We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Alberta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving weekend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is one of the older the the banff hotels. The location is great in that it's close the downtown Banff with all the town has to offer. We had booked a two room three bed room.. Yes a room with two rooms and three beds. When we arrived at the hotel late in the evening we were met by a less than enthusiastic hotel clerk who clearly wanted to spend time chatting with a male friend. The next morning we went down to ask for help from reception, again we were treated like we were a bother to the front desk staff member who wanted to chat with the other staff in the back office. I do want to point out that we had excellent service and a warm greeting from the 3rd floor housekeeping and breakfast room staff. I would not stay at this location again, there are much nicer and better maintained hotels in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Third floor room, the housekeeping staff on that floor were amazing and so courteous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdnsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    298
    116
    53
    21
See reviews for
279
281
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Underground parking was tight and low clearance. Our room on the far end of the 3rd (top) floor was clean and comfortable; first impression was good. We had brought food to keep overnight in the fridge but the fridge never got cold - lucky it was Fall and outside temperature was OK to use the balcony for cold storage. The chlorine smell from the pool was strong even though the pool was on the 2nd floor at the other end of the hotel. The room was hot. The included full hot breakfast served from 7-10am still had everything available at 9am after the crowds had left.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnB_CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We just spent four memorable days/nights during our first visit to Banff at this hotel. The staff, most of whom are filipinos, were very friendly and accommodative. They gave us the room we asked for in advance, right next to the lobby. The parking is in underground garage with room key for entry. The two-queen room was not huge but functional and the bathroom clean with plenty of towels. The small indoor swimming pool/spa has floor-to-ceiling glass enclosure with nice mountain view. Free continental breakfast was well-stocked albeit a bit crowded at times. It is practically on the Banff Ave in walking distance to shopping and dinning. We walked a block or two to El Toro restaurant which serves great tapas and local beers brewed in Canmore. When we were not driving around taking in the breathtaking views of Banff and Jasper, we took a leisure walk to explore downtown Banff shops and the galleries in Bear street. Or soaking in the hot spring pool in Banff Hot Springs which is open to the public from 9 am to 11pm for a small charge. We will definitely come back for more.

Room Tip: We like to have a room closer to the lobby for easy access to hot coffee and tea as well as the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was torn between the A/M title and 'been in better, been in worse'. I'm writing this review in another BW PLUS, 20km away in Canmore and the title now speak for itself.

For the same price I have a far larger, brighter room with a hotel-not-a-motel feel about it.

I can only conclude that location is the reason for the PLUS monika.

The Banff hotel is basic, with a small pool overlooked by the hotel corridor. Breakfast yes but crowded.

The room was small and cramped; frankly you wouldn't want to spend too much time in the room.

Contrast with the current location (review to follow) where we are taking a break from driving (1300 miles in the last 5 days but 2000 to go) tomorrow and are looking forward to a lazy day in the hotel.

If location is everything then stay. If you must.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0nyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Breakfast facility was good. Plenty of options on the menu. Facility is good but dated. Upgrading Washrooms would go a long way to improve appearance. The Cleaning staff do a GOOD JOB. Must listen carefully to staff as most have English as a second language and accents are strong.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband & I drove from Kelowna & were too tired to get home to Calgary that night. We were really looking forward to a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed. Boy! That did not happen!
The first room we checked into the TV was not working, the front desk seemed indifferent to help. The second room was clean but it got very hot in the night so we opened up our balcony. We were not able to keep it open because the street lights were shining in our room? The bed & pillows were very soft so we did not get any sleep!
When we went down for the complimentary breakfast, we had to wait because they did not have enough tables & chairs.
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!!! Learn from our painful experience! Avoid this place!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent sleep again at this hotel. It is well located near the heart of downtown Banff. There is no restaurant in the hotel but then why take a sandwich to a banquet. There are plenty of great eateries close by. The room was great with comfy beds and excellent bathroom. The shower was excellent. The only downer was the breakfast where when compared to another Best Western we stayed at they cheaped out a bit on the inclusive breakfast. Having said that the nightly rate was quite good likely due to the market competition during the slow season. The level of service appeared to be one step below the other Best Western we stayed at earlier. Would not pay a lot more than the $89 per night.

Room Tip: Book early for the king size bed with jacuzzi in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhstocks188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge
Address: 453 Marten Street | Box 1387, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing