We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irwin's Mountain Inn - Cozy, Clean and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently had a wedding in Banff and needed accomodations. We found Irwin's through a web search and booked immediately. Upon check in we were greeted by Yui, who was extremely friendly, kind and informative. They had underground parking making unloading and loading very easy. (Just note, there are limited spaces so take that into consideration when looking at check in times) Our room was very spacious, with a nice closet to hang clothing two queen beds, large desk and mini kitchen. The bathroom is a little small for a family of four, but workable. They have steam rooms and swimming pools, which we didn't have time to try out. The computer station at front reception had a great computer and quick internet. I was pleased to see they had a printer as well. The rooms were immaculate and have recycling friendly garbage in the room. The El Toro restaurant downstairs had very resonable prices in comparision to other restaurants in Banff. The inn is located right by the Shell gas station and 10 min walk to Safeway, if you want to pick up some breakfast items to store in the in room mini fridge. The only complaint I have the number of people walking outside who were quite rowdy on both nights, even at 2am in the morning. But, I would stay at Irwin's again without hesitation. The helpful staff, cleanliness of the rooms, the great layout of the rooms and proximity to ammenities; makes this a great place to stay when visiting Banff. Love them!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlipAppeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Wow! What a fabulous review to be able to respond too! I will pass on the compliments to our staff who helped you. She is fantastic and has brought back so many guests over the years. Her customer service is so helpful in that she will point you in the right direction to the sights and sounds of Banff. El Toro is so amazing! We are so proud of this as well. So glad your room was clean and comfy. We try so hard to make that happen. Thanks for pointing out the FREE parking and the FREE computer kiosk downstairs. Please come back again soon and let us treat you to the best price and the best customer service in town.

When you book with us, please book direct. Call us at our toll free number and please come again soon. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked our three night stay at Irwin’s Mountain Inn, Banff based on recommendations made by travellers on Trip Advisor. We expected little more than budget accommodation, but the actual property far exceeded our expectations!

Firstly, we were able to check in early and we were upgraded from a queen room to a family suite. The duty receptionist was able to suggest the best things to do in the time we had available.

Our hire car was too big for the underground carpark but we were able to park in the reserved area behind the hotel. Be aware that this carpark fills up early and some inconsiderate people will take up two car parking spaces.

The carpets in the lift and corridors are quite dingy so we were not expecting much by the time we arrived at our room. What a surprise! It was absolutely huge, immaculately clean and well equipped. We stepped into the main room containing a queen size bed (positioned a little close to the door, we thought), lounge and a table with chairs. There was also a small sink, microwave, fridge, coffee machine plus a copious supply of cups and glasses. A small step balcony led off this room. There was also a separate bedroom with a large built in cupboard. The bathroom consisted of a well lit basin area with sufficient room for toiletries and a separate bath/shower room. The bath/shower somewhat resembled a cave and when the shower curtain was pulled across it was quite dark inside. Water pressure however, was good and the towels were of good quality and crisply laundered.

An electric jug was promptly delivered to our room upon request.

The hotel has a gym – I did notice a treadmill and free weights amongst the equipment but I preferred to run outdoors making the most of trails which run along the river. We did use the laundry which was very much needed and appreciated.

We breakfasted each day at El Toro which is located in the hotel building. Their Spanish Omelette was very tasty and breakfast overall very good value. Due to inclement weather we dined at El Toro on our last night in Banff. The steak was sublime, have not tasted better and the accompanying vegetables were all well cooked.

We also ate well at Masala – the only Indian restaurant in town and at the Keg Steakhouse. Evelyn’s serves good expresso coffee and huge sandwiches made on good quality wholegrain bread with interesting fillings.

Lake Louise is a must see for any tourist but take the Bow River Parkway rather than Highway 1. We were lucky enough to see a grizzly bear and the Johnston Canyon Falls are well worth the walk. The Banff Gondola is very expensive - $35 per person, but does give a fantastic view over the area. The Banff Springs Hotel is not to be missed as is Moraine Lake, which we thought was more spectacular than Lake Louise, and less crowded.

I highly recommend Irwin’s Mountain Inn, Banff to other travellers and would certainly stay there again should we be passing through the area. It is located within easy walking distance of downtown and is extremely good value for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreoCreatures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your quality review. We love it when people are surprised by their rooms. Even though we are a budget property, we do a fabulous job of keeping rooms clean and crisp. Our goal is to serve you well with our staff and the many ammenities that make your stay a memorable one. We love the El Toro restaurant and we love to highlight this fabulous culenary treat. The service is second to none. With breakfast and dinner that is both reasonable and quality that keeps you coming back, we are not surprised about their mention. Thanks for the many other highlights you brought to this review. They help so many in search of the best of things to do in Banff.

Next time you book with us, book directly at our hotel. Call our toll free number and make your reservation today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Irwin's Mountain Inn is just a few minutes walk from the main city center and local grocery store. The rooms are very large for a motor inn and it was nice to have a nice hot shower with decent water pressure during the colder climate. Friendly staff and great rates!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Cheers, for your kind commentary. Thanks for highlighting our large rooms. They are indeed spacious and clean. I hope you come again and stay with us soon.

When you do look to book, call us direct at our property. We have the lowest price guarantee when you book directly with us. Our goal is to have you stay with us and call us at our front desk reservations so you can ask all the questions you need about your stay. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Irwin's Mountain Inn. We were in a King room, check in was quick, the room was on the second floor facing the back, view of the mountains and quiet neighbourhood. The room was exactly as described, fridge, flat screen tv, and even a jetted tub. Everything in the room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and there was lots of room. We had a small balcony as well. The only complaint I could come up with is the small face towels were a little thin, the bath towels were fine.
The hotel is getting up there in age but the staff do a fine job of keeping it in good shape, some areas of the carpets (mainly on the stairs) are showing some age, but nothing serious. The hotel has an underground parking garage that can be a little tight for larger vehicles, low clearance as well.
This is an excellent choice for a reasonable price, an easy walk downtown and very friendly and helpful staff, I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank KBB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks so very much for your comments. Your comments speak to our staffs efforts to keep our property clean, comfortable and affordable. Here at Irwin's we seek to provide the best ammenities for our budget property. I am once again thankful for your stay with us.

If you are looking to stay again with us, book direct! We offer the best possible rates at the Hotel Desk. Our goal is to bring you the customer the best rate with the best service. Call us today!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is where we usually stay every year. It's out of the busy area, friendly staff, nice rooms. But, they have minimal parking, this time I was so disappointed because on Saturday there was no parking anywhere. We drive around & around, finally had to park on the main street, about a block down. It was horrible to have to park that far away and walk back to hotel when tired.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaywecelebrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks so much for sharing your comments even though it is hard to see your disappointment with our parking. As is a common theme at the Irwin's we try to accomodate by having guests park at our sister properties right beside us. Plus the one area I try to reiterate is that our parking is in fact FREE. The older properties in Banff like ours, have that benefit of FREE parking despite the limitations on space. We are doing our best to find a solution to this ongoing issue. Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Irwin's Mountain Inn while in Banff for the Food and Wine Festival. It was a lot cheaper than the other hotels I had looked at which made it appealing. I upgraded to a room with a Mountain View/ Balcony/Jetted Tub/Microwave & Fridge.

Upon check-in the girl at the front desk was friendly enough. I was given my room key but not provided with any additional information.I wasn't told about the fitness room or hot tub and I had to ask about parking. Even then I was only told to find a spot in the parkade. I had to go back and ask about parking a second time after we went out in the evening and there were no spots available in the parkade.

Upon entering the room I was pleasantly surprised with the size. There were only two of us in a room with 2 queen beds, but it would have been very comfortable for 2 couples or a family. The room was clean and appeared to have been renovated recently. The beds are really comfortable...not too hard but not too soft either. The pillows were thick and fluffy and there were lots of them.

It was nice having the fridge to keep our drinks cool and We enjoyed the table and chairs near the balcony. A nice place to sit and have a coffee and enjoy the mountain air. We were on the back of the hotel so it was fairly quiet, and the mountain view was ok, but mostly obstructed by trees. I probably wouldn't upgrade for the view as much as to be on the back of the building where there's less noise.

The bathroom was small and there were weird stains on the floor but it served its purpose. I didn't end up using the jetted tub but it appeared to be clean.

The location of the hotel is great. Just a few minute walk to Banff Avenue and a nice walk back after a meal.

Overall we had a good stay and would return. If you can overlook a few of the minor negatives this is really a great value and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newfie-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for staying with us during the Banff wine festival. I appreciate your comments and we take them very seriously. I am truly sorry that our customer service wasn't up to par. This is something we will look at and work on changing to ensure every stay meets that standard. I was glad to hear that the rooms were up to your standards and that the beds were suitable.

Next time you stay with, please ensure you book direct with us and attain the best possible rate. We love to ensure all elements of your stay are looked after and by booking direct, we can sure make that the case.

Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently stayed here for one night and the room was great, it was spacious and clean. The location was good and convenient to town. The gym wasn't anything special, but the hot tub was nice and relaxing. This hotel is really good value for money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

So glad our staff made your stay a good one! Thanks for staying with us at the Irwin's Mountain Inn. Your feedback is helpful to us. I am glad you experienced our great housekeeping and the great value that is Irwin's. You highlighted our free gym space that is made to enhance your stay with us. We have free weights and a treadmill along with a leg press and stationary bike so that you can get the best of the mountain hikes and the best of your workout routine you may want to continue and enhance your workout in our facility. The added feature of our hot tub and sauna are a perfect combination for the post hike activity or the post ski soak. We have you in mind and I hope you will return and enjoy all our simple but thoughtful hotel has to offer. Our hope is that we can provide a memorable experience that leaves you refreshed and filled with memories.

Please remember to phone direct and book direct with us when you come to Banff again. Our best price guarantee will ensure you will see the best prices when you call us direct. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#18 of 33 in Banff
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 33 in Banff
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 33 in Banff
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £61 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing