mountain Lodge at the end of a 3 week trip of a lifetime to Canada, we made Banff our last stop as this was what we were most looking forward to. We chose this hotel as we wanted a true rocky mountain experience, rather than opting for your normal hotel we wanted the 'lodge' experience. The hotel is about a 10 min walk from the town of Banff, set on the base of a mountain, there are trees and forest around the side and back of the hotel. On arrival we went to the reception building, all the buildings are made and furnished with real wood decor, a huge open fireplace and antlers on the wall above. We arrived about 11am and new we may not be able to check in, we were right, we were told it would be 2 hours, she gave us a map and suggested we walk into town. We arrived back later and our room was ready, we chose a premier room, we were lucky to be given a first floor room which had a balcony with rustic wooden furniture, we had a great view of another mountain. We were not disappointed with the room, I did a lot of research before hand (as always) so knew what to expect. You have an entrance hall with space to leave your luggage, coat hooks and a small wardrobe. The room is a good size, very clean, a huge king size bed, very comfortable! A TV unit with some additional drawer space and seating infront of a real open fireplace. The bathroom was gorgeous, very large, heated floor, crawfoot bath and shower cubicle. We stayed here for 6 nights, we were more than satisfied with the hotel. We saw ground squirrels all the time around the hotel and one day a dear wandered through. We never ate at the hotel, we always ate in town, and we never used the hottub.
My only negatives about staying here was there was no kettle to make tea, just a coffee machine and you could here the train every night, but I am a light sleeper. Also it was quite a dark room as there was only a door and 3 small windows, also the trees outside didn't help.
But I would definately go back. There are plenty of regular hotels in the town, but if your looking for a proper taste of the rocky mountains, lodge room with real open fire than this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauler1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Nice hotel which has lodge type cabins around the woods. Great views of the mountains and wildlife.

The rooms were medium sized with a nice open fire in the corner. This was great as the temperatures dropped at night.

Nice comfy beds but the tv was in an awkward place, you could only see it from the beds and not from the chairs in the room.

Free wifi throughout the hotel and rooms and again free parking. Good central location and was only a km or so from town. Staff were very helpfull and friendly too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colins5286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Property: Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing