We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a nice vacation in Banff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always a nice vacation in Banff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge over Christmas in a King Suite, pet friendly. I still think the rooms are in good shape, after years of use. Having a fireplace in the room is fantastic, the kitchen amenities were great to have. The decor is still 'mountain chic' - slate and stone. Beautiful quiet setting just outside the town.

We have vacationed here before, and it still is as enjoyable. This time we purchased the dinner and breakfast package at the Sleeping Buffalo. I will have to say the meals (especially Christmas dinner) were amazing. Superb food.

It was nice that the lodge had Christmas eve reception, with stories for the kids and Santa.

Will be back again. Nice also that they don't overcharge for pets in the room. $25 a day, which wasn't a big hit to a 2 day stay.

Room Tip: They do have some pet friendly rooms; call in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    425
    225
    111
    61
See reviews for
304
721
23
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

We have stayed here twice now in the last six months, experience was the same as last time. The staff are too young and inexperienced to care about their jobs, a common experience among Banff staff (most are snowboarders from Australia!). Brunch was a buffet and I've had better service at the 7-Eleven. Why do these places think they're a 5-star resort just because they charge more? Banff Springs would be cheaper and top notch service. Not going back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

This CRMR property is in definite need of a physical upgrade and re-inspired staff. Just for point of reference I've stayed at several of the CRMR properties in Banff, Lake Louise and Field over a period of 15 years. I've come with a certain expectation of staying at the properties so my review will be a little harsh.

The rooms are getting very old and the physical structure of the cabins are showing signs of age. To say we could hear the people walking in the room above us is an understatement. We could tell when new people arrived simply by the difference in their foot falls. Although everything in the room worked, you notice things like a 1 way bulb in a 3 way socket. There was a plastic pan provided for muddy shoes in the closet space by the door, but it was dirtier than any pair of boots I've ever owned (it would take about 2 minutes to clean it). Rooms could also use refrigerators and better coffee makers.

The staff seems very uninspired. When we arrived we were not asked if we needed any assistance. The 1 time we went to the lounge for a drink (in the early evening) after a 10 minute wait I had to hunt down a manager to find out "if there was service being provided in the lounge that evening."

The internet wireless is of such marginal quality to be virtually worthless. I had 3 systems (Dell computer, iPad and iPhone) with me, none of which could connect reliably with the wireless system, so doubt it was my system at fault.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed at the Buffalo Mountain Lodge Dec 20th, 2012. It sure was cold outside, -20c on average. We had two Premier Rooms. Very quiet location, rustic, traditional, nice rooms.
Wood burrning fireplaces - different and traditional, but not very effective. As we knew the wood would not burn all night, we set the two thermostats to +23c. Woke up the next morning absolutely freezing. Obviously the thermostats do not work. Same in both rooms so not a one-off. Also not many matches in our rooms to light the fireplace!
Not enough coffee in the room, no cream either. They knew how many occupants in each room, but not enough glasses or mugs.
So nice hotel, nice location, poor heating, other little things failed.
By the way, I am a travel agent so always look at hotels to see if I would recommend to my clients - the Buffalo Mountain Lodge I would only recommend during the summer (in Alberta, July and August!). Felt the rates vere very high for what we got.

Room Tip: Views from upper floor rooms in the 1100 range are very impressive - however as our stay was during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed in one of the premium suites at the lodge over the Christmas holidays. We enjoyed everything about our stay and would recommend to anyone wanting a get-a-way in the mountains. The lodge and buildings built out of stone and timbers fit right into the picturesque surroundings and is located just a few minutes outside the town of Banff where it is quiet and peaceful.

The room itself was very nice and had a large bathroom. Our room came with in-floor heating, wood burning fireplace, and a large claw style tub. We stayed on the second floor and the balcony faced the woods. The views were stunning from either the front landing or the rear balcony. Firewood is well stocked just outside the rooms and burned extremely well in the fireplace - perfect for those that don't normally have fireplaces. The room itself was not overly large but was quite fine for the two of us and spent alot of time touring anyway. The chairs in front of the fireplace made it more cozy especially as the temp outside was freezing and just wanted to stay inside in the evening. The bed was comfortable and didn't have trouble sleeping. I would suggest that they install a small fridge as we kept some things outside to keep them cold. We only used the dining room for Christmas dinner which was excellent, but they do serve breakfast and other meals. They also have a lounge.

This was our first stay at the Lodge and would recommend it to others. We definately plan on going back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your Christmas stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the overnight accomodations in our upgraded Premier rooms. We do apologize that you did not get a mini fridge and had to utilize the balcony to keep your items cold. Mini fridges are available upon request from the front desk upon arrival. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Take care and warm regards,
General Manager
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

1- The website shows vaulted ceiling suites, so that is what I expected. Instead, the "pine ceiling" was on the main floor and unimpressive. (?!)
2- When I asked about the noise of people walking above, the response was "just have a glass of wine and have the fire going and you should be fine". (?!)
3- The reservation was for 3 people. The suite provided 2 robes and 2 coffee mugs. When the extra cup got delivered, it had a coffee stained saucer. (?!)
4- The internet didn't work, despite trying various network connections. (?!)
A truly disappointing experience, especially after all the advertisement friends did for this place.
Not planning to spend any more here - going for brunch and booking second night elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivanaZelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We had a wonderful stay here for a weekend in December 2012. Our room was a second floor unit with heated floors and claw bathtub in the bathroom. The wood burning fireplace was gorgeous and very relaxing. There are big chairs in front of the fireplace to make very comfortable seating while you stare into the fire. The food was just okay - nothing special. It was a good on-site restaurant but other better dining options are available in the town but you need a car to get there as it is a long walk especially in the winter. I would highly recommend the hotel and we will definitely be returning for another visit.

Room Tip: We had a premier room which had a huge bathroom and was on the second level with beautiful views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romanaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Property: Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing