We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Everything was very convenient and had nice touches to a simple hotel-fresh water & lemon in the lobby. Although small, the pool and Jacuzzi was great after a long day of driving. Great having the fridge, microwave and coffee/tea maker in the room. Just all around a great stay. Would return again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Trindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    319
    122
    58
    23
See reviews for
301
300
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Recently stayed here for two nights over the weekend on an extended business trip to Alberta. The hotel is a little distance from the centre of town but not far enough to be problematic, in fact it's kind of a nice walking distance. The surroundings are pleasant.

Staff was good to excellent and generally very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable, slept quite well. Had some frustrating issues with Wi-Fi in the room and had to call support. Things got resolved and everything worked from there on.

The breakfast was pretty good although not memorable. All in all this place was a good choice and was a pretty good value. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The website does not fairly represent this hotel. It is definitely old and could use a facelift. The rooms smelled like dirty socks, so we had to keep the sliding door open most of the time we were in the room. The wiring is old; I know that because we tripped a breaker by having a hairdryer and straightener plugged in at the same time. We called the front desk to report it and the maintenance person never showed. We searched for and found the breaker box and flipped it on ourselves. The front desk person was very nice, but it seemed like she was the only staff person at the facility most of the time and was trying to do all jobs.

When I travel to Banff again, I will likely choose other accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights. The room we were in was large with a big deck with a table and chairs. The view of the mountains were spectacular. We were close enough to downtown to walk. We parked underground which was nice when it snowed! The breakfast was hot and acceptable though it was pretty much the same each morning. Overall the stay was great. And I will stay here again. The only negative was the small pool area and hot tub. It got really loud in there.. .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjietrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We planned this trip in great details after reading reviews on the internet. Once we found pubic hair on bed sheet with marks......every thing looked dirty to us in the room. On our return journey from Victoria, we stayed away from this brand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ravinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumheller
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

From the time I entered the lobby until I checked out, this little gem of a hotel was a lovely experience. The rooms were nicely appointed and very clean. The almost instant hot water was another nice surprise. One thing that rarely happens is a choice of pillows; not so here. I actually was able to use a pillow that was just right! The room was quiet with a nice little balcony. Breakfast was not only the usual fare of a continental breakfast, but they also included sausage, eggs and fresh fruit - another nice surprise.
The only negative was the pool and hot tub - I felt as if I were in a fish bowl as it was right off the lobby and clearly visible from there as well as the second floor.
All in all this was a delightful place to stay and I will certainly do so.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smarkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Have enjoyed every stay. Hotel is pleasant, clean, staff are amazingly helpful! Guys, you gotta do something about the door on the parking garage! Breakfast is enjoyable - will definitely stay here again.
Kudos.....you have a gem!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.2 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge

Property: Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge
Address: 453 Marten Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Siding 29 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Siding 29 Hotel Banff
Best Western Banff
Banff Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing