We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just 'ok'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We got a 'family size room with jetted tub', which was nice, but, not as nice as the pictures showed. The room was need of updating, especially the bathroom with its stained linoleum and peeling wallpaper. The bathroom was small, and the tub was smallish with jacuzzi jets. The room was big, with 2 areas for hanging up clothes and,had a frig and microwave. It's within easy walking distance of the great shops, Safeway, and we enjoyed the free wi fi and big hot tub. Underground parking is nice but tight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dab85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for staying with us on your recent travels to Banff. Our hotel is equipped with FREE wifi, FREE parking and Air Conditioning. Our staff are both friendly and helpful. El Toro is next door with all your dining needs-they serve dinner and breakfast and all at a very reasonable price. When you come to Banff again, please stay with us and book direct to get the best price guaranteed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Banff is a very beautiful, but extremely expensive town. We chose Irwin's because it was centrally located, had one of the most reasonable rates in the area (albeit at a still-pricey $188/night with taxes) with some of the amenities we look for: free wifi, free parking, and a fridge.

However, I personally think that if you're going to offer a fridge in a town with very pricey restaurants, you ought to include a microwave to heat up the pricey leftovers too!

The parking area underground is very, very challenging for all but normal-sized cars, but the property is working on that, and at a time when Banff is adding paid parking everywhere (!), we appreciated the free access.

Besides missing a microwave, there was no complementary breakfast. This was the only property we stayed at during our week in B.C. and Alberta without one. Given the area, we assumed this was not a standard item, but it was another reason that we likely will stay out of the area in the future.

The room itself was a good size, light and airy, very clean and in good shape, with comfortable, older-fashioned black fake-leather chairs. The bathroom was somewhat small, but with excellent fixtures and a jacuzzi tub. (In the interests of environmental conservation at an area located within a National Park, we hope Irwin's will get on board soon with bulk-container shampoo/body washes etc, and cut back on all the laundry use by incorporating a standard no-linen-wash-unless-they-are-on-the-ground policy.)

We had a sweet little balcony with mountain views, an unexpected treat, and were in a very quiet corner of the hotel. The hot tub on the main floor was great!

With a number of positives, why not a higher rating? Besides the high price, lack of the breakfast and microwave, we had a really hard time sleeping, and if you can't sleep well at a hotel, then that's a big problem! The room had an outside air conditioner, which given the high temperatures (upper 80's) we needed to use. However, it was very, very loud, and even worse, in the morning we found approximately 35 small moths on the ceiling and 20 larger ones around the light fixture area.

We called downstairs, and they promptly sent up someone to help us. Turns out that with a light on in the darkened room, the moths are able to get through the vents on the outside of the a/c unit right into the room. Obviously, some kind of screening over the vents is needed. They vacuumed them up for us, and covered up the outside vents, but that meant we couldn't use the (very loud) air conditioner and so we were regaled by traffic noises, boisterous patrons, the train and more on and off throughout the night. Ugh!

Again, the service was helpful and courteous, and we appreciate the hard work of the people at Irwin's, but it's not somewhere where we would stay again, and hope other patrons don't have all the nocturnal visitors that we did!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for your most recent review. We are very clear on who we are on our website and with our travel agent partners. Our hope is that when a guest is looking at our hotel, they are observing all the details of breakfast included or not. While I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this front, I am not sure how we could have made it better-other than trying our amazing restaurant next door, El Toro, who serves breakfast and dinner at a very reasonable price and a quality that is unbeatable. Our rooms are very spacious and our AC is a huge plus to the hot season in Banff. We are one of only a handful of properties that does have AC in each of our rooms. I apologize for the bugs in the light, that sure is not our standard, and it sounds unique to your experience describing the room. I wish that could have been avoided. Thanks for letting us know and attempting to fix the issue. I wish we could have made your stay better. Please give us another try on your next passing through beautiful Banff. I am glad that our staff and our ammenities were up to your standards. Thanks again and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was a terrific spot close to the shopping area in Banff. You can easily walk in and the hotel has friendly reception and great roomy rooms. Ours had a terrific view of the mountain out the back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chiefgreyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks so much for your review of our property. Your comments and descriptions are so appreciated and help our other future guests in their booking decisions. I sure hope your long journey was excellent. Thanks for choosing us and I do hope you will think of us again when you book! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a hotel as just a place to sleep. Our room on the first floor was as a previous reviewer stated non-functional. The air conditioner was wimpy and noisy. We opened the window but then you get the outside noise. So, the room stayed dark and hot. We had a refrig but no microwave. Very skimpy on the shampoo and conditioner. No lotion. There was no consideration taken to make the room functional. No counter space. Big heavy leather chairs without wheels that were hard to move. The chairs were too low for the table. The light switches for the lamps over the beds were reversed. The fitness room is a joke. A tiny windowless room in the basement. Small hot tub, but several times it was crowded. You really couldn't relax with the other people talking and socializing.
On the plus side, there are washing machines if you need that. An easy walk to downtown.
I would not stay here again as it did not meet my needs.

Room Tip: Do not take a first floor room facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

I am very sorry that you did not experience a stay that met your needs. While I am certain our facility is not run down or unuseable, your experience was obviously such. We do pride ourselves on strong customer service and try to make certain that each of our guests are leaving happy. In future, if there is something not right, let us know so we can attempt to make it right or if our hotel style is not what you were looking for, ask us about our other properties so we can find the style that suits your needs. Our workout facility was recently upgraded and is not a "joke" as you stated. There are free weights and workout equipment that is brand new. I think it is important to clarify all these points so our guests get the whole picture. Please accept my apology for your unfulfilled stay and do give us another try so we can ensure your experience is top notch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is not a luxury hotel but it is clean, comfy and full of convenient features such as free wifi.

Room: large rooms with comfy beds, bathroom products are limited but I always bring my own. My room had a dining table, desk, two beds, mini fridge, microwave, AC and balcony

Noise level: loud BUT this is a Banff thing and honestly unless you are outside of town your hotel will likely be loud. I turned on the AC to block out the noise as the unit was older and thus the fan created a nice amount of white noise.

Staff: very friendly

Location: five to ten minutes from town depending on how fast you walk

Features: on site resto, laundry, vending machines, balcony, gym, sauna and best of all a microwave and mini fridge in my room. Free wifi in hotel.

I really enjoyed the mini fridge and microwave but not all rooms have these features and it should be noted you will need to bring your own cutlery/plates.

Room Tip: I would splurge for the microwave/fridge to save money on eating out. Plus those rooms are larger an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goalsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thanks for your review and overview of our hotel. We are indeed a budget property that is conveniently located to downtown Banff. Our rooms are comfy and spacious. I am so glad you took the time to highlight your experience of our property. When you stay again with us, book direct and save. Get the lowest price when you call us direct! Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, booked online a king room. Check-in was fast, receptionist friendly, and the underground parking was easy and convenient. Our room on the first floor was extremely tiny. I don't mind small rooms, but the layout was not very functional. There was a large table that was completely useless as it was shoved into the corner, with walls on two sides, tv stand on third side, and large refrigerator on the 4th side. Nice to have a fridge I guess, but with the size of the room we were barely able to walk around the bed. Room had a large glass patio door going out to patio in the front of the hotel. We had to keep the curtains closed all the time, as all the people strolling by on the sidewalk could see right into the room, which made it very dark inside. We were really only there to sleep, but if we were staying more than 2 nights I think we would have needed a bit more space, to be comfortable. We were tripping over our two suitcases! Air conditioner was also very noisy, but we needed it because the room always seemed to be hot. (Much hotter than air temp outside, or even in the hallway) On the plus side, the room was clean and bathroom shower was nice.Had a lovely breakfast at El Toro as well. I'd stay here again but only if I could get a more functional room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Qino2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for staying with us on your recent passing through of Banff. The Irwin's Mountain Inn has a variety of room styles and room sizes to meet whatever your needs are. Thanks for your feedback to us and I hope you will give us another try! And when you do, phone our front desk and book direct to get the room you want at a price that is right for you! El Toro is fabulous! We are so proud of our restaurant partners and want to make mention of their outstanding food quality and value. Try us both again soon and when you do, book direct wtih the hotel. Best price and value guaranteed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a nice hotel on a street of indistinguishably nice hotels. They are all quite pricey and all in a good location. Some are closer to the center of town than this, some are further away. We had a very nice stay here, but, as I said, this was a bit expensive compared to where we would normally stay. Staying near town was important to us on this trip but each family needs to decide if that extra cost is worth the money. I had heard that parking in town was hard to find, and that seems to be the case. The only negative I have to offer about this particular Inn is that they have underground parking and, if you drive an SUV or bigger vehicle, you have to fight for the 8 or so parking spots they have in the back. They're very tight spots, and there were usually only one or two left at the end of the afternoon when we came back from hiking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-IMI, General Manager at Irwin's Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for your most recent review and for staying with us. We are glad you chose us! Summer season is busy and parking is as you say a premium. The one perk to our parking situation is that it is indeed FREE. We do have FREE underground parking for minivans and cars and smaller truck/suvs and we do have FREE parking in our courtyard. Our hotel was built in 1967 and the designs back then didn't take into consideration the SUV and TRUCKS we have today. However, our staff are always able to point you in the right direction and our sister properties all have overflow parking along the back of our hotel. Our 65 room hotel is just 2 blocks from the shops downtown and well within walking distance of the sights and sounds that is Banff. Bus stops are just outside our hotel as well.

Please come again and stay with us. Book direct and save! Our best price is found by calling us direct and our front desk is open 24 hours a day to book your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#20 of 34 in Banff
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 34 in Banff
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 34 in Banff
861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.4 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irwin's Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irwin's Mountain Inn

Address: 429 Banff Avenue | Box 1198, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £56 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Irwin's Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Irwin's Mountain Inn is located in the heart of the majestic and world class destination known as Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Irwin's Mountain Inn is a 65 room hotel with a variety of rooms and suites. This family owned and operated hotel is perfect for the budget minded traveler. Beautiful, comfortable, affordable and reliable; enjoy the beauty that is Banff and the great customer service at Irwin's Mountain Inn. Our hot tub and sauna are the perfect amenity to relax in after a long day of skiing, shopping or sight seeing. Located on Banff Avenue, Irwin's Mountain Inn has bus transportation to downtown or to the ski hill right outside its front door. Ask our Front Desk agents about activities and tours that are perfect for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Irwin's Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irwin`s Mountain Hotel Banff
Irwins Mountain Hotel
Irwins Mountain Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing