We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Good well maintained accommodation in a pretty part of Banff although it is a 2 km uphill walk from downtown Banff so a car or a taxi ride is preferable. The log fire made the cabin very attractive and homely; we only ate breakfast at Buffalo Mountain which was excellent and served by helpful knowledgeable staff. I will use this resort again when next in Banff. One downside however is lack of parking space, each block contains 8 rooms with space for 4 cars, on 2 out of 3 nights we were unable to park by our cabin, also the furniture made of branches is a little tired.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    436
    229
    114
    62
See reviews for
313
738
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

What a great first hotel in Canada. Exactly as expected in the wilds of Alberta, a real wooden lodge surrounded by pine trees and hills and silence, but with all mod cons as required for a very comfortable stay. The rooms were large, the bed even larger and it was really comfortable to sleep off the long plane journey from the UK. The staff were very helpful and attentive to 2 very jet lagged tourists, and the breakfasts good quality and big enough to set you up for the day (try the buffet). The location is great for touring the surrounding areas by car, but it's a long trek uphill if you wanted to walk from the centre of Banff (our only slight negative).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lodge and the beautiful scenery and wildlife that surround us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

First, the great aspects: good service, nice main lodge, outdoor hot tub, located up on Tunnel mountain so you can hike from your front door, nice, big rooms, and the biggest plus - the in-room fireplaces. The not-so-great: the walls were paper thin (at least in the room that I had, I was shocked), and the hotel was full the weekend I stayed and parking was a bit of a pain as there don't appear to be as many parking spaces as rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloudbreaker39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Just got back from the final 3 nights of our tour around the Rockies. The BML was a great way to finish our stay. We stayed in room 811, which was cozy with a queen bed and an open log fire which we used on 2 of our 3 nights (more for entertainment than heat). Our room was well looked after, with plenty of space, I agree with previous reviewers that you could hear next doors shower running in the morning.
Walk into Banff is 15mins and it is up hill on the way back, but there are street lights and it feels safe.
We only had dinner at the lodge on our final night but it was excellent. Both service and food were great, especially the ribeye steak! A little pricey but definitely worth it.
We hope to be back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our overnight accommodations and took advantage of dining in the restaurant. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We are surprised at the negative reviews for Buffalo Mountain Lodge as we loved our stay here. We had a great sized room with a wonderful fire place, readily laid for us to light, which we did and made toast the old fashioned way, scrummy! Everywhere was clean and we had everything we needed. BML is situated on Tunnel Mountain surrounded by wonderful scenery and is only minutes away from Banff and many local hiking trails.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rav4England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We received an upgrade for a small charge. The room (1005) was a good size with two queen beds, a real fireplace(!) and very luxurious bathroom (separate bath and shower).

You need to drive or take the bus into town as the hotel is outside the main town centre, but it's only 5 mins by car. We ate in the restaurant in the first night, whilst a little pricey, the quality and choice was very good.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel. Not cheap, but if you want something special in Banff then this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petermgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Very noisy room. Thin walls and thinner plumbing. Could not have a conversation when the next room was showering or flushing. Our room had a fireplace, but it was unusable as it drafted smoke inside even with the flue open fully. Toilet and bath were heavily crusted with brown matter around the bases (room 702).

Although the restaurant was quite expensive, the service was terribly slow and the food over salted and cold. With many empty tables, the staff made us wait at the entrance for 15 minutes before seating. It is terribly frustrating waiting at the door watching six tables sit empty and 4 staff stand and talk without even acknowledging you are there.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for providing us with your comments in regards to your experience at Buffalo Mountain Lodge. We do take any experience such as this seriously, and your comments are important to us. Please feel free contact me directly if you would like to speak about any of the above issues.
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Manager bmlmanager@crmr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Property: Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing