We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to find, friendly staff.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground
Ranked #8 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We arrived at the campground late but found it easily. The staff was friendly and helpful and we had a good nights sleep. The bathrooms were conveniently located and there wasn't too much of a line up for the showers.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank talaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying at this campground. The staff was very friendly. The site we had was quite private and peaceful. We paid to have a fire and the wood was free and they had a large pile to take from. The view from the campground is beautiful and there are trails to walk in the campground and close by. Definitely would recommend.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Very quiet and lots of room to set up camp. I enjoyed the drive to and from Banff. The washroom facilities were accessible. Quiet mornings were spent with coffee and enjoying the mountains and fresh air.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Red_IP143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We camp here at least twice a year. Lately we have been asking for the K loop as the bathrooms are the nicest. However, we made the mistake of camping right beside the bathroom and late into the night we had to suffer through constant door opening and the sound of the high speed hand dryer- ughhhh
There is a fee for a campfire and if you don't request the fire, you are placed in a site without a fire pit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank SisterK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

While traveling through Banff with family recently, we spent one night camping at the Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground. We found this to be a great place to camp. There were enough other campers around to feel a some sense of safety in bear country, yet the camp sites were far enough apart between campsites to allow a bit of room to breath. While camping in a well manicured campground is nice, I found camping here beneath the trees in a more natural setting was wonderful. My only regret is that we did not have enough time here to really just relax and enjoy it more. The campground is just across the road from the Hoodoos and a stunning view of the bow river and Mount Rundle. The campground is just a few minutes from the Banff townsite and yet is out in the woods. The bathrooms were reasonable clean considering how many people were sharing them. There were only two showers in the ladies restroom though, which isn't many for the number of folks in our section of the campground, but even then, we did not have a wait to use them. My reservations were accurate and checking in was swift, and our campsite was clean. The campground provided chopped wood for sites with firepits, although you do pay extra for a campsite with firepits. I would definitely consider camping here again.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Loved staying here! Nice and close to town, yet far enough to not hear traffic. Very clean and nice bathrooms. Another plus - almost no bugs, it was amazing. The staff are also very friendly and good at recommending nearby places to sight-see

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tonya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very nice full service area of the campground within walking distance (if you are fit) to downtown Banff. No wifi of course being a provincial park but who cares, you're in the Rockies; get out and enjoy it. Cons: very small outside picnic area due to terracing and very limited # of showers and the water was lukewarm. . . suck it up my wife said. Go and enjoy, you won't regret it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank AnnePaulAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
16.9 mi away
Castle Mountain Chalets
13.2 mi away
Johnston Canyon Resort
Johnston Canyon Resort
#18 of 18 in Banff
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samesun Banff
Samesun Banff
#2 of 18 in Banff
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
0.7 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Village 1 Campground

Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road | 8km from Banff Townsite, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Number of rooms: 618

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing