We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the long walk”
Review of Shadow Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadow Lake Lodge
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is an special place and not for everyone. You need to walk during an relatively easy trail during nearly 15 km from the parking lot. Considering that you need to bring your stuff, this can be tough.
However, once you are there, it is really fantastic.
Real isolation with moderately comfort (no toilets in the cabins).
The service excellent. The food good and varied.
The location and the hikes around beautiful.
I am really looking forward to visit again in winter!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exigente_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Shadow Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wish we could give 6 stars! If you're looking for a fantastic and unique way to experience Banff - Shadow Lake is the place. We stayed 3 nights which felt like the right length of time, we were able to cover most of the recommended hikes all of which were unquiely beautiful. If you're a decently strong hiker, take the extra time to make it up Whistling Pass, the hike is an experience in itself and you'll be rewarded with the best views in the area. We would also definitely recommend the scramble up to the Copper Mountain summit for stronger hikers - views are stunning. Our cabin was homey and well kept. The staff was excellent and very freindly, helping with everything from daily services to recommending hikes that you couldn't find on any map. They seek every way to make you feel comfortable and at home. I had a recent knee injury and was feeling pretty sore after the first day. I asked the staff for an ice pack and when they didn't have one, without additional request, they brought up 2 new ice packs on the next shipment (carried by horse). It's that extra service touch that made our experience amazing. 

You'll never go hungry at Shadow Lake. The food was just the delicious homemade meal that you're looking for at the end of a hard but enjoyable day of hiking. The communal meals were a lot of fun, we met some wonderful and interesting people from all over the world. Special thanks to the local Calgary couple who left us hiking recommendations for the rest if our Banff / Yoho stay after Shadow Lake.  

Overall - Shadow Lake exceeded expectations - worth every penny. 

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JenHen_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Alison and her team deliver an exemplary experience. Amazing food, build your own packed lunches and great hiking advice. Hot showers, comfortable beds with duvets and torches (flashlights) as it's really dark after sundown and a comfy lounge with a real fire. I can't recommend Shadow Lake Lodge highly enough, a really excellent, old fashioned, approach to great service!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank PhatTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Shadow Lake Lodge for two nights in early July. We can't say enough about our experience- from the fantastic *and unexpected* gourmet meals to the spotless cabins to the drop dead gorgeous scenery, everything was nearly perfect. Allison and her croo were also a delight to interact with.

I would definitely recommend renting mountain bikes in Banff as it cuts a few hours off the hiking time in (even with walking the bikes up the steep hills.) We used Bactrax rentals and we're quite happy with the service and quality of the bikes.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank SpecnerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Truly an amazing experience; our best vacation ever! Its in the middle of God's country. Hikes were spectacular. Home style experience with food that was out of this world! Highly recommend it! We met some amazing people while we were there from all over the world.

It really is special place because of the inspiration of one man. It is worth hearing the stories and seeing the pictures of how the Lodge came to be and how they maintain it.

HIKE IN-We planned on riding our bikes in but decided not to because it was suppose to rain. While it didn't rain on us we were very glad we didn't ride. The terrain was much more steep than we expected. Unless you're a really experience rider and can carry a pack in; don't ride, hike in.

The hike in was beautiful and it took us 4.5 hours with a few breaks to get into the lodge on the Red earth trail. We are in fairly good shape. The last mile is very steep and our packs got heavy towards the end. BUT it was worth the effort. The view is spectacular!

CABINS are nice with fantastic views of the mountains and meadow. Bathrooms very clean considering they are modern-day outhouses. Shower is fantastic; hot water and clean.

FOOD is very yummy and lots of it. Food for all kinds of needs and tastes. If you think you might lose weight from all the hiking, you won't because they feed you so well!

HIKES were all different. We stayed 3 nights and I'm glad we did as we got to do 2 4-6 hour different hikes. We got to see beautiful meadows, water falls, Shadow Lake and snow in the higher elevations. We heard and saw lots of avalanches as the snow and glaciers were melting while we were there. We saw meadows of avalanche flowers and my husband even took a quick swim in the lake. Brrrrr!

RECOMMENDATIONS- Stay at least 3 nights, bring lots of bug spray and hike in unless you're a really an experienced mountain biker.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longville1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hiked into Shadow Lake a Lodge last summer four 4 nights. What a treat!

Beautiful cabin, wonderful day hikes and the food was outstanding. Each dinner was an event with multiple courses and great conversation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendyj0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great accomodation great food and service in a fantastic location

Would recomend it for people who want to get into the back country but have some luxuary

We did it in the winter but would like to do a summer trip also

Loved it

Room Tip: Get Pilot if you can its right next to all the amenities
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nervanabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
16.4 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
17.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,075 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Sunshine Mountain Lodge
16.7 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
20.9 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Lake Lodge

Address: Box 2606, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range: £114 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shadow Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the high alpine meadows of Banff National Park, Brewster's Shadow Lake Lodge is a remote back country lodge with private cabins, accessible only by hiking, cross country skiing or snowshoeing. Included in the rate are three mountain gourmet meals as well as afternoon tea served to you daily in our dining lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Lake Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing