We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mountain camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground
Ranked #6 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain camping”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We camp here at least twice a year. Lately we have been asking for the K loop as the bathrooms are the nicest. However, we made the mistake of camping right beside the bathroom and late into the night we had to suffer through constant door opening and the sound of the high speed hand dryer- ughhhh
There is a fee for a campfire and if you don't request the fire, you are placed in a site without a fire pit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SisterK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    66
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grangeville, Idaho
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

While traveling through Banff with family recently, we spent one night camping at the Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground. We found this to be a great place to camp. There were enough other campers around to feel a some sense of safety in bear country, yet the camp sites were far enough apart between campsites to allow a bit of room to breath. While camping in a well manicured campground is nice, I found camping here beneath the trees in a more natural setting was wonderful. My only regret is that we did not have enough time here to really just relax and enjoy it more. The campground is just across the road from the Hoodoos and a stunning view of the bow river and Mount Rundle. The campground is just a few minutes from the Banff townsite and yet is out in the woods. The bathrooms were reasonable clean considering how many people were sharing them. There were only two showers in the ladies restroom though, which isn't many for the number of folks in our section of the campground, but even then, we did not have a wait to use them. My reservations were accurate and checking in was swift, and our campsite was clean. The campground provided chopped wood for sites with firepits, although you do pay extra for a campsite with firepits. I would definitely consider camping here again.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Loved staying here! Nice and close to town, yet far enough to not hear traffic. Very clean and nice bathrooms. Another plus - almost no bugs, it was amazing. The staff are also very friendly and good at recommending nearby places to sight-see

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very nice full service area of the campground within walking distance (if you are fit) to downtown Banff. No wifi of course being a provincial park but who cares, you're in the Rockies; get out and enjoy it. Cons: very small outside picnic area due to terracing and very limited # of showers and the water was lukewarm. . . suck it up my wife said. Go and enjoy, you won't regret it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnnePaulAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend camping out with some friends and had a great time.paid for a fire permit and it's well worth it,endless fire wood.Nothing like cooking over a fire.Bathrooms were very clean and well looked after.Camp site across from us didn't follow basic camping rules and campground staff were quick and professional about addressing the problem.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank esk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Tunnel mountain village 1, village 2 and the trailer park is a great campground site which accommodates pretty much every one.The sites include full service sites in the trailer park , tenting sites, both walk in and drive in, sites with or without fire pits for tents and trailers.If you book a site with a fire pit , you pay a fee regardless, whether you have a fire or not, which is fine.Who wants to be a fire pit policeman.. Nonsense... If you don't want a fire , book a site without a pit.
Best sites in village 1 , where we stayed are like all have mentioned...the outer sites in the loop.
Bathrooms as clean as can be expected with all the people using them, if people treat them like there own , it's all good....shower controls are a little odd...all in all a great place , great views..reasonable price...well located

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Reserved an outer plot for two nights after reading a review on here and I was not disappointed! Amazing scenery, ample toilets and showers which were clean enough! Seen quite a few deer (at least that's what I think they were) walking through the site.

The only downside was there is a train track close by and extremely long trains go through at all hours of the night beeping their very loud horns. It woke me up every time (at least 4 times per night) but I am a light sleeper, my boyfriend only woke up a couple of times. It would not stop me from staying here again although for those of you that think you will be affected by the noise then ear plugs would be a good investment

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RACHAEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#11 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.7 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#1 of 18 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.1 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground

Property: Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground
Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road | 8km from Banff Townsite, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Number of rooms: 618

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing