We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A really nice hotel, and well placed at the bottom of the main street in Banff. Lovely well set rooms, quite big with a decent sized bathroom, lovely and clean also. We had a great view straight up the main street and could see the gondola ride on the mountain further up. We had a buffet breakfast with the room which was pretty standard fare but all hot and lots of it. Good service and underground parking at the hotel also. The only thing missing really was an outdoor pool (there is an indoor one) but as the surrounding area was so fantastic that didnt really matter in the end! Recommended!!

Room Tip: All good, though try and avoid one at the back because of the train line!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    486
    247
    84
    38
See reviews for
327
464
53
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We chose this hotel for a quick getaway based on its central location and convenience, and the Banff International Hotel fit the bill. I am on crutches and wanted a place which would be no more than a few blocks from downtown. We had some service issues that are reflected in the 3/5 rating.

The first issue arose upon check-in: After going through the entire process of checking in, the front desk agent informed us that the underground parkade was full and that we would have to park on the street somewhere. If you've ever spent time in Banff, you'll know that this is no easy feat. While I (who cannot drive at the moment) am familiar with the town, my friend is not and was left to drive around and around and finally found a spot three blocks away.

We were never offered any suggestions as to where we might find a place to park where we wouldn't be paying by the hour or get towed. I eventually asked somebody who seemed to be a supervisor (?) for help and was given a map and some directions. Why they don't automatically offer that information is beyond me.

Just to clarify, the staff were not at all rude, but could definitely have gone only a TINY bit further and thrown us a bone.... the attitude was: " I don't know what to tell you.... you're on your own". I get that real estate is at a premium in Banff, but I've never stayed ANYWHERE that you cannot park at your own hotel. Frustrating.

When we finally got sorted, we found ourselves in a very average room. I'm not super fussy and it was fine. It was clean, which is the most important thing to me. We were in a dark corner of the property so not much natural light, but was okay for our purposes. The only thing I would comment on was the lighting in the room. The lamps located on one side of the room didn't throw enough light for us to sit and hang out, but the bedside "interrogation lights" were so strong, you couldn't stand to have even one of those turned on! So we sat in the dark. :-) Not a huge big deal, I guess, but a little bit annoying. Liked the mini-fridge!

We were out for most of the night, had a good sleep and went to check out. Of course, we were amongst the rest of the Sunday morning "herd", all checking out at the last minute and hung over.... so I get that things are a bit hectic at that time. My issue here was with the chain restaurant located in the lobby where we were hoping to have breakfast. Hoping.

We enquired after a table for two, and were told that it would be a 40 minute wait for food. They had just served a couple of large groups and were behind on orders. "Okay", we said. At least two-thirds of the tables were empty, but they would not seat us, told us we would have to wait out in the lobby. " What?" I'm a server myself and I don't understand why you would not let people at least sit down and have coffee or maybe a caesar. Brutal!! We left, and waited 40 minutes somewhere else, LOL! It just ticked me off. Don't irritate a hungover middle-aged woman on a full moon...

That's my rant.... it's not a horrible place, but if you have mobility issues, ask in advance about the parking situation, maybe they can do something for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wintergirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Rooms are quite large and more than adequate for 2 guys going skiing. Well located and within easy access to restaurants and nightlife

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omak, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Pictures on the website made this place look better than it was but I would stay there again based on value and location. Right in the heart of downtown Banff it was an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants in town. There was an indoor hot tub, dry sauna and steam room which was nice, especially for the skiers in town. Staff were very personable and helpful. Although underground parking came with the accommodation, the height restriction was a joke. Anyone with a vehicle over 6'1" could not make clearance. There was really no view from our room even though it was listed as a view room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEP1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

First off I will say the staff were out of the world in how they looked after everything. Got our room and then took us out and showed us the parking spot where they said large trucks should park. The rooms were very clean and set up for ur family needs.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are great for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay NSW
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

great hotel, clean, non smoking. Staff friendly, awesome location

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJTBatemansBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

While staying at the Banff International in December 2011, we found it to be Brialliant in every way. The welcome was warm and informative, the room was cosy, clean, quiet and well equiped, the location was perfect - just on the edge of town, but an easy walk into the centre for all the shops, and everywhere you turned, beautiful snow capped mountains. Attached to the hotel is Ricky's Bar and Grill - now if you love your food, and plenty of it for a extremely good price, this is the place to go!, we had all meals there - we couldnt find anywhere else to match the value for money, and again, the staff were Great!!!. We cannot rate the Hotel or Ricky's high enough - go there and see for yourself!.

Room Tip: We stayed in Loft Guest Room - two queens in loft, and double / sitting area with loung, table and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.4 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Property: Elk + Avenue Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing