We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
179
256
122
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
256
122
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel torohot tubunderground parkingadjoining restaurantfridge and microwavestay there againfront desk staffbanff avenueminute walkgood sizebeds were comfortablefamily roomthe main streetclose to downtownlarge roomvisit banfffour nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 597 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

There was nothing special about Irwin's Mountain Inn but nothing major to complain about either. The front desk staff was friendly, and the room was clean. The bed was comfortable, and the balcony overlooking Banff Ave was a nice option. Parking was a bit of an issue - the underground parkade is small and not recommended for any vehicle bigger than a small SUV. Surface parking was limited as well; we ended up parking on a side street, which wasn't a problem. Another issue was the air conditioning unit (room 257). The unit itself was fine, but the space surrounding it wasn't sealed to the outside, so we could hear street noise through the cracks, and on a cold day, I'm sure the room would cool off if the heat wasn't on. The bathroom sink/hair dryer is actually outside of the bathroom, which may not be to everyone's liking. Overall, pretty good value for a Banff hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank extradenticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us. Irwin's has worked hard on listening to our guests surrounding the Air Conditioning at our property. During the hot Canada Day week, it truly was a benefit. Our staff are so very good at welcoming you to Banff and to the experience that is Banff. Our restaurant is second to none. Our rooms are clean and comfy and best of all affordable. What makes us special is our touches of care for the guest and we hope you experienced that.

I hope you will stay with us again and when you do, please book with us directly. Book direct and get the best price guaranteed. If you find a price online lower than our website, let us know and we will meet the price guaranteed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a lovely discovery this place was! I heard about it through my sister, who had stayed there before. Unbelievably good value for your dollar. Room was clean, quiet, had coffee and a hair dryer, plus a few other things. The only thing we didn't like was the HOT room and the very noisy air conditioner which of course, we couldn't run during sleep. Nevertheless, we opened the window and the night air eventually cooled the room. Best of all, Irwin's is joined to a very good restaurant (I forget the name but it sounded Spanish) where we had a delicious and modestly priced breakfast. Loved the underground parking too. Well done, Irwin's!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and I have no improvements to suggest or recommendations to make.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Let me start by thanking you for this most kind review. I want to highlight your experience with our great staff. They are so enthused by comments like this and we are so excited to have you return. That speaks of a crew who care for more than just getting you checked in and out without issue. They love to point you in the right direction for events and sites. Also vital, is our El Toro partners, who I must tell you are the best restaurant owners in Banff. They work round the clock to ensure a guest experience with food and beverage is top notch and the atmosphere is enjoyable. Their food quality is second to none and I am so glad that you mentioned them in this review. They will be pleased.

Remember that when you book again, call us direct for the best possible price! Our front desk is open 24 hours a day. Please take the time to get the best rate guaranteed when you call us direct or book directly on our website!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Picking a place to stay in Banff that won't break the bank is not easy, particularly if you need a good night's sleep to go hiking in Banff and Jasper National Parks the next day. However, Irwin's fit the bill for our one night stay! While the room was slightly small, it had plenty of furniture which all seemed relatively new including two incredibly comfortable leather chairs! Bathroom was decent size and bed was good since we slept like babies. Only a 3-5 minute walk into town and far enough away from the hustle and bustle and noise of the main district. Would definitely stay again if in the area, despite the incredibly tiny parking garage!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltime841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

I am so glad we fit the bill! And so glad the price was right! We try so hard to meet the budget minded traveller and our staff are fantastic at ensuring your stay is a pleasurable one. Our housekeeping is second to none with our Star Quality Housekeeping award for 2014. We have worked so hard to ensure comfort and price meet reality. Our free parking is a treat in Banff and our hope is that for relaxation and experience, you will remember us for years to come.

Please come again and book directly with us for the lowest possible price. Don't hesitate to call us 24 hours a day. Our Front Desk/Reservations desk will be happy to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

There is barely any parking.
Parking for Cars is underground, if you park in the tiny lot, they ask you to move it.
I would not recommend staying here if you have a Truck or larger vehicle as chances are high to getting scratched in the small lot.
They never called us to tell us there was a large Race on the main street and it took us a extra 30 min. to drive around to enter on the opposite side.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

I am so sorry that your stay was marred by your parking experience. We try so hard to accomodate our larger vehicles by placing them in our TOUR BUS parking when it's not being used. My sincere apologies and despite this inconvenience, I hope you will give us a try. Our staff work so hard to help find you parking when the challenges arise, they are marvelous at this. Please try us again soon and call us at our front desk which is open 24 hours for any questions or concerns. It's always good to check out busy Banff for events and traffic changes before booking. The town of Banff website is a great site to see what's going on. Thanks for your review and I hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Cons: Parking got a little crowded on the weekend, (we always had a spot though). When you come in from the parking garage through the hall area it smells a bit, however the laundry room is on that floor as well. (No deal breakers there which is why I kept the 5 rating).

Pros: Everything else, I was floored to see a Jacuzzi tub when I walked in my room. Especially since I'd gotten a steal of a deal by price matching online. The staff was AMAZING. They helped with numerous things. The room was cleaned daily, very spacious, and very relaxing. Best sleep I have ever had in a hotel, the beds and pillows were super comfortable. Enjoyed having a fridge and microwave in the room as well. The hotel is located perfectly to walk downtown and enjoy Banff. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krystalzildjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

So glad you stayed with us! Thanks for your most honest review. Despite some of the parking woes we have during the busy summer season, our parking is FREE. That isn't always the case in Banff and we are proud of that fact. We do have overflow parking with our sister properties next to us and we do offer free underground parking for cars and minivans. Trucks and SUV's are able to find their way out in our back courtyard parking. We have our parking well marked and signage is clear. So glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and the clean and crisp nature of our presentation. We work so hard on making your stay memorable and just like a home away from home.

Please remember to book directly with us at our hotel. If you are looking for the best possible rate, call us and we rate match to ensure the price is right for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews