We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kept well considering the amount of snow they need to plow”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground
Ranked #14 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Kept well considering the amount of snow they need to plow”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have loved staying here in our tent. The restrooms and showers are kept very clean and the park itself is easy to navigate thanks to the great job they have done plowing.

There is a train line near by that has one train each night around 11 but apart from that the place is extremely quite.

Considering it is snowing and still quite cold they only charged us $8.80 CAD which is very cheap for the distance from downtown and local attractions

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DigitalElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We had full hook up and the site was not full but we were given a pitch right near the far end and it was in a wind tunnel, perhaps thats why its called tunnel mountain. The site had good facilities though and was well placed for Banff and the best way to travel to the town is by bus that costs next to nothing for a full day pass.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank mrspegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krommenie, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Ok, it is not the most beautifull campground ever, but why are you staying overthere? We used it as a central place for our banff trips and then it is a good place. We were only at the campground in the evening to cook and sleep. They have showers, bathrooms and electricity. Further it is very basic. Best thing was the bus line to down town banff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devriesmartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were on an RV trip to be out in nature... We had heard that Tunnel Mountain was better than Lake Louise due to train noise at Lake Louise... NOT TRUE! There was the same amount of train noise at both Lake Louise and Tunnel Mountain II. Maybe the info was for the other Tunnel Mountain sites? The downside of Tunnel Mountain II is there is very little nature to observe. It is a parking lot with a few trees and picnic tables. You parallel park on the side of a street lined with other RV's. Not any privacy, little play area for kids, (except the road??) No atmosphere, unless you like camping on a road. The only thing good is the proximity to Banff, which of course is not a wilderness place... A good place to buy groceries and get a nice meal before heading out the the real outdoors further down the road.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank twintravelers04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Banff Springs
0.1 mi away
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground

Property: Tunnel Mountain Village II Campground
Address: 300 Tunnel Mountain Road | 5km east of Banff Townsite, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 200

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing