We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground
Nearby Hotels
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rundlestone Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
US$488
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$462
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Elk + Avenue Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tunnel Mountain Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
54
87
17
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
87
17
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat campgroundfire pitparks canadatunnel mountainwashroom facilitieslarge campgroundhot waterhighly recommend this campgroundfood lockerswashing dishesfree firewoodnon servicedtent pegsparks staffclean sitesloud neighborscamping experience
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

First of all the washrooms were disgusting and were not cleaned the whole time we were there, 3 days. The showers are free but so disgusting I would have never gone in them.
You can only run your generator for 1.5 hours; although a $300,000 motor home came in and ran their generators all night long.
You are not allowed campfires after 11 PM.
Cheap way to stay at Banff but prefer real camping.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelizinMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our RV trip travelling from Calgary to Vancouver and this place is the first thing I now think of when I think back to the beauty of the Rockies.

Upon check in the friendly staff gave us a "room with a view". We couldn't have got a more breath taking view. No review can do it justice.

The facilities are well maintained and their locations have been well planned.

The staff were amongst the friendliest and helpful we met during our time in Canada.

We were so happy with this site and Banff in general we had to stay for a second night.

Value wise it is spot on, one of the cheapest sites that we stayed in. Approximately $35 a night. Well worth it.

Truely fell in love with the beauty of this place, the perfect RV site.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deano_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our first time camping and we enjoyed most of our stay. In terms of feeling like we were camping in the middle of the forest we got that, even though this is a large campground, it's organized in a way that you can't really tell that there are lots of other campers around you.

We camped at site J41 - so was on the far outer edge. We only walked about 50m and saw some deer :) The bathrooms were very clean and did not smell. There was no fire pit - not sure which sites had fire pits but they did exist as fires were only allowed in certain areas.

I was a little shocked that I could hear the hwy traffic late at night...but noise does travel. It's extremely close to downtown Banff which is what we wanted.

Room Tip: I liked being on the outer edge of the loop as we were facing right into the forest with no other campers in front of us.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank banany36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed in Village Mtn 1 campground in a small motorhome. The campground was fine and met all expectations. What Im going to do is compare the area campgrounds for people traveling in small RVs (24foot) in order to help them choose what campground will work the best for them. This campground does not have hookups. It does feel like more of a typical campground that has individual pull throughs or back in driveways. The spacing between campsites is good and I dont think it feels overcrowded. To me, not having a hookup is not a big deal. The other campgrounds in the Tunnel mtn area do have hookups but the "campground" feeling is lost in my opinion. In order to have a hookup you will need to be OK with parking your RV along a paved or rock road that has a picnic table and a electrical hookup every 100 feet or so. There will be rows and rows of similar RVs very close to you. I enjoy as much privacy as possible so Im glad I chose Village 1. There is bus service that runs from the Trailer camp to town which is very easy to use. There is no bus service from Tunnel Mtn 1. We road our bikes to the bus stop at the Trailer Campground which was about a 5 minute ride or 20 minute walk. I would recommend using the bus if possible to get to and around town. I hope this helps, have fun!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
9  Thank hrdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We travelled with two small children and a 25 ft RV. We had a fairly private space, a lot of space and trees. Elk roam around the camping.
Compared to Village 2 this camping offers beter sites.
Although it has a lot of sites, it doesn't feel like a massive place (as Village 2 and Trailer do)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 926Vincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews