We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed at this property this week for the first time and I was very impressed. Yes its a bit older and its not a 5* property. The price however is very reasonable for the service and the quality of my room. I was very happy and will book there again for sure. Really happy with the TV too. True HD. Free heated underground parking as well!

Room Tip: Booked the two queen room and was given a complimentary upgrade to the suite on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your most kind review of our property. Thanks for highlighting the experiences you had and for taking the time to remark about staff and room experience. Our staff are truly excellent and do their best to ensure a guests questions are answered and they are able to point you in the right direction for meals (EL TORO our hotel restaurant!) and sights and sounds for after dinner! Thanks for your comments and I sure hope you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    235
    114
    20
    13
See reviews for
167
194
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton Alberta
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We recently stayed at Irwin's for three nights and would stay again. First what worked well. The location was great and parking is free. We found the staff excellent and helpful, Our room was on the small side but updated and modern. . It had a small refrigerator, coffee pot and a large modern TV. The shower was great and the beds very comfortable. The free internet connection was excellent and worked well. They recently installed a hot tub which was nice. We also had free underground parking for our small car. Larger vehicles have to park outside as it is very low. What could be improved. The heating is a little noisy and very difficult to set at the right temperature. The bedspreads on the beds are very heavy and need updating. They do have extra blankets that worked well. Depending on your room you may have a problem with vehicle fumes coming in your room from running vehicles.
We lucked in with a amazing special at $80 a night and found it a great place to stay other than a couple of minor glitches. I have stayed at many places in Banff and very few seem to care about their customers and keep up their places as well as Irwins or are as reasonable.

Room Tip: Get one away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riflemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest, thanks for your kind review. I really appreciate you taking the time to highlight your experience. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff are always eager to help and our property is always looking for ways to improve and make sure your stay is a comfortable one. Thanks for highlighting our temperature controls, as we are in fact changing that this fall. It is one of the areas i have looked at improving in order to make a guests stay simpler. Our goal is to ensure this process is easy and that you do in fact have a means to truly control the room heat efficiently so we are moving towards that higher efficientcy change. Our rooms do vary in sizes but most rooms are quite spacious and for Banff we do have some of the larger spaced rooms for multiple guests and we do work to ensure price point works. Thanks for staying with us and do come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This is not a luxury hotel but if you have reasonable expectations you will be very happy here. The lobby is a bit small and the hallways are dated, but everything is clean and well maintained. As for the rooms, I have no complaints: It was clean, comfortable, and perfectly adequate. For the price, I am amazed at the excellent value! You could surely do worse in Banff (ie: steer clear of Inns of Banff)! If you are on a budget and need a great place to stay, Irwin Mountain Inn is a fantastic option. The breakfast at El Toro was good as well and an excellent price, I recommend it :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thanks so very much for taking the time to write a reveiw on our hotel. Thanks also for highlighting our many little value items including free wifi, free parking and free use of the hot tub. Our partners who operate El Toro do an amazing job of breakfast and are considered the best dining in Banff! Our budget property has been in Banff since 1967 and we have been around for many years and hope we are meeting the needs of the many travelers who stay with us again and again. Thanks for your kind words on our price point. We have tried hard over the years to meet the price point of our budget minded travelers and I am sincerely glad that you chose us. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is nice but it needs a major facelift. It dated from the nineties and it shows. The baths are just hidious.. The hotel is over priced but the staff is very nice! The sofa beds are paper thin and you can feel the springs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest. I would like to take the time to address some of your comments on our facility. Thank you for your comments about our staff, they are indeed amazing. I am very proud of the level of service they bring. I am concerned about your accuracy surrounding our facility needing a "major facelift". Our facility was remodelled in 2011 from top to bottom. Our recent addition of new beds and our recent winning of the 2013 HOUSEKEEPING AWARD does not reflect accurately your statements about our hotel. I would like to take the time to invite all our guests to look at our previous positive reviews for a much better perspective on our facility and the great service we do provide in order for returning guests to experience all that is Banff. Our bathrooms are clean and our intent to renovate on our bathrooms will be in the very near future. Our pricepoint is of the budget variety and if you deem us over priced, I would suggest that you take a look at the full scope of Banff before arriving at that conclusion. We are proud of our price point and take pride in being one of the first choices in Banff for many of our returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We just stayed with our four older children. The location was very convenient- an easy 5 min walk to downtown- the beds were clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful and accommodating. It's a good hotel at a good price. Underground parking a bit tough unless you have a small vehicle-5'10" height restriction, ski lockers free, small exercise room- weights, treadmill, etc and a common room with football etc that guests can use. We found the staff eager to help with more coffee, shampoo etc without question. For a great trip to Banff this is a good bang for your buck if you don't need fancy.

Room Tip: There is a family room available with three queen beds, one in a separate room-it's a great opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingrid b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Wow! I would like to take the time to thank you for highlighting all of our ammenities and for pointing out all that you enjoyed about Banff and our hotel. Thanks for taking the time to review our property and reflect the positive and realistic features of our property. As stated many times by our guests, we do have FREE underground parking for cars and minivans and FREE outdoor parking for larger trucks. We are one of very few properties in Banff that do provide FREE parking and it is a premium. Indeed our hope is that many more families come and enjoy the Irwin's Mountain Inn. Thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We just stayed at the Irwin for the first time in years. We had stayed there in the past and enjoyed it but the hot tub is ridiculous and with young kids, we have always wanted a pool. Now that the kids are older, we decided to give the Irwin another try.

The location is fantastic! You can easily walk into town and there is a lot that is close by. Our room was great. It is a bit on the "tired" side but was clean and very spacious. We had a room on the top floor so it had a vaulted ceiling. The underground parking is very limited and we got the last spot when we arrived at 9:00 on Friday night. If the hotel was full, I'm sure you would have a hard time getting a spot and you would have to park outside.

The hot tub is still ridiculous!! It is so tiny and it was so hot we couldn't stay in it for longer than 5 minutes...maybe they do that to cut down how long people stay because it is so tiny but it really isn't healthy!

Over all, we had a great stay and would stay there again because of its location and good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest. Thanks for taking the time to review our property. While you have highlighted some great parts of our property, I would like to take the time to correct a few items that are not accurate. Our hot tub is clean. Our hot tub is monitored daily 3 times by our Maintenance staff and our hot tub is a comfy temperature that is deemed healthy by Alberta Health Standards. Our hot tub seats 8 people comfortably. Quite frankly it is a highlight by all of our guests as many use this after a long day on the ski hill or a long day out and about in beautiful Banff. I'm not sure what seems "rediculous" but I would call our tub delightful and well maintained. Our health records on our tub are impecable and can be found online easily as they are all posted on Public Health. Our rooms are clean comfortable and quite affordable and I am proud to announce our 2013 Housekeeping Award of Excellence. This is a hotel association award that our hotel has worked hard to achieve. We are indeed the perfect ski get away. Our staff and location and comfortable beds are hard to beat and our hot tub is a treat to make the days adventure sink into a memory of comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a two queen bed room. Room was clean, bathroom was well taken care of, simple straightforward room that was a suitable staging place for many outdoor adventures in banff itself. Underground parking was a plus, as was free wireless.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you so very much for your most kind remarks. I am so glad you took the time to reflect on your stay with us as it does encourage us and help us to know what our guests are looking for. I am glad you found our rooms clean and comfortable and that the FREE wifi was a plus to your stay. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Property: Irwin's Mountain Inn
Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing