We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend camping out with some friends and had a great time.paid for a fire permit and it's well worth it,endless fire wood.Nothing like cooking over a fire.Bathrooms were very clean and well looked after.Camp site across from us didn't follow basic camping rules and campground staff were quick and professional about addressing the problem.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank esk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    66
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
44
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Tunnel mountain village 1, village 2 and the trailer park is a great campground site which accommodates pretty much every one.The sites include full service sites in the trailer park , tenting sites, both walk in and drive in, sites with or without fire pits for tents and trailers.If you book a site with a fire pit , you pay a fee regardless, whether you have a fire or not, which is fine.Who wants to be a fire pit policeman.. Nonsense... If you don't want a fire , book a site without a pit.
Best sites in village 1 , where we stayed are like all have mentioned...the outer sites in the loop.
Bathrooms as clean as can be expected with all the people using them, if people treat them like there own , it's all good....shower controls are a little odd...all in all a great place , great views..reasonable price...well located

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Reserved an outer plot for two nights after reading a review on here and I was not disappointed! Amazing scenery, ample toilets and showers which were clean enough! Seen quite a few deer (at least that's what I think they were) walking through the site.

The only downside was there is a train track close by and extremely long trains go through at all hours of the night beeping their very loud horns. It woke me up every time (at least 4 times per night) but I am a light sleeper, my boyfriend only woke up a couple of times. It would not stop me from staying here again although for those of you that think you will be affected by the noise then ear plugs would be a good investment

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RACHAEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
253 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

If you are able to request a site, be sure to ask for an outer ring spot, facing the woods, which are down the hill and across the street. When we woke up in the morning and stood in the campsite, we could see Mt. Randle on one side and mountain peaks when we turned the other way. Beautiful and does take your breath away.

We were here in late September and watched elk on the road below. Since it was mating season, the bull elk was quite testy. One bashed a car which had decided not to stop and wait for the elk to cross the road.

Room Tip: Sites on the outer ring have great views and fewer other campers around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank 5nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights this summer! It was so peaceful and relaxing. The campsite was spacious and clean. The bathrooms and showers where very clean. Lots of trees and good views of the mountains. There are many things to do within a short distance. The park theater put on an excellent show one night. We had so much fun! We will defiantly camp here again and recommend it to family and friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jihlava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This campsites doesnt offer any services for RV´s, only a camp place.The campsites is really spacious, some of the places are far avay from each other. Campsites is in a forest, it is nice and very quiet place to stay.
Toilets and bathroom are in very good conditions and are free for use.
As you are in National park you have to pay the fire permit which is as I remember $8.8 per day! In this price is also the fire wood in any quantity included.
You can also see a lot of wildlife in the camt and around it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a very nice experience in this campground. It's a few kilometres out of town, just opposite the Hoodoo's parking. You can visit the Hoodoo's by walking out of the campground. The place is huge, but you still get a lot of privacy. The bathrooms are really nice, have flushed toilets and pretty warm showers.
The reception staff is really friendly and very helpful. You can see wildlife in the campsite, we saw deer, elk, coyote's and squirrels.
I would definitely recommend this campground when visiting Banff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oysterpocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground

Property: Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground
Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road | 8km from Banff Townsite, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Number of rooms: 618

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing